Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Partitions on hard drive

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Partitions on hard drive within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok.. I got the mouse working on daughters computer.. So I decided to do a full restore. Did it and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-25-2010, 09:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 55
OS: xp



Ok.. I got the mouse working on daughters computer.. So I decided to do a full restore. Did it and went just like normal. BUT I had the wireless adapter in and didn't run the disk.. Starts in safe.

Well.. Did a restore and hit no when i should have hit yes. My hard drive has 3 partition. c d e.. When I hit no I made one BIG one and now I have a error saying not enough memory.. I think I screwed up big time. Is there a way to get it back to 3 parts. I restarted with the disk but it must have over written the disk because I can't redo it..
llmoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2010, 09:40 AM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Are you using a retail Windows disc, an OEM Restore Disc or a Recovery partition to do the Restore?
Is this an OEM or custom build?



Tyree is offline  
Old 12-25-2010, 12:47 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 55
OS: xp



this is a built system.. It is older but works GREAT.. well did.. I reboot with a floppy that is max.blast version 1.275.. that is the retore for the harddrive. Overwrites the old and partitions them. I thought I could just reboot with the disk but it won't work. So it must have over written the disk I assume. Then I start with a windows start up disk..

When I get the error of not enough memory, I click ok and I get A>.

both disk our made from guy that built computer. I have restored it a few times. This time just not paying attention..
llmoe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2010, 01:00 PM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Do you have a Windows CD? If so, boot from it and you can make partitions.



Tyree is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 08:01 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 55
OS: xp



Yes, I gave a window state floppy and a windows cd.. Do I just start it with the window CD in and follow steps?
llmoe is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 08:21 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



This is a good guide to reinstalling XP . . you might want to print it for reference during the install.

https://www.techhandbook.com/windows/...g-Windows.html
Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 09:14 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 55
OS: xp



Well I have xp cd to aswell.. Can I run that and partition the hard drive.
llmoe is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 09:16 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



Yess . . look at the guide I posted
Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 03:27 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nevada/USA
Posts: 1,200
OS: XPpro(sp3) VistaHP-32 WIN7-hp Ubuntu 10.10 64

My System

Send a message via MSN to Dblanchard1278 Send a message via Yahoo to Dblanchard1278

To boot from the cd go into bios and set your cd drive to the first boot device, it will be located in the boot options in bios. hit f10 to save and exit. Put in your windows disk and start the pc, once the pc starts hit any key to boot from cd. Since you wiped out all partitions there is no way to go back to the 3 partitions and the restore partition on the hdd is gone.
Dblanchard1278 is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 03:30 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 55
OS: xp



Sorry about that. I didn't notice... None of your figured showed up Just a a "x". I should still be able to do it. Now will I have to install the mother board drives and all of that?
llmoe is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 03:36 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



After you install the Operating System, install the motherboard and other drivers, then go to windows update and install the updates

What does
Quote:
None of your figured showed up Just a a "x".
mean?
Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 03:43 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 55
OS: xp



Sorry Rich, just meant your figured that look like pics are just x's.. Will I go into bios with putting the disk in? and turning on or do I just start it. I guess I am asking how do I get into the bios to get it to boot from cd
llmoe is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 04:29 PM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



Looks like the links on that page are broken . . see if this helps

https://www.theeldergeek.com/xp_home_..._-_graphic.htm
Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 04:59 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 55
OS: xp



I hit esc on boot up and the boot screen popped up.. Got the windows disk going thru the steps. I will let you know how it goes...
llmoe is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 06:18 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 55
OS: xp



everything is up and running but I must have missed the sata,scsi, or raid disc drives part because keeps saying found new hardware.. Misses via bus master ide drivers... Can I get them online or what do I need to do.. Other then screwing that up, the computer is running great.. I am not going to run restore cds because my daughter don't need anything. She can just upload things when she needs them..
llmoe is offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 07:02 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nevada/USA
Posts: 1,200
OS: XPpro(sp3) VistaHP-32 WIN7-hp Ubuntu 10.10 64

My System

Send a message via MSN to Dblanchard1278 Send a message via Yahoo to Dblanchard1278

There should be a disk with the drivers on it, just put in a disk that isn't the windows disk and have windows search the disk for the drivers or get them off the internet.
Dblanchard1278 is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 04:31 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 55
OS: xp



I don't know what disk. Not the mother board disk, or game card disk. It says hardware found.. If I know WHAT. Could be me cd rom.. I might be able to find that disk but I can't find anything else.. Thought would be the only disk that I don't have in the package. Is there anyway of telling what the hardware IS... Thanks for all the help
llmoe is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 06:41 AM   #18
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



See this for how to identify what drivers you need:

https://www.techsupportforum.com/f19/...rs-419050.html
Old Rich is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 07:10 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 55
OS: xp



I will read thru and see what I can find. I did install the graphic card drivers, and mother board drivers.... I will let you know what I find.. I think my is amd aswell and older..
llmoe is offline  
Old 12-27-2010, 07:11 AM   #20
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



If you post the report here we can help chase missing drivers.

In Device Manager, what is shown with errors or reported as "Unknown"?
Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts