Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Audio Issue & Question

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Audio Issue & Question within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello. I am just a gamer geek and my income isn't substantial so you guys know more about these things


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-02-2012, 11:10 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ^NY
Posts: 49
OS: Windows 7

My System


Hello.

I am just a gamer geek and my income isn't substantial so you guys know more about these things than I do regardless of the long time I've spent overall so far on the PC.

I recently got a new PC. It was one of the DIY total package combo deals that NewEgg does. It's great but I've been having audio issues. When I'm watching a movie or a TV show on the computer the talking and most things are too quiet, so I turn the volume on my speakers up then when someone punches someone, fires a gun or does something loud like that then suddenly for those things it turns back to normal and scares the crap out of me because it's too loud.
(note: I had my speakers before I got this new PC so I know they work, and I just got them summer speak year)

Now I am using codec packs I've always used in the past, and I also have VLC Player too and both have the same problems. So I am assuming (ignorantly so being that I am no expert) it is something with my motherboard or drivers.

"VIA HD Audio Drivers" came with the latest nvidia drivers I downloaded for my video card (I believe) and were installed all by themselves. I did not install the drivers that came with the DIY package because I do not have a DVD-Rom and my old one doesn't work anymore. (I plan on buying one but not until the end of the year). I'm not sure what to say about that besides ... they seem fine and I've always considered nvidia drivers to be outstandingly better than AMD/ATI. (Just my personal opinion).

So that brings me to my other assumption. The motherboard has two audio connectors to plug in; AC97 and HD. I used AC97 because I was fairly certain that there was nothing in my system that would qualify as HD. The documentation on the motherboard could have obviously been better than it was but I was experienced with PCs enough to go without until recently.

Could the problem with my audio be that I have AC97 and not HD? I'm just assuming that the "VIA HD Audio Drivers" were installed with the GFX Drivers because otherwise I have no idea where the heck they came from unless they were installed in a Windows 7 Update.

I haven't popped open my PC yet to swap out the AC97 cord for the HD. I've never really seen anything like that ... I don't buy new PCs that frequently. So I was hoping one of you techies could give me some assistance on this.

My motherboard is an A55MH by Biostar. If more information besides that is required then please let me know in your reply.
Thank you very much.
halfchaos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2012, 11:27 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ^NY
Posts: 49
OS: Windows 7

My System


Oops, I meant to say "summer last year" not "summer speak year".


Anywho I totally just wasted space up on here unfortunately. I'm ruling it as likely a codec problem because I tried another video just now and it doesn't seem to have a problem. Not sure what to do about it though. I'm using K-Lite Codec Pack right now, but I have always used CCCP up until recently on this new PC. I'll figure out how to swap codecs on my own though. Shouldn't be too difficult. Alternatively I can just use VLC Media Player. VLC uses their own codec and such.

So we'll see. I think I'm going to swap out from the AC97 plug to the HD plug since I am apprently using VIA HD Audio drivers. I'm on onboard audio so ... still not sure what exactly is HD about it.

Thanks anyways. Maybe someone else will search and find this thread as a solution in the future. Hopefully ... Would be nice if I hadn't wasted space up here.
halfchaos is offline  
Old 07-03-2012, 12:11 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ^NY
Posts: 49
OS: Windows 7

My System


Alright. I guess this is a good way to catalog what I've been up to regarding this issue. In my own defense I'm just not used to these new drivers being that I've used AC97 until last month or so when I got my new PC.

I never took the opportunity to check out the "VIA HD Audio Deck" on the hidden icons section of the taskbar until now. There is a setting in there called "Loudness Equalization" that seems to fix my problem. Not sure why it isn't enabled by default but now it is.

Again I am sorry for wasting space here.
halfchaos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Xp slow boot after splash screen
After the Windows Xp splash screen I get about 30 to 40 seconds of blackness (could be more) before the cursor appears. When I start in Safe Mode it takes a long time to load mup.sys but that could just be because it's the last one to load. Here's by most recent ntbtlog.txt: Service...
Sulla Windows XP Support 5 06-17-2013 10:29 AM
Virus: Network card, USB, Audio
Hello, It seems like I've run into quite the virus lately and was hoping that someone could help me out. While everything was working fine I tried to plug in a USB mouse and had no success. When I went to plug it in nothing popped up that it was recognized, so I decided to restart my laptop,...
Ajjr108 Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 11-04-2011 01:43 PM
Portal 2 Black Screen issue
Hey guys, first post here. I bought myself Portal 2 yesterday on Steam, and instantly I'm getting the black screen of death issue. I've tried tones of things to get rid of it, but none have worked completely. Most just prolong my gaming time untill the black screen attacks me once again. So I have...
Oxcide PC Gaming Support 24 08-10-2011 10:28 AM
Graphics issue.. Drivers? Idk..
Alright.. I'm not entirely sure how to explain the issue.. but here it goes. I try to load the MMORPG, Dark Age of Camelot. While it is loading.. (even on the menu/character select screen), the graphics are cramped into the top 1/3 section of my screen and are terribly distorted. I can see...
Thepink PC Gaming Support 15 07-04-2011 10:16 AM
Missing video drivers
Right my friend was playing Sims 3 this morning and it said there was an update, so he updated and then everything just went weird, seems like the graphics card driver was uninstalled and he could play sims 3 before but after the update it said he couldn't. I tried to find the graphics card name...
Nekoh Driver Support 10 03-26-2011 04:44 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts