Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Processor or Memory?

This is a discussion on Processor or Memory? within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Just wondering I can't increase compiling time with memory. I have 512 right now. Most of you will say weak,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-09-2005, 10:34 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 39
OS:



Just wondering I can't increase compiling time with memory. I have 512 right now. Most of you will say weak, noob, or why are you using a 20 year old computer. w/e. Observing task manager I rarlerly see my memory spike and when it does it lasts <1ms. So i dont really think i need more than my 512, what do you people think?
thanks
DrepMagnus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-10-2005, 03:26 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 26,228
OS: Win7-64, BunsenLabs

My System

What kind of RAM are you using, and what CPU? Check in your motherboard manual to see if it can handle higher quality RAM.

This link might be of some help https://forum.java.sun.com/thread.jsp...44251&tstart=0
koala is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 05:18 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6,168
OS:


greetings
512 is plenty. you have a working, useful computer that fits your needs.
whodat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-10-2005, 09:28 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,154
OS:


i agree with whodatknocking. first of all if you are using your computer for ms office apps and just web surfing then 512megs of ram is more than enough for you.

but if you are using your computer for lets say mutimedia applications such as maya or adobe products then i recommend more than 1gig of ram in your system for optimum performance. what is the speed of your ram? are you running DDR ram?
keymaker is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 03:54 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 39
OS:


right now i have a pretty basic setup with 3200 ddr and a p4 with ht but im feeling it works fine, just wondering if memory would change vs compile times. thanks for the quick replies all
DrepMagnus is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 04:10 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 18,118
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus
RAM would have a negligible effect unless your programs are large and complex. Other than that I'd say you have an excellent setup for what you're doing.
ebackhus is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 06:10 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 39
OS:


cool, thank you all for saving my money. I only have one friend that is into computers at a lower lvl than gaming but he is still 90% gamer so he would just say buy the 2 gigs, it will suck but its the best you can get for that crappy mb. but w/e im thank you all for the help
DrepMagnus is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 06:24 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
ebackhus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 18,118
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

My System

Send a message via ICQ to ebackhus Send a message via AIM to ebackhus Send a message via MSN to ebackhus Send a message via Yahoo to ebackhus Send a message via Skype™ to ebackhus
I do some gaming on my main PC, but the larger part of my work is 2D and 3D design. 1GB is barely enough at times and I've brought my computer to almost a complete halt when rendering complex scenes and objects. Dual core is looking quite inviting now.
ebackhus is offline  
Old 08-10-2005, 06:37 PM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 39
OS:


almost any game will bring my computer to a halt. I have a $130 radeon XD I was gonna buy a new graphics card but im used to slower rending and such. It's pretty funny cause when i used to play games it looked awesome to me then my friend would come over be like, omg i can handle this, why is it lagging so much. you need to buy a new graphics card you need more memory. buy an amd 64 like mine it will kick you processors ***. Personally i like staying with a slower processor because it keeps me outta the competition, especially since i cant offord to compete
DrepMagnus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts