Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Powersupply change... Is this connection necessary?-The new powersupply hasn't got it

This is a discussion on Powersupply change... Is this connection necessary?-The new powersupply hasn't got it within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a buddy of mine's computer here. Turns out the power supply was dead. The power connections for the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-23-2007, 09:55 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
OS: xp



I have a buddy of mine's computer here.

Turns out the power supply was dead.

The power connections for the hard drive were those sata connections so I bought the adapters to make it work with the standard connections.

Anyway, the old power supply has one extra power supply wire that has two wires on it. A blue and black one. This wire was plugged into the motherboard. The new powersupply does not have this extra wire on it.

The mother board is an ASUS PSL02.

This blue and black wire plugged into the motherboard and the connection is labelled "CHA FAN2". I figure this is power for some kind of fan? (go figure).

Anyway, I hooked up the new power supply obviously leaving the CHA FAN2 disconnected. I turned on the computer and it seems to be running just fine. All three fans are running fine. (PROCESSOR, CPU & POWER SUPPLY).

Do you think this anything I should concern myself with?

thanks
csrMark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2007, 10:03 AM   #2
I helped the forums.
 
mattlock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4,339
OS: XP SP2, Win 7 Beta, Win 7 RC

My System


Hello Mark.

Your thoughts are dead on. That connection was for the PSU fan. You have nothing to wory about.
mattlock is offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 10:36 AM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



i think it is the sensor for the fan speed and or temp.



dai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-23-2007, 11:10 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by mattlock138 View Post
Hello Mark.

Your thoughts are dead on. That connection was for the PSU fan. You have nothing to wory about.

THANK YOU FOR THE QUICK REPLY...
csrMark is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts