Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Pci express

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Pci express within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. How Do I know If my motherboard has a pci-express slot? I want to upgrade my graphics card, the model


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-27-2010, 04:44 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Metalozedex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 64
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



How Do I know If my motherboard has a pci-express slot?
I want to upgrade my graphics card, the model of my desktop is H6534 Emachines and the processor is amd athlon 64 processor 3700+

the graphics card I want to upgrade to is an evga geforce 8400 GS and it's an x16 PCI-E

I have found an image of what my motherboard looks like (if I remember)


I have hard telling if it has pci express slot.
Can I upgrade?

thanks.
Metalozedex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2010, 04:55 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,072
OS: Win7



That should be a MSI MS-7207 board and it does have a PCIe x16 slot> https://www.e4allupgraders.info/dir1/.../msi7207.shtml
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-27-2010, 04:57 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Metalozedex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 64
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



alright thanks!
Metalozedex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2010, 05:00 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,072
OS: Win7



A word to the wise, if your running the original eMachines power supply upgrade it those were real motherboard killers.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 07-27-2010, 05:10 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Metalozedex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 64
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



alright. thanks for the tip, would a 500w PSU do the job? Or a 600w
Metalozedex is offline  
Old 07-27-2010, 05:15 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Metalozedex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 64
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



sorry for double post, the motherboard has a form factor of micro-atx
would an ATX power-supply work?
Metalozedex is offline  
Old 07-27-2010, 05:26 PM   #7
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


The MB has a ATX 24-pin power connector.

An ATX PSU will be fine.
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 07-27-2010, 06:08 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Cordova, TN
Posts: 82
OS: Windows 7 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to jwp1223 Send a message via AIM to jwp1223 Send a message via MSN to jwp1223 Send a message via Yahoo to jwp1223

Also make sure it's of quality brand. Corsair, Altec, Seasonic etc.
jwp1223 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts