Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

Stuck for 7 min at startup : "bmc initialization wait .."

This is a discussion on Stuck for 7 min at startup : "bmc initialization wait .." within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Dear all, I just received my "new" Tyan S7025 (used, but as new and for good reason) in replacement of


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2018, 08:46 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: France
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 10 / Ubuntu 18


Cry

Dear all,

I just received my "new" Tyan S7025 (used, but as new and for good reason) in replacement of mine that burned (thanks to Intel chipset series 5500's temps). The bios of my "new" motherboard was corrupted, I managed to get it started by taking the bios chip from my old S7025 .. \ o /

However I still have a big problem: the BMC (v2.1) fails to initialize, the bios remains stuck for more than 7 min at startup on post "bmc initialization wait ..." .

Moreover, the BMC is not accessible via the bios or the LAN network, and I can't find the IPMI devices under Windows 10 or Ubuntu, I tried with IpmiUtil, IpmiCFG, Openipmi, but unsuccessful (no ipmi device found).

My question: Is there a way to disable the BMC or reset it on the S7025?

I spent a lot of time searching the internet and Tyan's site, there is everything you need in the S7010 manual: j7 = BMC reset / disable Jumper, and the S7020: J13 = BMC reset / disable Jumper ... but nothing in the manual of the s7025 ... I even tried jumpers not referenced: j168, jp12, j74, j75, j52, but none of them seems to be related to the BMC.

The sad thing in the story is that when I received the motherboard, the bios was corrupt, but not the BMC v1.6 (blinking green led), I updated to the 2.1 by the web interface, without errors, but after reboot, the bmc was no longer reachable (constant green led), and I replaced the bios chip after.

I am really stuck on this problem and i already send a mail to Tyan..

Thank you in advance for any help you could bring to me.
Arthur3d is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2018, 10:34 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,179
OS: win 10 Home



Why did you not get the firmware etc from Tyan https://www.tyan.com/Motherboards=S7...R=downloads=EN
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 09-19-2018, 01:43 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: France
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 10 / Ubuntu 18



Hello Joeten,
As previously written, I look well on the site of Tyan, it provides a tool for the Bios update, but not for the BMC bios, just a file to push trought ... bmc i think . Effectively, reflashing the BMC'bios could be a great way, but no tools on Tyan's website, nor on their FTP ...
Arthur3d is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2018, 03:15 PM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,179
OS: win 10 Home



Would it not be more apt to work if the correct bios was installed first.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 09-20-2018, 12:28 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: France
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 10 / Ubuntu 18



hey Joeten, did you read at least my first post? You answer me in your 1st post to see on the site of Tyan while I explain that there is no info for the s7025 but there is everything for the s7010 and s7020 .
In addition, as previously explained, I received the motherboard with the bios already burnt, it means that the motherboard does not start even, does not display anything, do not beep, I had to find the fault first ... I bought it as functional ... I used the only thing that works on the motherboard: the BMC, and we can not update the bios through the BMC, just the BMC bios. In fact I was lucky to be able to physically changed the bios on the CM, otherwise it would have gone to the trash ...
But this is not the subject, my question:
How can we do on a S7025 to disable or reset the BMC like on S7010 & S7020 ?
Arthur3d is offline  
Old 09-20-2018, 01:44 AM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,179
OS: win 10 Home



I guess you are not looking at the correct page as the 1 I gave you has the correct bios.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 09-20-2018, 02:16 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: France
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 10 / Ubuntu 18



I guess you misunderstood all my treads ... And I hope that you know what a BMC is ...
At the moment, I haven't any motherboard bios problem, it's the BMC's BIOS.. that you could find to on Tyan's site, but no tools to use it, you have to push it by IPMI or LAN ...
Tyan started to answer me, if I have the solution I will post it here because I am not alone with this problem but nobody was able to answer.
Arthur3d is offline  
Old 09-20-2018, 02:39 AM   #8
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Any chance you're talking about the Celestix boxes (marimba) ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 09-20-2018, 02:56 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: France
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 10 / Ubuntu 18



Hi Tristar, I use my machine as workstation, I have no KVM or other controllers behind. But forcing the update of the BMC by a controller like Celestix may could do it, because it's a standard... but you have to have one !
Arthur3d is offline  
Old 09-20-2018, 03:39 AM   #10
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Wait, so you're using one of these patch management appliances as a workstation ? or am I getting this wrong...
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 09-20-2018, 11:24 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: France
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 10 / Ubuntu 18



You getting wrong ;), Tyan tech team give a reply :

"There is no way we can disabled the BMC or even reset it except to send it to RMA for repair. You can still boot-up the S7025 but you have to wait around for more than 10 ~ 15 minutes."

That'it ... because this motherboard doesnt have any jumper to do this, unlike previous model ...
Arthur3d is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3dmark 11 stuck on Please Wait and crashing display driver.
Hello. I have Windows 10 . I have a issue with 3dmark 11. When i am clicking RUN TEST, there is an PLEASE WAIT pop up and nothing happening test is not loading. I am stuck on this. And system starting to slow, i cant open START menu,system is unresponsible and i have some delay lags in opening...
sew333 Video Card Support 0 04-14-2016 11:32 PM
[SOLVED] Stuck in infinite startup loop
Hi, I have lately (2 months) have some problems with my computer going in an infinite loading loop (short video demonstrating: https://1drv.ms/1DvIzO5) Now I know lot about computers and even help my friends in building theirs. Though since I changed chassis (2 months ago) I had some problems...
TigerDK Motherboards, Bios & CPU 9 12-16-2014 11:11 PM
Unfinished update. Stuck at 'Please Wait'
I started up my laptop this morning and it was working perfectly fine. The regular Windows Update little pop up appeared and I proceeded to restart my laptop so that the update could do its business. Somewhere between the update and my laptop, something has gone wrong and I cant fix it. Every...
Gee501 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 4 04-05-2013 11:11 AM
HELP! My Dell studio 1555 will never restart on first try...unless I wait 10-15 min
Hello, I'm new to these forums and I don't really know all that much about computers. Here are my issues. A short while after I updated my computer from Vista to 7, I would never be able to restart or turn off my computer and have it boot up right away. It would either go to a blue screen...
chrasss BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 08-03-2011 04:20 AM
Toshiba satelite L300 stuck on startup
Hi My laptop Toshiba Satelite L300(1F5) stuck on startup. It shows toshiba screen and press F2 to bios and F12 to startup menu but all keys not working not F2 not F12 can you please help me to what I do and whats wrong with PC...
netjunky Laptop Support 1 07-04-2011 06:55 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts