Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] PSU causes disortion to audio?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] PSU causes disortion to audio? within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So a few weeks ago I built my first computer, and for the first time I got a case that


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2012, 01:12 PM   #1
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System

Question

So a few weeks ago I built my first computer, and for the first time I got a case that had a bottom mounted power supply

Now, I don't know if it is the case I've gotten, but for some reason there is static in the audio coming from the front panel. I've had a replacement front panel sent, and I have the same thing, distortion from the front audio.

I've also tried another audio header, from another case, and that sounded fine, but it wasn't wired in with the rest of my stuff so I can't be 100% sure

But is it possible for the power supply to have some EM interference with the audio, if the wires are close to the power supply?

I've just tried something.

If it were indeed EMI from the power supply, then the interference would be present when ever the machine is powered on, correct?
Well, no. That is not what happens. I even booted into the mini-xp from Hiren's Boot Disk, and there was no static. I was going to test music, but it comes with no music player.


So now I am positive that this is a windows problem. In fact, because the static seems to turn on during the windows boot.

Would someone kindly move this to the windows 7 forum?
wkw427 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2012, 01:45 PM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Brand & Model of Mobo-CPU-RAM-Graphics-PSU?



Tyree is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 01:47 PM   #3
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Everything I got is here
Newegg.com - Once You Know, You Newegg

I've also tried to disable and uninstall my onboard audio from device manager. It did not do anything with the static.
wkw427 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2012, 02:24 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Quote:
I've also tried another audio header, from another case, and that sounded fine, but it wasn't wired in with the rest of my stuff
Would make it a hardware issue not a Windows issue.

Check the routing of the front port wiring if it runs along with any fan wires or other unshielded power wires separate them.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 02:27 PM   #5
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


What do you mean other unshielded wiring?

The front panel consists of two switches, an LED, two USB3.0 and an eSATA wire.

Although, I do have it looped behind some of the power cables so that it is not hanging over the board.. I'll try the previous front panel, much like I did with the old audio header and see what happens. I really don't fancy rewiring everything :\
wkw427 is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 02:35 PM   #6
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Is there a fan in the front of the case?

Are both headers you are using either AC97 or HD audio?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 03:05 PM   #7
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


There is a fan in the front of the case, but the power wire does not go near the audio cable.

I've tried both, same results.



If it were the fan, would there not be static before windows boots? I'm thinking that it may be a windows issue, because it only happens when it is running. I can not find a way to boot so that I can play audio without windows, though.
wkw427 is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 03:13 PM   #8
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Ubuntu live CD.
Download | Ubuntu
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 03:16 PM   #9
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System

I will try that now.

Tried booting into Ubuntu, and just as it starts to load, static starts yet again

Tried the other audio header, and I'm pretty sure it is EMI.. though I've wired the audio cable as far as possible from any power cords.. I'm going to be thinking that the closeness of the power supply to the audio header is the problem and there is no way to amend this..

Unless there is something small I can put next to the power supply to direct the EM away... any ideas?
wkw427 is offline  
Old 01-17-2012, 07:42 PM   #10
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



see if this helps

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...nt-145516.html



dai is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 05:41 AM   #11
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
So I should be able to get one of them from an old power supply? I'll try that, then.

But is there any reason that the noise starts when windows starts, and stops when it is shutting down?
wkw427 is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 08:28 AM   #12
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



can only guess it is when the sound drivers cut in



dai is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 08:41 AM   #13
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System

I'll try removing all realtek audio drivers and unstalling the audio, then rebooting and not downloading the realtek drivers via windows update, when I get home.

Tried uninstalling drivers and rebooting, same thing.

Though, upon wrapping the audio cable in fairly thick eletrical tape, it has gone down. I've also moved the wire away from the power supply at varrying degrees, and it has almost gone away.

I just need something to put between the power supply to block the EM...

What can be used? Thanks
wkw427 is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 03:21 PM   #14
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Try wrapping tinfoil around the audio cable then electrical tape making sure to completely cover the foil.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 03:24 PM   #15
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Ah, well I've tried that, but with electrical tape first... Little to no difference in static. Should I try it the other way, then?

Also, do you think that the power supply may be faulty for producing such high levels of EMI?
wkw427 is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 03:39 PM   #16
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



I'm not convinced it's the power supply, when you used the spare fpa setup it was not there correct?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 03:42 PM   #17
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


It was a total replacement front panel, put it in, plugged all my usb headers in and whatnot, same thing.

When I tried the other FPA, INCLUDING the first one that I got, wired OUTSIDE of the case, like, 2.5 feet away from the case, there was no static. Tried both with the header from an older computer, and the one I got with the case
wkw427 is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 04:25 PM   #18
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



That's what I mean, the wire still has to hook to the motherboard in the same place and come out near the PSU no?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 04:28 PM   #19
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Internet™
Posts: 2,437
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


Right, but has less interference when more of the wire is away from the power supply.

What I did was I pulled the wire almost parallel to the board right after the header, so that it would go up to nearly the cpu fan. There was minimal static then, but there was nothing to anchor the wire there, and it would be a bit tight on the headers.

Anyway, a friend said they would give me a ferrite magnet tomorrow, so I'll try that and see what happens.
wkw427 is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 04:49 PM   #20
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



See if you can borrow another PSU to try, the CX model Corsairs are not a top of the line supply but I haven't heard of this compliant with them.
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Empire:total war HELP
Dear whoever i have just downloaded both napoleon total war and total war. when i play the games i go into gamplay all of is stretchy and skippy. Empire: Total War System Requirements Lab Analysis Congratulations, your computer passes the minimum specification required to run this...
jabojoshua PC Gaming Support 12 05-28-2012 06:00 PM
[SOLVED] Windows XP BSOD Possibly ATI X1900 related
I found the thread BSOD posting for Windows 7 and Vista, but I'm running XP. As soon as someone points me to the proper place, I'll go through those motions. Please forgive any breech of protocol. Kind of flying blind here, so I beg your patience. First system info: ------------------ System...
DrZin Windows XP Support 11 06-03-2011 11:49 AM
Startup time from 75 seconds to 165 seconds. What is wrong?
Hello forum. I have a month-old Dell Inspiron N7010 Core i5 460M with 6 gigs of ram running on Windows 7. Until recently, it has been starting up in about 75 seconds. However, out of nowhere, it suddenly began starting up in between 2 and a half minutes to 3 minutes. I am completely baffled,...
SimTmiCro Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 6 05-10-2011 09:01 AM
Error 132 issues with WoW
Hello everyone. I've posted on the WoW Tech support forums several times with no real success, so I figured I'd give this a shot. Getting 132 errors during gameplay at least a few times a day, and I have no idea what is causing the issues. Appreciate any help! Latest crash log: ...
Rossdale PC Gaming Support 6 04-13-2011 02:10 AM
[SOLVED] PSU and GPU
I'm wanted to upgrade my PSU and GPU to start running mid-high end games on mid-high end settings. I have been looking over Newegg but i'm not sure which PSU and GPU's are decent and are.. Money efficiant i think? :) Can you reccomend from these or others that may be better? PSU ...
entrity RAM and Power Supply Support 12 04-06-2011 02:54 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts