Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

POST freezes at 50

This is a discussion on POST freezes at 50 within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have the same exact problem, but it deosnt disply my ram like his does. My specs are : VNF4


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-07-2005, 05:54 PM   #1
Tum
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
OS:


I have the same exact problem, but it deosnt disply my ram like his does.

My specs are :
VNF4 Ultra Chaintech Motherboard
AMD 64 3000+ Processor
1 gig of DDR RAM
AGI 400W 24pin Powere Supply
Windows XP with SP2
Tum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2005, 06:28 PM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


when you have a problem please start your own thread
i think if you put in a quality 550w power supply your problem will disappear
check your power requirements here
https://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/
based on a quality supply and add 30% to the result
from the purchase price of your supply approx $40 it is generic,recommend antec ,enamax ect. approx. $100 for a quality supply,you only get what you pay for with power supplies and generic ones you may just as well put a match to the cash you pay for them.
see if you can borrow one to check



dai is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 06:37 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,154
OS:


like dai said, please start your own thread if you have a problem. now on to your problem. i recommend testing another spare power supply on your computer. if you dont have a spare, then just go to your local computer store and purchase a good quality power supply such as antec or enermax.

test it on your system and if your problem disappears, its the power supply. also you can try taking out all of the computer components out of the case and only reseat the power supply, motherboard, cpu, ram, and videocard. turn on your computer and see if your computer still freezes.
keymaker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-07-2005, 07:44 PM   #4
Tum
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
OS:



These are my pc specs:
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ processor
Chaintech VNF4 Ultra motherboard socket 939 with Award BIOS v6.00PG
PCI-X 128MB GeForce4 vid card
1 gig 3200 DDR RAM
AGI 400W 24pin Power Supply
Windows XP with SP2


My computer is freezing up at POST code 50. I've doubled check to make sure everything is connected tightly and correctly. I've also tested the harddrive, RAM, and powersupply succesfully. I looked up the code and saw that code 50 was "Display CPU type and speed". This makes sense since the screen that freezes up tells me the processor and speed. The next POST code that comes after 50 is 51=(Initialize EISA board). Does this mean my board is failing? What could be causing this problem?

Thanks in advance,
Tum
Tum is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 09:18 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Barry_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 906
OS: Win 7

My System

Just a shot here.

Do you have any USB devices connected, card readers etc?

Is there anything that you can think of that you changed or installed just before this started happening?
Barry_R is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 10:58 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,154
OS:


you can try taking out the cpu and reseating it and see if that helps. also you can try clearing the cmos and taking out the motherboard battery for about 20min. then put the motherboard battery back and put the cmos jumper to its original state.

turn on the computer and see if that helps fix your problem. oh yeah, refer to your motherboard manual for the cmos jumper location.
keymaker is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 09:53 AM   #7
Tum
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
OS:


About reseating the cpu, I've never done that before. I am aware that I need to clean it and put that heat stuff onto it before putting the cpu back in its socket, but I'm not sure how. Any tips on how to do that? Also, I put the jumpers to reset mode for the cmos and took out the battery. Do I just leave this like this with the computer turned off or should I turn on the computer and waite ~20 minutes?
Tum is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 09:55 AM   #8
Tum
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
OS:


I just wanted to clearify that I didn't mean to put the heat paste onto the cpu...After posting I went back to look at it and it seems like that's what I was saying. I basically need to know how to clean the heat sink thing before putting more paste on it before setting it on top of the cpu.
Tum is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 09:56 AM   #9
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6,168
OS:


please have your computer unplugged before you pull a battery or move a jumper. wait 20 min then replace the battery, or use the jumper and wait 1 minute.

artic 5 info
whodat is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 05:46 PM   #10
Tum
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
OS:


I tried the battery and resetting the jumper thing and that didn't help. Can anyone give me exact details on how to clean the cpu and heat sink? I have never done this before and don't want to mess up the processor.
Tum is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:03 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Barry_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 906
OS: Win 7

My System

whosdat posted a link to arctic silver's web site, it shows you how to prepare the heatsink and CPU for new thermal paste. The only thing you have to do it to remove the heatsink and have the supplies ready then follow the instructions from the web site.
Barry_R is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts