Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Random freezes and more CPU/PSU

This is a discussion on Random freezes and more CPU/PSU within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I'm new here and i need some help with the following issue: My new homebuilt computer has been having


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2014, 08:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 8.1 x64



Hi, I'm new here and i need some help with the following issue:

My new homebuilt computer has been having all these random problems: freezes / black screens with no signal / freezes black screen / freeze + black screen + nVidia driver recovered message / freeze + random colors shifting in the second monitor / blue screen DPC Watchdog violation (stuck at 0% complete)...

All this happens randomly, it can work just fine for a couple of days and then crash four times the same day. This has happened in every kind of situation: gaming / watching youtube videos / idling / chating on skype / chating on steam / attempting to install windows 7 from USB / while restarting computer/ while copying a music cd...
If audio is playing it won't loop as other people have experienced

I have tried the following:
-Reinstalling and updating drivers
-Installing windows 7
-Installing Ubuntu 12.04
-Updating bios
-Using new HDD
-Using different ram and switching the slots
-Using onboard gpu
-Replacing the motherboard
-Trying the psu in another computer for a couple of days

MY PC:
i5 4670k 3,4GHz
Gigabyte GTX 780 Ti Windforce
Msi z87-gd65 Gaming
8GB 1866 Kingston HyperX Beast
Corsair RM650
WD Green 500gb
Seagate barracuda 1Tb

With that information can i think that the CPU is bad? Will replacing the cpu fix the problems?

Thank you very much in advance
pablodemostoles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-05-2014, 08:46 AM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



CPU's are pretty bullet proof.
The Hyper X RAM would be my first concern. Is the 8GB 1x8 or 2x4 and what are the specs? What other RAM was tried? What other MMobo (Brand & Model) was tried?
Do you experience the same problem using one monitor at a time?
Check the Voltages in the Bios. Your PSU is not one we recommend but, being new, it should be sufficient if it working as it should.



Tyree is offline  
Old 03-05-2014, 10:48 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 8.1 x64



My RAM is Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3 1866 PC3-14900 8GB 2X4GB CL9. The voltage is 1.65 with XMP profile. I tried disabling the XMP and no results. The RAM passed memtest86 perfectly for more than 8 hours and it was also put in other computer to double check. I also tried them individually and in different slot combination.

The other RAM tried was Corsair Vengeance XMP PC3-12800 DDR3 1600 8GB 2x4GB CL9 and it made no difference.

The other motherboard is an identical one (it's C2 revision), I sent an RMA and I got it replaced.

It freezes with one or multiple monitors, no difference.

The motherboard voltages are apparently fine, but the CPU voltage is suspicious in every program because under full load (prime95) 3,4GHz without auto boost activated uses an average of 1.100v

I think the PSU is enough for my system requirements and it has been installed in other computer for 3 days working fine. Maybe it wasn't enough time.
pablodemostoles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-06-2014, 12:19 PM   #4
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



600W is the minimum for a GTX780 so your PSU should be OK for now.
If you ran MemTest on one stick at a time for at least 7 passes, the RAM is OK.
Trying other RAM would also eliminate the RAM.
Check the Temps & Voltages in the Bios then check with with Monition after ding some demanding apps/games: HWMonitor CPUID - System & hardware benchmark, monitoring, reporting



Tyree is offline  
Old 03-06-2014, 12:33 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 8.1 x64



The temperatures are fine, I have an Enermax ets-t40 installed and temperatures are below 50c. The motherboard northbridge and southbridge heatsinks aren't hot and the psu temperature is fine too.

I can play for hours in maximum settings without a problem. I also tried furmark, prime 95 and lots of demanding games. It's just random, it can be running fine for days or it can freeze twice a day.

Will a different PSU narrow the problem?

Thank you
pablodemostoles is offline  
Old 03-06-2014, 12:56 PM   #6
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Perhaps the Temps are OK, though I would still recommend checking them as posted.
Have you checked the Voltages?
As noted, your PSU "should" be sufficient but testing with a good quality 600W minimum wouldn't hurt just to be certain.



Tyree is offline  
Old 03-07-2014, 06:22 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 8.1 x64



Ok thank you i will post the voltages, the temperatures and I will try another psu. I will be back soon
pablodemostoles is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 12:17 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 8.1 x64



These are the voltages and temperatures when idle and after 1 hour maximum heat and power consumption test



pablodemostoles is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 10:17 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 8.1 x64



Sorry, I forgot to mention that sometimes when the freeze occurs some kind of horizontal small lines appear and then the computer freezes completely, very similar to tearing.
pablodemostoles is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 01:50 PM   #10
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



The Temps & Voltages shown are good. Is the RAM running the Mobo's default speed or have you OC'd it to reach it's rated speed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pablodemostoles View Post
sometimes when the freeze occurs some kind of horizontal small lines appear and then the computer freezes completely, very similar to tearing.
Possibly a failing/damaged GPU or the PSU can't supply sufficient power?
Try testing the GPU in another PC.



Tyree is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 03:49 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 8.1 x64



That happened when using the integrated gpu, not the 780ti.

I have the XMP profile activated to reach 1866MHz with 1.65v

Assuming the RAM, HDD, Motherboard and the GPU are fine, what is more likely to cause all the different kind of issues?
pablodemostoles is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 04:16 PM   #12
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Set the RAM to Default in the Bios and see if it helps.



Tyree is offline  
Old 03-09-2014, 04:08 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 8.1 x64



It has just frozen in default too
pablodemostoles is offline  
Old 03-09-2014, 01:16 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 8.1 x64



I also think that the freezes are more likely to happen with the 780ti installed. Would that mean that the psu is bad?

I will trade psu with a friend of mine soon
pablodemostoles is offline  
Old 03-09-2014, 02:46 PM   #15
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,515
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


It almost has to be the psu I think.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 03-09-2014, 03:14 PM   #16
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



If a substituted PSU resolves the problem, your Corsair has a 5 yr. warranty.



Tyree is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 04:30 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 8.1 x64



This is the strangest problem ever: from friday the 14th of March to friday the 4th of April the computer has been running fine with a borrowed 600w HP psu (without the 780 ti installed) and today a NEW RM650 arrived and it freezes again (with the 780 ti installed).

A new thing is that when the computer freezes the led on the steelseries mouse starts blinking and then turs off. When i turn on the computer again the steelseries sensei is the only peripheral that doesn't work unless i reconnect it.
pablodemostoles is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 05:05 AM   #18
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,515
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Sounds very much like the problem is the 780 ti video card.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 06:21 AM   #19
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich-M View Post
Sounds very much like the problem is the 780 ti video card.
The GPU would seem to be a likely candidate. Try it in another PC.



Tyree is offline  
Old 04-07-2014, 09:40 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
OS: Windows 8.1 x64



Also I wanted to add that when the freezes occur with the new psu the mouse leds blink randomly and then the mouse turns off. When i reset it doesn't move unless i replug it

When i boot the computer again i get the "start windows in safe mode/normally...etc" screen. I didn't get this screen before.

I'm trying the computer without the 780ti and i will try it on other computer
pablodemostoles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts