Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] again cpu problems

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] again cpu problems within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi,i still use my q6600.i got a new tower+cooler now but i still have problems with the temperature.the cooler is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2011, 05:16 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 58
OS: win7



hi,i still use my q6600.i got a new tower+cooler now but i still have problems with the temperature.the cooler is named artic cooling freezer 7 pro rev.2...
with the original intel cooler i had temperatures like 70-75..now i have 70-73..the guy in the pc shop told me this cooler would be much better than the 1 i used before.i payd 20euros for it,i thought thats cheap for a good cooler but he said the temperatures will be much better now...i have cleared the old heatsink paste and now i use the paste that was applied on the cooler already.
i dont know whats wrong with my pc,or is this cooler just bad?are there other options why its getting so hot?
thx for helping and sorry for bad english :)
gummibaum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2011, 09:02 PM   #2
MPR
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,232
OS: Win 8.1



"i have cleared the old heatsink paste and now i use the paste that was applied on the cooler already"

The purpose of thermal compound it to fill microscopic pits and valleys between the heatsink and CPU. Too much thermal compound acts as an insulator. Clean both the CPU and heatsink with a coffee filter or lint-free cloth moistened in either 90% alcohol or, better, Xylene (Goof Off works or you can buy a CPU cleaning kit for a few dollars). Now, apply the thermal compound as instructed by the manufacturer. Just about any good brand works. Here are the instructions for Arctic Silver 5:

Arctic Silver, Inc. - Intel® Application Methods
MPR is offline  
Old 09-15-2011, 01:27 AM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
model
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them



dai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-15-2011, 07:27 AM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Using the pre-applied thermal pad included with the new HSF shouldn't be a problem.
Knowing what we're working, as dia asked, would be helpful.



Tyree is offline  
Old 09-15-2011, 11:46 AM   #5
MPR
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,232
OS: Win 8.1



When I first read the OP's post I was concerned that he was using both the thermal pad and thermal compound.

70 C is way too high if this is a BIOS reading upon start-up but is not abnormal for the CPU in question when under full load. As the techs here have said, it would be nice to know your system's specs and where and when the temperature readings were obtained.

If you are seeing only a slight benefit after installing an aftermarket cooler, remember that many thermal compounds need time to cure before they reach maximum efficiency. It usually takes several heating and cooling cycles for the tiny heat-conductive particles to migrate and pack into the surface imperfections.

Proper thermal compound application and heat sink mounting technique is a must too; if you apply your thermal compound or mount your heat sink improperly you can trap air bubbles between the heat sink and CPU. At least one reviewer noted problems in thermal compound distribution that resulted from the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev 2's slightly concave base.
MPR is offline  
Old 09-15-2011, 12:05 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 58
OS: win7



hey,so much answers huh!
so first my spec here:
q6600/g0 stepping) not overclocked
mainboard is an old msi p35neo
ram is 4gb g.e.i.l dual channel (its ddr3 i think?!)
graphic is gainward 260gtx gs
psu is an corsair with 950watt

im gonna check the bios now for the temperature and voltage(i think you mean the voltage for the cpu)
gummibaum is offline  
Old 09-15-2011, 12:17 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Vista 32bit



you sure the cooler is properly seated and snug in place? That cooler should drop temps 15-20* if installed correctly. How did you remove the old paste? 90% rubbing alcohol is recommended
scheibler is offline  
Old 09-15-2011, 12:22 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 58
OS: win7



oh erm,i just used a hanky lol....
but i installed 2 120mm tower cooler today,and now in idle i have 40-45° and while playing(dead island) around 60-64°
gummibaum is offline  
Old 09-15-2011, 03:13 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 730
OS: Windows 2000



Heh. That's like the ThermalRight dual-tower I used when OC'ing my bro's Q6600 to 3.8GHz a few years back. The Freezer 7 is supposed to be pretty darned good in comparison, though. It must not have been clamped down enough or something like that. Also, how's the airflow through your case itself? Having the correct flow can mean a BIG difference in temps.
Troy_Jollimore is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 07:36 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 58
OS: win7



hey,my english is not good.i understand your question but its hard to answer..^^
ill try it with the google translator: I have a cooler mounted on the rear tower. this blows directly onto the cooling fins of the cpu cooler. the other sits on the side of the tower and pulls the air out.i wanted to buy a third and put it in the front of the tower. how do I do it right?
gummibaum is offline  
Old 09-17-2011, 08:24 AM   #11
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



CPU fan should be blowing to the "rear" of the case-Rear mounted fans blowing "out" of the case- Front mounted fans "into" the case-IMO, side mount fans are pretty much worthless but if they are used they should be blowing "into" the case.



Tyree is offline  
Old 09-18-2011, 05:17 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 58
OS: win7



ok im gonna try it.i will put the side mounted to the front and see if i get better temps so.thx so far,i will post again tomorrow^^
gummibaum is offline  
Old 09-19-2011, 06:41 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 730
OS: Windows 2000



Yes, you want the airflow moving from the front to the back. In the front of the case, over the CPU fins and other parts, and out the back. I don't know if you meant you had two fans on the CPU fins or not. You don't really need a third, in that case.

Side-mounted case fans are funny. I initially set up my brother's to breathe air in, and exhaust it out the back and top. He told me later he changed them to exhaust as well, and he got cooler temperatures. You have to experiment to find what works.
Troy_Jollimore is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 05:16 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 58
OS: win7



ha already forgot the thread...thx to everyone.i have now 2 coolers in front and in the back.works fine now^^
gummibaum is offline  
Old 09-27-2011, 08:01 PM   #15
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



glad you have it sorted



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD on hibernation and restart
Hello! Good morning! I am getting a BSOD whenever I click on hibernate on my system, it goes to dark blue screen and hangs, it happens 6 out 10 times. Request your help on solving this issue. I have uploaded the output of BSOD tool and perfmon report to the skydrive: ...
anupkum BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 09-18-2011 11:51 AM
BSOD Vista Hall.dll
For About the last month my computer had been giving me BSOD. Mainly caused by the Hall.Dll as you can see in the screenshot of the BlueScreenViewer, I also included all the files as instructed in ''jcgriff2 BSOD Posting Instructions Windows 7 - Vista''. I hope someone can help me! Greetz.
LobeMusic BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 08-25-2011 07:49 AM
freeze and cpu usage problems
Hello , some times my laptop (vista) get crashed when iam playing WOW , and when i try to open windows task manager in hope to close and restart the game, well it take like 5 min to do that...and when it happen i see that CPU Usage is 98%-100% and WOW is taking most of it , some times this fix the...
Xemnos PC Gaming Support 1 01-27-2011 10:18 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts