Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Motherboard/CPU advise.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Motherboard/CPU advise. within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I will be buying a new mobo, cpu, and ram set around Christmas and would like to get it all


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-13-2012, 12:04 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7


Question

I will be buying a new mobo, cpu, and ram set around Christmas and would like to get it all figured out now so when it comes time to order i have no douts xD.
Anyways im looking at a cpu/mobo/ram combo now which on on these links.
Mobo: Newegg.com - ASUS M5A78L-M LX PLUS AM3+ AMD 760G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
CPU: Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOX
RAM: Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL
I would like to know if this set would work together, and am also looking for info on upgrades to them, but not huge ones because i would like to spend around 200$ on this, budget is tight on the 200$ but can budge a little. So hit me with em xD
Riley114 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2012, 12:34 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7



Also Micro ATX or ATX both will work with my case.
Riley114 is offline  
Old 11-13-2012, 01:01 PM   #3
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



What do have or plan to use for the rest of the setup.
PSU
Video integrated or a card?
hard drive ssd or platter?
Wrench97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-13-2012, 02:10 PM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



What you have is compatible but knowing the info Wrench97 requested would help us to assist you better.
If you have any questions about the other components, use our suggested build list as a guide: Building - Tech Support Forum



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-13-2012, 03:39 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7


Grin

As of right now i have the EVGA geforce gtx 560 SC, and as for psu this build is from my friend and the only info he could give me on the psu is that it is a 600 or 650w lol xD there are no stickers on it giving any info so i just had to take his word for it, i also have a 500g HDD, cd reader, and a wireless dlink card. Hope thats all you asked for.
Riley114 is offline  
Old 11-13-2012, 03:40 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7



I am also interested in someday putting in a Ssd, not sure if you need a special mobo to use them? or not but thought id let you know.
Riley114 is offline  
Old 11-13-2012, 04:11 PM   #7
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



With no labels you pretty much assume it's not a decent unit and figure on replacing it sooner rather then later.

What you have selected will work but I would rather see you move to a full ATX board on a gaming set up, with the video card you don't need the overhead of integrated video for a couple bucks more here's a decent board> Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more!
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 11-13-2012, 04:16 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7



O my thats a nice looking board xD looks perfect. Idk if this is a stupid question or not lol but the other 4x card slot? would it be posible to put a dif video card in that and run it to a different screen? cause from what i have heard is that sli/cross fire is worthless on anything besides 16x cards slots... can you shed some light on this?
Riley114 is offline  
Old 11-13-2012, 04:21 PM   #9
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Your EVGA GeForce GTX 560 SC GPU has two DVI outputs so you can run two monitors from it.



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-13-2012, 04:24 PM   #10
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



Yes you could, it's a x16 slot but electrically wired to x4, a second card for a third monitor is possible. Theoretically xfire(no Nvida SLI on AMD/ATI boards) will run the same in a x4 slot as a full x16 until you get to the high end cards(kind of tells you why the performance is not double on 2 cards).
You are aware that the GTX560 will run 2 monitors correct?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 11-13-2012, 04:25 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7



Yes that is true
Riley114 is offline  
Old 11-13-2012, 04:28 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7



I appreciate the help guys, that board you posted looks great. I be getting this at Christmas and investing in a new psu soon, what watt psu would you recommend that will give me space to improve the build later but also run what i would be getting now?
Riley114 is offline  
Old 11-13-2012, 04:48 PM   #13
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



A good quality unit of at least 650w will give you some overhead depending of course on what you want to add later.
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more!
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 11-13-2012, 05:00 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7



Ok so are raidmax psu's good quality? Newegg.com - RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-730SS 730W ATX12V V2.2/ EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Modular Power Supply, New Version with Build-in LED Fan On/Off Switch
Iv been looking at this 1 but i havnt heard much on raidmax psu quality. If those that you linked me are much better quality i will def spend the extra cash and get one of those.
Riley114 is offline  
Old 11-13-2012, 06:17 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7



Anyways thanks for all the help looks like i got my build all set then thanks Wrench.
Riley114 is offline  
Old 11-14-2012, 12:00 AM   #16
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



Raidmax are lower quality units.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 11-14-2012, 07:01 AM   #17
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Raidmax are very poor quality. I would suggest the SeaSonic made PSU's for insured quality.

Newegg.com - XFX Core Edition PRO650W (P1-650S-NLB9) 650W ATX12V 2.2 & ESP12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply



Tyree is offline  
Old 11-14-2012, 05:31 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 52
OS: Windows 7



Alright thank you guys for all the help.
Riley114 is offline  
Old 11-15-2012, 07:33 AM   #19
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



You're welcome and best of luck.



Tyree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Ever Long Term Contract Job. Advise?
Hi everyone, After studying for the past two years for my entry level certifications and working at a PC repair shop part-time for the past four months, I finally landed a four month, full-time, contract job! I'll be setting up workstations for an insurance agency and transferring data between...
tim19889 Certification & Career 3 02-11-2012 07:47 PM
need advise subnetting small WISP!!!
i have a small WISP i am re-working. my lead IT guy moved so i am reaching out for a little advise from the internet. any improvements or comments are greatly appreciated. attached is a rough cut sheet to help visualize the topology. it is a point to multipoint wireless network. i am wanting to...
cgreen Networking Support 1 12-28-2011 09:18 AM
Pls advise - Reliable 2.5 inch SATA external HDD enclosure
Pls advise - I would like to purchase Reliable 2.5 inch SATA external HDD enclosure which is sturdy and reliable and can last long and have no issues. Which brand / company's hard disk enclosure u recommend? Pls guide me. Thanks in advance. Really looking forward for ur advice. Pls respond.
sunandoghosh Hard Drive Support 1 11-06-2011 07:39 PM
GA-P35DS3R (Rev. 2.1) overclocking advise
Hello All, i am kind of newbe to OC inspite some reading done on this. so feel free to flame but pls also advise a sollution or advise. i have purchased some time ago a P35DS3R mobo together with a kentsfieled G0 Q6600 cpu. the initial ram was 2X1GB OCZ platinums DDR2 800Mhz and now i have...
ItsikT Overclocking 10 06-17-2011 01:46 PM
Advise on Security Please
I wondered if you could advise me about I.T Security. I have just started looking into Security and Privacy, and I'm trying to make my system as secure as possible whilst still being able to use it without locking it up so to speak. I was looking at VPNUK this looks really good for a small fee...
Lion2 Security and Firewalls 1 01-13-2011 02:29 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts