Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] computer shuts off randomly

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] computer shuts off randomly within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been having this problem for a while now where my computer shuts off randomly like some one pulled


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2012, 08:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7 no service pack


Send a message via Skype™ to Bradx954
Pin

I have been having this problem for a while now where my computer shuts off randomly like some one pulled the plug at first I thought it was power supply butI replaced that and it still happens please this is driving my crazy if anyone can help me please do so.

system specs:
windows 7 64 bit
amd phenom II x 6 3.2ghz
16gb ddr3 1600mhz ram
890FXA GD65 motherboard
1gb gddr5 gtx 460 se
1 312gb hd: operating system
1 tb hd:Steam plus other game
850 watt corsair power supply
Bradx954 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2012, 02:45 AM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Post the temp and voltage readings from the BIOS.

Are you doing anything specific when this happens? Watching video,games,ect
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 01-26-2012, 07:44 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7 no service pack


Send a message via Skype™ to Bradx954

cpu temp 44c
system temp 25c
cpu fan 3579rpm
cpu vcore 3.280v
3.3v 3.280v
5v 5.003v
12v 11.968v

it happens more when I play video games
Bradx954 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2012, 08:14 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



If the RAM is 4x4GB try removing two of the RAM sticks and see how it goes.
Memory Standard for the MSI 890FXA-GD65 is DDR3 800/1066/1333/ 1600*/1800*/2133* (OC)



Tyree is offline  
Old 01-26-2012, 08:17 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7 no service pack


Send a message via Skype™ to Bradx954
I recently got new ram and the situation was happening before I got it

Any one have any ideas?
Bradx954 is offline  
Old 01-26-2012, 09:59 PM   #6
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 15,298
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradx954 View Post
cpu temp 44c
system temp 25c
cpu fan 3579rpm
cpu vcore 3.280v
3.3v 3.280v
5v 5.003v
12v 11.968v

it happens more when I play video games
Are these numbers from the BIOS?

Download and install HWMonitor and monitor the temps in Windows and idle and while gaming. Post a screenshot.
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 01-26-2012, 10:10 PM   #7
Moderator - Networking
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,783
OS: Win7 Pro 64bit



Is that cpu temp from a idle stand point?
The reason I ask is because I was working on a system today that had the same issue but its idle temp was sitting around 29C and as soon as a load was put on it, it spiked to over 100C. As soon as I cleaned and applied new heat paste it was good.

I would try apply to new heat paste to the CPU.
Shekka is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 01:53 AM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



run this in the tray and see what your cpu temp is doing when playing

Core Temp - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com

if it is at 29c at idle it should be in the mid 40's gaming



dai is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 07:35 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7 no service pack


Send a message via Skype™ to Bradx954

ran a benchmark for 20 mins core temp went to a max of 41c

going to leave it going for a few hours see if it gets higher but I don't think its the problem considering the shut down point is 70 but I do recall accidently scratching the thermal paste when installing it
Bradx954 is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 08:26 AM   #10
Moderator - Networking
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,783
OS: Win7 Pro 64bit


It won't hurt anything to shut it down and clean and reapply the paste.

I think it is worth trying in your case. Best to start simple and move on from there.
Shekka is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 11:49 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7 no service pack


Send a message via Skype™ to Bradx954

just shut down again and it wasent temperature I was keeping an eye on that
Bradx954 is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 12:04 PM   #12
Moderator - Networking
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,783
OS: Win7 Pro 64bit



Did anything spike or did any of the voltages drop?
How about the video card? Is it overheating?
Shekka is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 01:21 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7 no service pack


Send a message via Skype™ to Bradx954

no everything was normal that was the weird thing is it possibly my outlet? this is an old house
Bradx954 is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 02:02 PM   #14
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradx954 View Post
is it possibly my outlet? this is an old house
That's a possibility. Try using it in another location of the house or a different house.



Tyree is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 03:10 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7 no service pack


Send a message via Skype™ to Bradx954

if its is my outlet is their anyway to test that without just moveing the computer and seeing if it happens again because this problem can sometimes go on for days without happening
Bradx954 is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 03:12 PM   #16
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



You can test the outlet with a multimeter but if all is well at the time that won't prove anything conclusive.



Tyree is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 08:14 PM   #17
Moderator - Networking
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,783
OS: Win7 Pro 64bit



You could put the computer on a UPS. If the power spikes or drops the ups will kick in and keep the poewr at the proper levels.
Shekka is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 08:21 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 30
OS: windows 7 no service pack


Send a message via Skype™ to Bradx954

whats a ups where can I get it?
Bradx954 is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 08:29 PM   #19
Moderator - Networking
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,783
OS: Win7 Pro 64bit


Any computer store like best buy, radio shack, future shop etc should have a UPS. UPS stands for uninterruptible power supply. It keeps the power running (for a short time depending on the size) if the power goes out.
Shekka is offline  
Old 01-27-2012, 08:29 PM   #20
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



uninterrupted power supply

any computer store should carry them



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Re: MY COMPUTER SHUTS OFF RANDOMLY TOO
hi guys please help. i also have the same problem with my computer, it just keeps shutting down randomly, this happens even more often when i watch video or listen to music. i keep getting an error message " VAIO sat. survey has stopped working" and " Internet explorer has stopped working" ...
andydo Laptop Support 6 06-06-2011 01:39 AM
Windows 7 BSOD - Memory management
Been getting BSOD. Sometimes twice a night, sometimes none. This hass been for weeks. Sometimes I get stuck in a reboot loop, sometimes it wants to run Repair, sometimes it wants me to choose safe mode/no safe mode. Pulled out two 1GB sticks of old dell memory yesterday when it was stuck in a...
dj-anakin BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 02-21-2011 03:27 PM
HELP! Computer turns on, and then shuts off randomly.
Hello, A few weeks ago my computer randomly shut off. I was confused at first so I decided to turn it back on to see what would happen. I got to the desktop, and everything was fine for a few minutes, and bam it happened again. I felt the back, and it was hot, so i decided to wait until the...
KonradZuse Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 19 02-15-2011 09:08 AM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts