Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Im stumped.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Im stumped. within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just put together yet another PC to add to the collection; from bits. Problem is, I put in an


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-26-2008, 10:03 AM   #1
In & out... very busy
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: County Durham UK
Posts: 1,877
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, Ubuntu 10.04

My System


I just put together yet another PC to add to the collection; from bits.
Problem is, I put in an XP disk to install, but it doesnt go past the detecting hardware setup stage. Ive sat there for 20mins waiting for the blue screen and the press F6 to install 3rd party RAID drivers, to no avail.
Ive gone over and over the hardware to check its set right, the CMOS has been reset, I just cant work it out. I do have these fuzzy moments sometimes...Any ideas folks??? Thanks in advance guys and gals.
stressfreesoul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-27-2008, 02:13 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13,828
OS:



I would start out by trying another CD drive.
TheMatt is offline  
Old 07-27-2008, 06:40 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

if another cd drive doesnt cure the trouble


then wipe the drive with killdisk ....... that cures these problems often enough

you "might" want to run memtest 86 for an hour also
linderman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-28-2008, 02:38 AM   #4
In & out... very busy
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: County Durham UK
Posts: 1,877
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, Ubuntu 10.04

My System


Will try the killdisk option, I already tried another drive, it now has a choice of DVDrw and CDRW. I downloaded memtest, but then realised I dont have any floppy disks to run it from, so that will have to wait. Im not convinced the RAM is the problem, It has already had XP booted on it with a different HDD. I think I've just answered my own question. Its more than likely to be an issue with the hard disks. I had temperature problems with one of them when they were RAID 0 in my main machine, so maybe its picked up some errors.
Thanks guys, invaluable resource for the semi-professional, yet again...
stressfreesoul is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 03:52 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

dont forget memtest also has a CD version (burn the ISO) to a CD

https://www.memtest.org/#downiso
linderman is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 12:58 PM   #6
In & out... very busy
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: County Durham UK
Posts: 1,877
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, Ubuntu 10.04

My System


Kewl, that'll work better for me, honestly, I have no idea why floppies havent become completely obsolete yet. I must have only ever used one once in ten years. Thanks again, I'll leave this thread open until Ive sorted it...
stressfreesoul is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 12:59 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

floppies are so past their time. I have been watching like a hawk expecting mobo makers any day now to drop the floppy connector
linderman is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 01:36 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



By gawd, I love the floppy,,,lol, To get in for me there is no better
way. They always say that dos is dead, so why do we have a
command prompt? and what better way to enter than a floppy.
I know Im old, and old school, but I still like a floppy present. When
you have a system that is locked up, you can always seem to shake
it up with a floppy boot disk.,,,Ive not dared to flash bios yet with
a thumb drive, or cdrom drive, scares me.....
manic is offline  
Old 07-29-2008, 09:35 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13,828
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by linderman View Post
floppies are so past their time. I have been watching like a hawk expecting mobo makers any day now to drop the floppy connector
I had to use 4 floppies today, one of which I made myself, to setup Windows NT 4.0 Server on a Dell PowerEdge 1300 I just got.
TheMatt is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 02:25 AM   #10
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,300
OS: Vista SP1, Ultimate

My System


I had to use a floppy to create a fault tolerance disk today, for dynamic disk redundancey. Could have used server 2003 cd for this I suppose but it has to be left in the drive so it'll boot to the redundant disk no probs in an emergency so would be a watse of a server cd if it just sat in the drive lol.

Also stressful you might want to download and keep ultimate boot cd:

https://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

has everything you need diagnoses wise, and also includes memtest and memtest+!

Pure magic man!
lazareth1 is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 10:00 AM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,534
OS:



Floppys come in handy recovering bad bios flashes.
OMGmissinglink is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 01:14 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

dont get me wrong I have a floppy in all my personal machines and I add them to any system I sell ...... unless the customer wont go for it

but I cant help but feel ...... their days are numbered

especially when you can use floppy emulation (nero ) on a CD and make the CD "think" its a floppy
linderman is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 01:22 PM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,534
OS:



Floppy emulation (nero) makes the cd a floppy... tons of coasters for bad bios flash recovery on customers pc's.
OMGmissinglink is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 01:36 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

hmmmmmmmmm havent had one fail me yet .. ?????????

I do prefer the floppy though ........ old school



thumb drives will take over the future of bios flashing though
linderman is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 01:41 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,741
OS: xp



I feel the same way, days are numbered for the floppy drive, much
like the ide interface. I still wont buy a board without a floppy drive
connector, and at least one ide, I could probably let the ide connector
slide, but not the floppy. I think in general spinning media has reached
its peak, but that is another topic.
manic is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 01:46 PM   #16
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,534
OS:



Older mobo's don't default thumb drives as bootable device though.

I prefer floppy drives we install them in our PC's.
OMGmissinglink is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 04:46 AM   #17
In & out... very busy
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: County Durham UK
Posts: 1,877
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, Ubuntu 10.04

My System


I do have two floppy drives. They are just sat in a box, not really doing anything. If I can use a USB key, I will. However, I do understand that not everyone has an up-to-date machine. Suppose I'd best go and buy a box of them really, just in case the need arises. I must admit there have been times (callout jobs) when I havent had one on me. I downloaded memtest iso and that boot cd, gonna run that today. So how can a motherboard use a USB key as a bootable device? I thought as its DOS, the drivers for motherboard USB wouldn't be loaded yet?
stressfreesoul is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 07:48 AM   #18
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13,828
OS:



I remember using a floppy to install SATA drivers for Windows plenty of times.
TheMatt is offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 04:22 AM   #19
In & out... very busy
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: County Durham UK
Posts: 1,877
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, Ubuntu 10.04

My System


Right, ok, howay lads, off the soap box now... I went and bought a box of em....
stressfreesoul is offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 06:13 AM   #20
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman

starting about 4years ago (roughly) motherboards have an option in the boot device priority to boot from USB ........ you just cant boot into a windows OS ........ MS made sure of that ........ if we could think what that would mean to OS sales ???????

if you go to www.bootdisk.com >>>> 25% of the way down the webpage .....there is a Title named "Bootable CD" How to flash your bios with no 1.44 floppy drive


but: hell yeah the floppy method is the easiest and most dependable method
linderman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts