Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

Ryzen 5 3600

This is a discussion on Ryzen 5 3600 within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. So, I just recently did a hardware upgrade on my system to get a new processor and RAM for my


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By SpareChange
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2019, 09:28 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 158
OS: Windows 10 64-bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to NFSRacer

So, I just recently did a hardware upgrade on my system to get a new processor and RAM for my system. As of recent, my processor that I got, a brand new Ryzen 5 3600, has been getting caught running at over 4GHz based on what Task Manager's performance tab shows, and it's got me extremely confused as to why it's showing that when I never enabled the overclocking in the BIOS. Is there any reason for this? Or does MSI have that enabled by default?

System specs are:
MSI MPG X570 Gaming Edge Wifi motherboard
Ryzen 5 3600
Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling unit
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB 3000MHz DDR4 RAM
Corsair CX750M PSU
GTX 1070 Founders Edition GPU

I really am not certain if this is enabled by default, but I am going to be looking through the manual for the third time to check about that at the very least shortly after I post this.
NFSRacer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-03-2019, 02:04 AM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,008
OS: Win7



What bios version are you running?

MSI lists 7C37V11 as the compatible bios> https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/supp...FI#support-cpu
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 02:38 AM   #3
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,322
OS: Windows 10 Pro



That CPU has a base clock of 3.6mhz and a boost clock of 4.2mhz
__________________
bassfisher6522 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-03-2019, 08:23 AM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 214
OS:

My System


That's right the R5 3600 auto-boosts to between 4.0 ghz to around 4.125. Mine boosts to 4.192 ghz. Depends on the motherboard and the cooling used. So it's automatic much like the boost of an Intel I7. Turbo Boost is enabled by default on all AMD A320/B350/B450/X470/X570 boards, and that's exactly what you want so you're good nothing to worry about.
bassfisher6522 likes this.
SpareChange is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 11:53 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 158
OS: Windows 10 64-bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to NFSRacer

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpareChange View Post
That's right the R5 3600 auto-boosts to between 4.0 ghz to around 4.125. Mine boosts to 4.192 ghz. Depends on the motherboard and the cooling used. So it's automatic much like the boost of an Intel I7. Turbo Boost is enabled by default on all AMD A320/B350/B450/X470/X570 boards, and that's exactly what you want so you're good nothing to worry about.
Ah, cool! That does at least help me out, as I do have a Corsair H60 cooling unit, so I'm having a bit of an odd issue with the unit's fans vs what the motherboard has. It's still somewhat related to the processor, but still...

The issue is: The motherboard has a CPU_FAN1 slot, and a PUMP_FAN1 slot as well. The set up I had was the radiator fan I have connected to the Pump Fan slot, and the connector for the CPU in the CPU fan slot. Is this right? Because I feel like I have it backwards. It isn't hampering performance, but I'd like to prevent an issue before it happens.
NFSRacer is offline  
Old 11-03-2019, 11:54 AM   #6
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 214
OS:

My System


You have it right.
SpareChange is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts