Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Upgrade Processor speed in Optiplex GX1

This is a discussion on Upgrade Processor speed in Optiplex GX1 within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi. I have access to lots of used P3 processors & can purchase them for $3.00 each. Most are in


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2005, 11:04 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
OS:



Hi. I have access to lots of used P3 processors & can purchase them for $3.00 each. Most are in the 500-933 Mhz range. Of course I tried a 933 today & couldn't even boot up to the bios screen. Here's the part # of the one I tried.
933/256/133/1.7V S1
10440146-0370 Philippines
SL4BT

I have plenty of memory (512mb) & would just like a little more speed.
Here's the info on my current processor.

Processor #1 : Intel Pentium III / 98159465
Platform : Slot 1 (SC242 Connector)
Vendor String : GenuineIntel
CPU Type : Original OEM Processor (0)
Family : 6 (-)
Model : 7 (-)
Stepping ID : 3 (-)
Brand ID : - (-)
APIC : ----
HT Log.CPU Cnt : ----
Name String : ----

Internal Clock : 498.46 MHz
System Bus : 99.69 MHz
System Clock : 99.69 MHz
Multiplier : 5.0



There's probably over 150 processors to look through & I'm wondering what numbers I need to be looking for. Thanks for your help.

Sich
sich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-12-2005, 12:26 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 935
OS:


You have to do a little detective work first and find out what your motherboard will support.
Your mobo mfr's website should hold all the answers that you need.

FSB?
Any jumpers to be reset?
Is a BIOS update needed?

With Slot 1 try to harvest the "goal-posts" that were with the "new-to-you" CPU. Makes the transplant much easier as there were several different designs.

JF
jflan is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 06:47 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
OS:



Thanks for the info. Looks like I need to get to get to work. Appreciate your help.

Sich
sich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts