Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

upgrading CPU

This is a discussion on upgrading CPU within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. A long time (4 years) ago I build a PC with the following: Intel i5 6400 CPU 2.70Ghz LGA1151 ASUS


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2018, 08:36 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Western Australia
Posts: 8
OS: Win 10 Pro



A long time (4 years) ago I build a PC with the following:
Intel i5 6400 CPU 2.70Ghz LGA1151
ASUS B150 M-A/M2 Mother board
DDR4 2132/PC4 17000 speed 1066Mhz
I have one ssd drive for WIN 10 and a second drive for software.
AMD Radeon R9 380 4Gb graphic card.
The board can take the 6th generation Intel Core i7/i5/i3
What would you recommend , of course, I would like more speed.
aside of upgrading the CPU, would I have to upgrade the RAM,
or would the RAM still be good until I have more funds to upgrade,
what about the Bios ?
Would Win 10 spit the dummy after the upgrade ?
Any guidance would be appreciated.
Thank you in advance for any help
Reynald
guru2743 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-13-2018, 08:41 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,985
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Is your RAM actually 2133?
Also, please update your OS in your User Control Panel.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 08-13-2018, 08:44 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Western Australia
Posts: 8
OS: Win 10 Pro



no it is 2132
guru2743 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-13-2018, 09:04 AM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,985
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Check which RAM your current MOBO takes. I cant find your current RAM on manufacturers sites. That's the "upgrade" I would make and you might not have to spend any more money assuming 16 gbs.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 08-13-2018, 09:11 AM   #5
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,129
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by guru2743 View Post
no it is 2132
LOL it is DDR4-2133 PC4-17000 1066MHz.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 08-13-2018, 06:53 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Western Australia
Posts: 8
OS: Win 10 Pro



When I bough the mother board the cpu and ram were ready installed.
before posting I tried to give an exact nomenclature of the components, the RAM numbers on the stick were so cryptic that I used HWiNFO64 to check what they were .
I include a screen shot of the prog.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RAM type.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	112.6 KB
ID:	321190  
guru2743 is offline  
Old 08-14-2018, 05:40 AM   #7
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,985
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Download Speccy and let's see what it says. Want to make sure on the RAM since 2132 just doesn't seem to exist.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 08-14-2018, 10:11 AM   #8
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,006
OS: Win7



The fastest CPU would be the Core i7-7700K using bios 3016 verify this is in fact the motherboard model you have by looking on the board itself for the model number.
Here is the CPU/Ram support lists> https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_CPU/
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 08-15-2018, 07:43 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Western Australia
Posts: 8
OS: Win 10 Pro



many thanks for your answer, I think you are rigth about my RAM.
Just in case I send you the specs, they are around 2/3 down the file.
Attached Files
File Type: txt REYNALD.txt (68.9 KB, 4 views)
guru2743 is offline  
Old 08-15-2018, 08:17 AM   #10
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,129
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by guru2743 View Post
many thanks for your answer, I think you are rigth about my RAM.
Just in case I send you the specs, they are around 2/3 down the file.
Code:
Memory Device -------------------------------------------------------------

  Total Width:                            64 bits
  Data Width:                             64 bits
  Device Size:                            8192 MBytes
  Device Form Factor:                     DIMM
  Device Locator:                         DIMM_A1
  Bank Locator:                           BANK 0
  Device Type:                            DDR4
  Device Type Detail:                     Synchronous
  Memory Speed:                           2133 MHz
  Manufacturer:                           Kingston
  Serial Number:                          043643BC
  Part Number:                            9905678-023.A00G    
  Asset Tag:                              9876543210

Memory Device -------------------------------------------------------------

  Total Width:                            64 bits
  Data Width:                             64 bits
  Device Size:                            8192 MBytes
  Device Form Factor:                     DIMM
  Device Locator:                         DIMM_A2
  Bank Locator:                           BANK 1
  Device Type:                            DDR4
  Device Type Detail:                     Synchronous
  Memory Speed:                           2133 MHz
  Manufacturer:                           Kingston
  Serial Number:                          2112CA30
  Part Number:                            9905678-023.A00G    
  Asset Tag:                              9876543210
That settles it then.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 08-15-2018, 09:45 AM   #11
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,985
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Changing the CPU with or without a MOBO change should not affect rights to your Windows 10 although you might have to call MS if it does. Your RAM should contnue to be usable, but if you're making changes anyway, you could update (4 years old) but it wouldn't give you any more speed.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 08-16-2018, 07:45 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: South Western Australia
Posts: 8
OS: Win 10 Pro



I see, I would spend a lot of money for nothing.
At the prices I have seen, I will be better off building a new computer,
after all I have all the rest.
I thank you very much for you help, Deep down I had that feeling , you just confirmed my suspicion.
Have a great day
guru2743 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overheating PCH diode
Hi, since 4 years I am the proud owner of an Alienware m17x r3. Recently I reformatted all my system and equipped my laptop with an SSD drive. Everything was great until little by little I started seeing random 20-40 sec lags in video games and then it would go back to normal. This event used to...
krolike Laptop Support 0 09-30-2014 11:41 AM
[SOLVED] After pressing some key combo, I boot into emergency mode
I use Fedora 20. After pressing ctrl-alt-some function key, I entered emergency mode. Now every time I boot my computer, I enter emergency mode before I enter the normal OS. When I enter the normal OS there are no problems. How do I disable the auto-boot into emergency mode?
jengelhart Linux Support 26 07-25-2014 04:12 PM
DPC Latency Issue!
My sound was popping for a while due to DPC latency, and updating the network drivers seemed to fix it. It doesn't pop anymore, but I still get this minor jump in DPC every three seconds. DPC Latency Checker shows the 3-second jump. Every couple of minutes or so, it goes a bit higher, but it...
honijoxiii Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 1 12-26-2012 06:11 PM
Upgrading the CPU and RAM in a Dell Poweredge R410
Hi, Sorry in advance for the noob questions, I don't know much about servers :s I currently have a Dell Poweredge R410 with an Intel Xeon E5502 1.86GHz dual core CPU and 8Gb RAM (4x 2Gb sticks) which I run quite a lot of search engine optimisation software on but the CPU usage is very high so...
rugbyjack2005 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 16 12-13-2012 02:11 PM
Bsod windows 7 home premium
Hello All, I have the original Windows 7 64-bit home premium Intel (R) Pentium4 CPU 2.80 Ghz Motherboard ASRock 4CoreDual-SATA2 2GB Ram GRAPHICS CARD Geforce 7200GS/7300SE Power Supply-450watts The operating system since last year I have done for parts but every few days it gives me blue...
niram1111 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 04-18-2011 01:09 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts