Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] My PC Shuts off

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] My PC Shuts off within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My PC just completely turns off seemingly at random. I recently built the pc, here are the Specs: GF7050-M2 Motherboard


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-27-2008, 10:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 98
OS: XP Home



My PC just completely turns off seemingly at random. I recently built the pc, here are the Specs:
GF7050-M2 Motherboard
AMD 64 athlon X2 4000+ CPU
2GB single stick, ddr2 ram
SATA 250GB HDD
PowerX 450W Sumvision PSU

Sometimes when I switch it on, it turns off, when I'm on after an hour. After I'm playing a game, 5, 10, 100 minutes into it. Etc.

I run the PC over night sometimes and it doesn't turn off, just when I'm doing something.
Its really annoying, does anyone know why? Could it be a problem with the PSU or motherboard it self?

Please help
Greerere
Greerere is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-27-2008, 10:27 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 98
OS: XP Home



BTW, I think I may have accidentally overclocked it. I ran a program called Warpspeeder and I think that automatically overclocked it, so how do I check or stop it?
Greerere is offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 11:42 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 644
OS:



Go intot the bios and check your cpu and system temperatures. If you are overclocking anything then set the speeds back to the default settings.

You can also try another power supply too and see if the problem lies on the power supply.
Computer_Doctor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-27-2008, 06:09 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


Whats the manufacture of the motherboard?
Are you using a video card? and if so what is it? Give us the full specs

The symptom's indicate a psu problem and a 450w is somewhat small by todays standards, I am not familiar with your psu but it does not sound like a very good one, when you answer the above we can get a better idea on this.

Warpspeed is a biostar program I think and yes it is used for overclocking, you should enter bios and load the defaults to see if that helps because if you did overclock it that could also contribute to the problem.

If this a biostar board they also give you a program to monitor temps and voltages, its on your motherboard cd, install it and post the temps and voltages
Doby is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 03:26 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 98
OS: XP Home



Hi, sorry I've not posted in a while, I've been taking it to shops and replacing parts, here is where I am.
I am not using a graphics card, I am using the in-built one. I have replaced the power supply, still does the same. It has been confirmed that the power supply will be enough for the pc. I have replaced the HDD as that had a fault on.

Still the fault remains
Greerere is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 08:12 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 98
OS: XP Home



Okay, again I've not replied in a while this is where I am now,

I have taken my Motherboard back to the store, and they said there was afault with the motherboard, which made my CPU fan switch off so the pc shut down in order to protect itself. They replaced the motherboard and it worked great! for a few days.

The fault again has returned, is it possible it is a faulty motherboard again? Or is it something else which is causing the fault on the motherboard?
Greerere is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 09:05 AM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what power supply is in it
brand
wattage
what does the bios list for tempretures and voltages



dai is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 04:43 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 98
OS: XP Home



It was 450W, It is a Power X Sum E vision.

Power Spec


CPUZ Stuff of Comp


Not entirely sure what you want so can you please specify where I can find this info you need.
Greerere is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:05 AM   #9
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



your power supply is cheap and underpowered for you system
a pcie m/b requires 26amp output on the 12v+ line[s]
yours puts out 14amps
you need to be in this area
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...corsair%2b550w



dai is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:14 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 98
OS: XP Home



Thought this might be a problem but the person I bought it from said it should be ok, also I took this to a shop and no one noticed that it was not good enough, thanks for telling me and I'll get a new one ASAP
Greerere is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:23 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 98
OS: XP Home



What Watts would you recommend, the min Watts and max Watts. I do not want to get something too overpowered, and the same something which is too underpowered

Also, how can I work out what Amps they are supplying?
Greerere is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:31 AM   #12
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...corsair%2b550w



dai is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:34 AM   #13
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Greerere View Post
What Watts would you recommend, the min Watts and max Watts. I do not want to get something too overpowered, and the same something which is too underpowered

Also, how can I work out what Amps they are supplying?
DAI posted above what watts you should be looking into. Go to the newegg link and check it out.
George Safford is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:34 AM   #14
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


WOW must be a real active thread, sorry DAI did not know you had it covered.
George Safford is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:37 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 98
OS: XP Home



Just thought I would add, I do not wish to buy this product from America, due to the fact I live in england, and if this product does not work I will not be able to send it back
Greerere is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:45 AM   #16
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Greerere View Post
Just thought I would add, I do not wish to buy this product from America, due to the fact I live in england, and if this product does not work I will not be able to send it back

I'm pretty sure being English does not stop you from RMA'ing a defective part back to Newegg.

Love the country by the way!!!

I would like to add that 99% of the items that are sold on newegg are not made in america so you should be able to buy them elswhere.
George Safford is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:52 AM   #17
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what's wrong with buying it in the uk,just because i give you a link to show you something does not mean you need to buy it from there
here is a uk site
https://www.aria.co.uk/VendorStores/C...roductId=29383



dai is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 05:55 AM   #18
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Below is a list of power suppliy manufactors from Newegg. In red are good ones in my eyes. This will probably start a war on this thread but it is my opinion from alot of reading.


FSP Group (Fortron Source) (32)
Silverstone (32)
Rosewill (31)
Thermaltake (28)
APEVIA (Aspire) (25)
Athena Power (24)
More
ABS(8)
AeroCool(5)
Antec(21)
APEX (SUPERCASE/ALLIED)(6)
Athenatech Inc(1)
ATOP Technology(3)
ATRIX(2)
BFG Technologies(5)
BGears(4)
Compucase(22)
Cooler Master(12)
CoolMax(22)
Corsair Memory, Inc.(7)
Dynapower USA(7)
EAGLE TECH(3)
Enermax(23)
Enlight(6)
E-POWER(16)
ETASIS Electronics(2)
FOXCONN(1)
GIGABYTE(5)
HIPER(10)
HIPRO(2)
In Win(9)
Kingwin Inc.(11)
Linkworld Electronics(6)
Logisys Computer(10)
MSI(3)
Mushkin(4)
NZXT(3)
OCZ Technology, Inc.(9)
PC Power & Cooling(13)
Powertek(2)
Powmax(4)
Raidmax(11)
SeaSonic USA(22)
Shuttle(1)
Sigma Product(10)
Sparkle Power Inc.(11)
STARTECH(22)
Sunbeam(6)
TOPOWER(4)
TUNIQ(3)
Winsis(2)
XClio(15)
XIGMATEK(5)
XION(7)
Zalman Tech Co., Ltd
George Safford is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 06:01 AM   #19
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



only the thermaltake toughpower series
even the top manufacturers out put cheaper crap supplies



dai is offline  
Old 07-19-2008, 09:10 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 98
OS: XP Home



I forgot to ask,
Would the underpowered PSU cause the pc to turn on as soon as I have installed it and turn it off, or could it happen 3 days after.
As my pc ran fine for 3 days before switching off.
Greerere is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts