Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Asus P5K-VM fails to boot

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Asus P5K-VM fails to boot within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok here we go. This is a newer build, used only for light office tasks and email/web browsing. Initial construction


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-21-2008, 06:09 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
OS:



Ok here we go. This is a newer build, used only for light office tasks and email/web browsing. Initial construction was about a month ago. The machine ran fine for 2 weeks or so then the HDD reported a SMART failure and required replacement. I loaded windows (XP SP2) installed board drivers, installed AVG FRee, MS Office 2003, Acrobat Reader .. all ran fine ... on MY bench. Took the unit to the customers place (my Father-in-law) connected it to his SOYO 15" LCD monitor and no joy. It posted, started to load the OS then I got the message "out of range" VGA 1600x1200
hsync 75.5mhz vsync 59.9 mhz (as close as I can remember) I brought the unit back to my bench, connected it to my new VIEWSONIC VG2230wm LCD monitor, and it posted, but then crashed to "failed overclock" error. I managed to get it to boot to safe mode only to have it crash again. I have re-formatted the HDD again and re-installed XP SP2. I am curious though about a number of things.

1) Is it possible that the origional HDD was fried by a crappy PSU?
2) Is it further possible that the crappy PSU is hampered even more by a poor/cheap power bar?
3) Is it even further possible that the first 2 items might be exaggerated by weak or fluctuating power from the apartment building in which the customer lives?

system specs as follows:
Asus p5k-VM with core2 duo E6550 2.33GHz proc.
Seagate 320 GB 7200rpm SATA II HDD
2 Gb crucial balistix pc2-6400
LG SuperMulti DVDRW 20x SATA
ANTEC NSK3480 case with mATX380W PSU
I have an ANTEC TPII-430 spare that I can throw into this build.
What do you think? Try to swap out the PSU or just return the MOBO and get something different?
oldandbroken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-21-2008, 06:43 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
blackduck30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wollongong/Australia
Posts: 4,267
OS: XP pro SP3/Vista Ultimate

My System


Have you try'd resetting the cmos?

A 380W PSU is under powering the unit, I am not sure if you are using onboard video or a PCI-E card but if using a card your power supply will require at least 26amps on the 12v rails

You should be able to overcome the out of range by lowering the frequency to 60Hz and lowering the resolution. I dare say it had the resolution set from your initial buildup and was too much for the 15"
blackduck30 is offline  
Old 04-21-2008, 09:03 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
OS:



Quote:
Originally Posted by blackduck30 View Post
Have you try'd resetting the cmos?

A 380W PSU is under powering the unit, I am not sure if you are using onboard video or a PCI-E card but if using a card your power supply will require at least 26amps on the 12v rails

You should be able to overcome the out of range by lowering the frequency to 60Hz and lowering the resolution. I dare say it had the resolution set from your initial buildup and was too much for the 15"
Thank you for the help, Yeah I tried resetting the cmos but that didn't help any.

However, after going through a bunch of other posts on PSU problems and after reading this reply to my post I did replace the 380w PSU with the larger one. So far so good. I get it to post, I get it to load XP, I even managed to install the board drivers etc. All this with nary a crash or a murmer from the unit. Now if I could just get it to recognize the 2nd HDD... LOL TY for the great advice.
oldandbroken is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts