Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

The CMOS Checksum is invalid

This is a discussion on The CMOS Checksum is invalid within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Good day I have a laptop that will not boot I have to remove the cmos battery for a min


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-10-2018, 02:49 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
OS: xp



Good day
I have a laptop that will not boot I have to remove the cmos battery for a min then put it back in and reboot then I get the message below and sometimes can press enter to boot into windows. Once there I have to change my date and Im ok until I shut off my laptop. I have tried to flash the bios with an update but still same problem. I was thinking of trying to replace the bios chip on the MB.
"The cmos checksum is invalid. The cmos will be reset to default configuration and will be rebooted. CMOS Reset (502)
trickyrick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2018, 04:25 AM   #2
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Do not replace the chip, replace the CMOS Battery (if it's removable) some laptops have the battery soldered on to the board, so you might require technical assistance if you don't know your way around electronics.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 04-10-2018, 07:31 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
OS: xp



Thanks for the reply. I have done that. I first checked the old one and it was ok but read a post that if battery is at the end of life it could read 3v but when used the voltage could drop. I replaced it with a new and still the same thing.
trickyrick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-10-2018, 10:34 AM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,185
OS: win 10 Home



Hi, could you post the make and model number of your laptop it will give tristar a little more to work with.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-10-2018, 11:10 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
OS: xp


Its a Pavilion dm4 3050us. I did change the keyboard about 8 weeks ago but it worked up untill 2 weeks ago
trickyrick is offline  
Old 04-11-2018, 02:15 AM   #6
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



If the battery is located directly under the keyboard, I'd take a look at it to see if it does not slip out while packing the keyboard back in.

If you're ok with disassembling the laptop again, reach up to the CMOS battery, with the power/battery pack & CMOS Battery disconnected, press and hold the power button for a few seconds to release any flea power. leave the CMOS battery disconnected for about 5 minutes then put it back together, most laptops have a socket protection so you can't reverse polarity of the battery without forcing it in, but nevertheless do check the polarity on the board and the red/black wires of the battery or +- terminals and ensure they connect the right way.

Also, I think HP notebooks have a key combination to revert back to the previous BIOS unless you've wiped the hard drive of the HP stuff. In which case, I'd take a look to see if any keys on the keyboard are getting jammed, especially the Fn or Windows Key
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 04-11-2018, 05:58 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
OS: xp



The battery is accessible just behind the hard-drive from the bottom of the laptop. Each time i have to turn on my computer I remove the HD and unplug the CMOS battery. I then hold the power button for a minute and then insert the CMOS battery back in (I might add I also remove AC PWR and laptop battery) I put everything back together and try to restart my laptop. Sometimes it works and sometimes I have to repeat the process 3 times before my laptop will boot into windows. I do notice that for some reason the space bar will stop working I have to press it several times for a space for every word then all of a sudden it will start working again. As for stuck keys Ive tried every one they all look fine
trickyrick is offline  
Old 04-11-2018, 06:05 AM   #8
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Ok, can you disconnect the keyboard, then turn on the laptop and see if it turns on without any issues ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 04-11-2018, 09:11 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
OS: xp



Okay I disconnected the keyboard and tried to reboot I come to a message the CMOS checksum is invalid the CMOS will be reset to default configuration and will be rebooted I can't type enter like I usually do at that screen it times out and goes blank I'll have to try to get a USB keyboard
trickyrick is offline  
Old 04-12-2018, 04:21 AM   #10
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Yep, good call, without connecting the base keyboard, connect an external USB, set the BIOS settings for the first time, shut down the laptop and start using the power button.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 04-17-2018, 08:37 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
OS: xp



Sorry for the delay was on vacation no usb keyboard
Home now
So I started up laptop without keyboard connected only a USB keyboard. Booted up with same message about bios. I hit enter to reboot came up and I changed the date then clicked restart.
Same thing I have to remove the CMOS battery and boot that way. So it does not appear to be the keyboard
Any other suggestions
Rick
trickyrick is offline  
Old 04-18-2018, 12:19 AM   #12
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Ok, then most likely a corrupt BIOS, I know you've tried to upgrade the BIOS, does your manufacturer provide steps to recover the BIOS ? Sometimes there is a key combination to replace with an alternate BIOS image for some it's the Driver CD or a USB flash drive.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 04-18-2018, 02:35 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
OS: xp



Didnt understand the last part of your reply. Are you saying to put the bios update on a usb drive then use a combination of key strokes at boot up to use the update on the usb drive
trickyrick is offline  
Old 04-18-2018, 02:45 AM   #14
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Ok, so let me elaborate..

Board/PC Manufacturers have an option to 'switch' the BIOS to an alternate version, in the event of a crash, so you might want to check the manuals which provide that key combination as to how you can switch into that alternate BIOS, I think HP uses Windows Key + V/B for the BIOS recovery from where you can recover the BIOS.

Some manu, allow usage of a USB stick (at the rear of the PC) to directly start the BIOS Crash recovery option, others use the Driver CD to do this recovery, so do you know if your Motherboard has a similar feature ?

Once you're able to access the BIOS, check if there are any Dual/Crash Free BIOS settings etc. they contain 2 sets of BIOS, so if the Primary failed, you can start up with the Secondary.

Any chance you know the Motherboard model number ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 04-18-2018, 04:15 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
OS: xp



Yes I do
Manufacturer Hewlett Pachkard
Model 1793
Serial Number PCNTA1C2F101M1
Version 41.1E

Ill Try to look up the manual and info on the key strokes
Thanks
trickyrick is offline  
Old 04-18-2018, 04:26 AM   #16
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



I think it's Windows key + B or V, better to confirm through the manual.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 04-18-2018, 09:13 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
OS: xp



Its the windows key plus B
There is a nice video and instructions on how to do it at
https://support.hp.com/ca-en/document/c02693833
When I try it I always get to the screen
The cmos checksum is invalid. The cmos will be reset to default configuration and will be rebooted. CMOS Reset (502)
So Im not going to be able to use the BIOS recovery.
Im beginning to think Im going to have to shop for another laptop
trickyrick is offline  
Old 04-18-2018, 11:53 PM   #18
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Probably, unless you have a very reliable source who provides BIOS Chips and pre-programs them and is able to re-program in case of issues, it's not a good investment, try flashing other BIOS versions and see if that makes a difference, but high chances you might need a new laptop.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 04-19-2018, 05:26 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 26
OS: xp



In your opinion do you think its the BIOS chip. When i re flash the chip it says it was successful. So if the re write is good whats preventing the computer from reading it. BIOS chips pre programmed are only 20 dollars and Im good with a soldering iron. For $20 I would take a chance
trickyrick is offline  
Old 04-19-2018, 05:36 AM   #20
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



It's possible, if the chip itself has a bad block, then the checksum will fail. Also, if the crystal oscillator has also failed you might get a similar issue, since the CMOS would revert back to factory state when it detects a multiplier issue.

I'd start with the crystal oscillator/clock crystal first if you're good with a soldering iron.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 10 Driver State Power Failure
So I have an Asus ROG laptop and I've recently started having some issues with it, one of them being this driver state power failure bsod. Its happened 3 times now in the past two weeks. I haven't exactly nailed down what causes it, but I've done some research and most places suggest updating...
lorjack BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 12-12-2017 04:50 PM
BSOD on link clicks / randomly
∑ OS -Windows 7 ∑ 64 bit ∑ Windows 7 ∑ Full Retail Version I purchased. ∑ 1.5 years ∑ 1.5 years / yes, 1 month after original installation. ∑ CPU - AMD Phenom x4 980 Processor 3.7 GHz ∑ Video Card (running off motherboard VGA, had same issue with graphics card, card was removed. ∑...
cc1471 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 11-30-2012 07:10 AM
BSOD Problem
Hi , Im getting this BSOD from few months. Pls help. 1. Windows 7 Ultimate 2. x86 3. Windows 7 Home 4. not OEM 5. 2 years 6 2 years Sony Vaio VPCEA1S1E
Bonehard BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 6 10-01-2012 12:08 PM
Win Server 2008 R2 BSOD's -- bad hardware?
I'm kind of at a loss. This server as been running ok now for 6 months but after moving it I am having all sorts of problems. Looking for pointers on how to troubleshoot and/or narrow down the source of the error.
bproven BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 09-15-2012 07:12 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts