Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

[SOLVED] Abit AV8 board

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Abit AV8 board within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. In the process of downloading Norton 2008 the computer was inadvertantly shut off during GoBack's deleting of files. Now I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-06-2007, 02:59 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
OS:


Cry

In the process of downloading Norton 2008 the computer was inadvertantly shut off during GoBack's deleting of files. Now I cannot get the computer to boot nor can I access the BIOS. Ugh! Also, I have a power on problem the board shows the following codes: 8.3., 9.C., and 9.F.
Chad Stanford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-06-2007, 03:40 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13,828
OS:



What model computer do you have/what are the specs?
TheMatt is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 03:55 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
OS:



MB Abit AV8 AMD Athlon 2.182 MHz, 2 GIG mem, 3 SCSI HDs
Chad Stanford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-06-2007, 04:02 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13,828
OS:



What are the exact symptoms you experience when you turn on the computer. Be specific.
TheMatt is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 04:14 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
OS:



After depressing the Start button there is a momentary flicker of the CD drive and pilot light on the front panel then an audible beep and silence. While watching the startup process I oberve than the CPU fan starts for a moment and the MB codes mentioned.
Chad Stanford is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 04:23 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13,828
OS:



I would start by swapping out the RAM. First re-seat each stick. Then, try running with one stick, then the other.
TheMatt is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 04:45 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
OS:



Tried that and no luck. Forgot to mention, it makes two beeps.
Chad Stanford is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 04:49 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



No way you can boot to safe mode??? Quite possibly memory, did you check your manual for the correct slot for only 1 stick of memory?
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 05:14 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
OS:



Actually, I seem to have two problems. One is the matter of starting the computer at all. The second is when I could previously start it I could get the screen that allowed for boot options, such as safe mode but using the mouse or key it could not be selected. And, yes, I installed each stick of memory in DIMM 1 and called for in the manual. The first issue was an ongoing problem for quite some time. Sometimes it would start with one or a couple of depressions of the start button then on others it required many to finally get it to "take".
Chad Stanford is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 05:55 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Can you get in to the Bios setup menu?
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 06:11 PM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
OS:



No, I cannot get the thing to run. It makes a couple of beeps, the fan on the cpu spins momentarily, I get a series of codes on the MB; 8.3., 9.C., and 9.F. and all's quiet. Grrrr! I don't think the issues are linked. The startup issue started first quite some time ago (it's my wife's computer and she's been dealing wilth it). The matter of actually allowing me to get into the Bios setup is new after she tried to download the 2008 Norton stuff and the removal of some GoBack was interrupted.
Chad Stanford is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 06:38 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Try clearing the cmos.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 06:45 PM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
OS:



Are you speaking of the cmos battery?
Chad Stanford is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 06:45 PM   #14
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13,828
OS:



In the award BIOS, any code other than one long beep and then two short beeps usually indicates a problem with the RAM. If you only have one stick, see if you can obtain another stick. The on-screen error codes could be telling the location of the of the error (bank, column, row, etc.) as well.

To clear the CMOS, either set the Clr_CMOS jumper to pins 2 & 3 for a few seconds, then set it back. You can also (at the same time is sometimes necessary) remove the CMOS battery for 20 mins.
TheMatt is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 06:53 PM   #15
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
OS:



I have a CMOS clearing header which is set to Normal (Default) and the other setting is Clear CMOS. Could this be of any use?
Chad Stanford is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 07:03 PM   #16
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13,828
OS:



Move the jumper block to Clear CMOS for a few seconds and then back.

Do you have other memory you can test?
TheMatt is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 07:13 PM   #17
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
OS:



I moved the jumper to the clear position for about fifteen seconds then replaced on normal. No change.

I have only the two sticks of DIMM and I've removed both of them replaced each in the first slot with no luck.
Chad Stanford is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 07:15 PM   #18
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 13,828
OS:



Have you tried moving one to the second slot to see if you got a different POST Code?
TheMatt is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 07:26 PM   #19
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
OS:



Took the first stick out and left the second in. Got the same code series.
Chad Stanford is offline  
Old 10-06-2007, 08:05 PM   #20
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 13
OS:



I noticed in my manual that to properly empty the CMOS the jumper should be left off for one minute. I also removed the power plugs from the MB and removed the battery. I still get the same POST codes. Ugh! What next?
Chad Stanford is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts