Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Computer turning on and off

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Computer turning on and off within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. PLEASE HELP ME!!!! This is my first build, and I thought everything went well. I double checked and everything I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-27-2009, 07:43 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
OS:


Exclamation

PLEASE HELP ME!!!!

This is my first build, and I thought everything went well. I double checked and everything I have is plugged in correctly. When I wanted to see if it would work, I just plugged in my case to the wall and it turned on, and then off. All the lights and fans would turn on for a second, and then turn off for three seconds (the process would keep repeating.) All parts of my computer are receiving power, but there is something interrupting the flow of power. Everything turns on, and then off, and it keeps repeating.

Here are my specs.....

Antec 900 case
4gb ddr3 Corsair Ram
750 Watt Corsair Power Supply
Intel i5 Processor
Gigabyte P55A-UD3
500gb WD Internal Drive
Evga 1gb ddr2 Geforce 9500 graphics Card

*Please somebody tell me that there is something little interrupting the flow of power, and I dont need to get another power supply or processor*
Gman021 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2009, 07:53 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


https://www.techsupportforum.com/f15/how-to-bench-test-your-system-262998.html

Follow this guide its best to build it on the bench with minimal components first.
Report back
Doby is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 08:57 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
OS:



Hey thanks alot. We did a test using a paper clip to rule out an power supply problem. After reading your article, we confirmed what we thought; there was another power cord that needed to be plugged into the motherboard - the 8 pin


NOW IT WORKS
Gman021 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2009, 06:53 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


Congrats and nice job!
Doby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts