Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

sm bus controller

This is a discussion on sm bus controller within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys. Same problem here. Now let me give you a detailed history of my efforts. Up above, I have


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2009, 10:11 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
OS:


Question

Hey guys. Same problem here. Now let me give you a detailed history of my efforts.
Up above, I have the Compaq board with the ATI/AMD chipset.
I cannot boot into normal windows, I can only boot into safe mode with networking. I'm not sure why. I can find no answers for that, but it's a significant symptom and might help with diagnosis.
First: I tried to find drivers. A logical step. I eventually learned the exact specs of the board and went on a hunt for drivers. I found some driver packs, and tried to install them. Boy was THAT fun. I had to try four or five different methods of getting them to install because Windows XP is so security conscious of your computer... you know, assuming no one is remotely modifying your registry. I had to use the windows installer, and then trick it into working in safe mode (Wasn't as easy as it should have been) and THEN try installing the driver packs... they didn't even detect the hardware.
I tried fighting through ATI and AMD driver files, and I have a few of them, but I can't get Windows to recognize them, and I'm tired of trying to figure out something that is easily over my tech head.
If someone has a solution, please tell me. And please tell me in simple, easy, idiot-speak. I'm tired, brain fried, and I'm going to start drinking soon.
DrunkPagan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2009, 11:12 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 4,586
OS: XP Pro SP3, MCE 2005 sp3, Vista Ultimate SP2, Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


Hello and Welcome to TSF,

make and model of pc?

IF, built one:
M/B
CPU
video card (optional, if you added one in pc)
sound card (optional, if you added one in pc)
Riskyone101 is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 08:32 AM   #3
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeastern CT, USA
Posts: 7,483
OS: Win7



In general (and IME), when you've got an SMB Bus Controller issue, it's either with an Intel SMB Bus (that's in the chipset drivers) - or it's actually a media card reader (usually Ricoh, but I recall seeing another one).

Locate the device in Device Manager
Right click on it and select Properties
Then select the Details tab
Then select Hardware ID in the dropdown box.
Get the 4 characters immedately after the VEN_, and the 4 characters immediately after the DEV_
Either look them up at https://www.pcidatabase.com, or post them here for us to look them up.
If the Hardware ID says something other than VEN_ and DEV_, read the next 2 sentences...

VID_ and PID_ are used for USB devices, and I use this link for them: https://www.linux-usb.org/usb.ids
ACPI devices are different and require that you post the entire Hardware ID here.
usasma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-18-2009, 10:33 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



Someone deleted my post from yesterday. I don't know why.

Anyway, same issue. sm bus controller not found. Windows will only boot into safe mode with networking. I tried installing driver packs, but they could not detect the hardware. I've got the ATI/AMD chipset of this particular model (specs above)
If anyone has any ideas, I'm fresh out. Please help!
DrunkPagan is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 10:39 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



Your post from yesterday is here:

https://www.techsupportforum.com/
Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 12:26 PM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Southeastern CT, USA
Posts: 7,483
OS: Win7



FWIW - I posted over there with some suggestions.
usasma is offline  
Old 06-18-2009, 12:55 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,437
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

Threads merged...
TriggerFinger is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 09:39 AM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
OS:



Been a hectic 2 weeks. Had lots of non-computer stuff to deal with.

Okay, I looked up the device from the info in device manager per usasma's suggestion. This is the info I got.

Ven_1002 Dev_4372

Chip Number: x200
Chip Description: ATI SMBus
Notes: Nhaas1nloadIndex?softwareitem=pv-36944-1&lc=en&cc=us&lang=en

When I go to look it up on the website, it tells me to download the Catalyst Display Driver, which I already HAD on the computer's HD in the first place.
I thought the 'Notes' line might be some kind of web address, but I can't find where to plug it in.
In essence, I'm back to square one. I know what driver I need for it, I know what chipset it is, but I can't FIND it or, if I can, I can't get it to install. And even when I think I have installed it, the computer doesn't recognize it.
It's like trying to teach French to a Monkey.
DrunkPagan is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 10:22 AM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,258
OS: XP, Win 7



What model is this compaq? H ave you look on the HP support site for drivers?
Old Rich is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 12:36 PM   #10
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 5,760
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

My System


Go here https://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/p...n&dlc=en&cc=us and select what model is yours and the driver should be there. It's the best I can do for you untill you provide the model number.
Amd_Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts