Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] CPU upgrade with motherboard

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] CPU upgrade with motherboard within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I have an HP Pavilion a1110, that I'm not ready to get rid of yet. The cpu I have


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-23-2014, 11:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
OS: Win xp



Hi, I have an HP Pavilion a1110, that I'm not ready to get rid of yet. The cpu I have is the celeron 3.06 now, but would like to upgrade for a better CPU with a higher passmark for PlayOn. The processor that MAY work with my machine that could also work with PlayOn is the Pentium 4 3.73 ghz. My question in will that cpu work with ASUS P4GV-LA (Guppy-GL6E) motherboard in my desktop?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank
themat2243 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2014, 12:23 PM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



HP says a P4 CPU will work with their Asus Mobo but they do not state specifically which ones. The Pentium 4 3.73 is a 1066FSB and the Mobo specs says 533/400 MHz so it is highly doubtful that CPU will work with that Mobo.



Tyree is offline  
Old 08-23-2014, 02:27 PM   #3
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,071
OS: Win7



The Motherboard is a Socket 478, the P4 3.73 is Socket 775 CPU so it definitely will not fit in the socket.
Wrench97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-24-2014, 08:03 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Thanks Wrench97.....didn't even notice the Socket.



Tyree is offline  
Old 08-26-2014, 01:06 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 2
OS: Win xp



Thank guys. It looks like I'm going to need a new computer. My laptop sucks too, so maybe I'll go that way. I was just trying to save $ when all I need is a better way to watch PlayOn with Roku.
themat2243 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DAILY BSOD's FOR MONTHS-PLS. HELP!!
Hi Moderators: I've been having a BSOD problem with my Dell Studio540 desktop for months now and finally have some time to try and fix the problem. :banghead: It's my main computer and I use for business as well as personal. Per "JCGRIFF2"'s instructions on BSOD posting, here are the...
BIGBEARJEDI BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 03-03-2013 12:20 PM
BSOD at about 31 celsius during gaming
OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? Windows 7 x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? 64 bits What was original installed OS on system? None - Clean harddrisk bought. Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)?
StefanP BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 23 02-04-2012 04:05 PM
AM2+ CPU on a AM2 motherboard
Hello, I have a Gigabyte GA-M55S-S3 motherboard and a AMD Athlon X2 4200+ processor. I have recently upgraded other components (HDD, video card, memory) and i would like to upgrade the processor also, but without changing my motherboard, because i want to keep the money invested in this as low...
geesus Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 5 06-12-2011 05:27 AM
How to Bench Test / Troubleshoot Your System
:stop: This guide has been updated! Please see here: https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f255/how-to-bench-test-build-and-troubleshoot-your-computer-918754.html The purpose of this thread is to demonstrate an easy way to test your system prior to complete assembly. If you take the time to...
linderman Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 1 08-01-2007 04:15 PM
How to Bench Test / Troubleshoot Your System
The purpose of this thread is to demonstrate an easy way to test your system prior to complete assembly. If you take the time to bench test your build prior to full assembly you will save yourself hordes of time in troubleshooting a faulty component. The most efficient way to minimize lost...
linderman Tweakers 1 08-01-2007 04:15 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts