Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Please help! No startup after power failure!

This is a discussion on Please help! No startup after power failure! within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. After a power failure last night, my computer won't start up. It will turn on and I can hear various


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-29-2008, 06:22 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
OS:



After a power failure last night, my computer won't start up. It will turn on and I can hear various components starting up (i.e., the hard drives) but it stops there. Here is a more organized break down of the situation:

ECS A770M-A Motherboard
Current condition:

The computer no longer starts up.
No video signal is output to the monitor and,
the motherboard emits no beeps during bios checks.
The activity light remains on indefinitely without flickering or turning off.

I have already:

Unplugged all the devices from the computer and attempted to start it up.
Removed the memory and tried to start it up.
Reseated the memory and tried to start it up.
Reseated other internal components and tried to start it up.

So far, nothing has showed signs of improving the problem here. Any help would be super appreciated.
bpetruzzo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2008, 06:23 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Clear the CMOS and see if that helps.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 09:42 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
OS:



Ok, I ran the procedures for clearing the CMOS. At first I had some problems with the computer staying on. It would begin to start up. Perhaps for half a second or so, the fans would come on and the status light begin to light up then it would die.

I ran the CMOS procedures again and eventually I got the computer turning on again. There's no overall improvement.

Still no beeps and no video output. However, the status light now comes on, flashes a few times, then goes off, leaving the computer running.
bpetruzzo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2008, 09:47 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



see if you can borrow another psu to try in it



dai is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 10:10 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
OS:



Thanks for the help!

Ok, so I have access to another power supply, but using it would mean dismantling an important machine in our home's network and would like to avoid that if at all possible. I plugged my current power supply into a power supply tester which said the unit was healthy.

Unless there are some other functions of the power supply that the tester would have missed, the power supply should be functioning properly.
bpetruzzo is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 12:25 PM   #6
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
OS:



Ok, so I've taken the computer apart, almost entirely (short of taking the motherboard completely out of the case). Turning it on with nothing but one stick of ram attached, I still get no audible response from the board.

It appears from my vantage point that either the board or the processor is cooked. If it were the processor, I would think that I would still be getting signals from the board. Am I correct in saying that? If it were the board, I would expect to see problems like I'm experiencing. Am I correct in those assertions?
bpetruzzo is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 12:37 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 7,075
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


how did you clear the cmos?

what supply did you replace it with?
speedster123 is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 12:40 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
OS:



It currently has a Ultra 500 watt power supply in it, I swapped it out with an Antec 500 watt power supply that I was able to verify worked.

I cleared the CMOS using the pseudo instructions in the motherboard manual. Switching the CLR_CMOS pin from pin 2-3 to pin 1-2 turning it on, then switching it back.
bpetruzzo is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 02:20 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



The clear CMOS button instructions usually have you switching from 1 & 2 to 2 & 3, then switching it back. The "run" setting is normally to have the jumper on 1 & 2.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 02:33 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
OS:



Yeah, I know but from the factory the jumper was on 2-3. Although the manual lists 1-2 as the defaults, the machine won't turn on if I leave them there.

I just figured for whatever reason the manual was backwards. Which wouldn't surprise me. This ECS company isn't exactly top of the line.

I'll play with it some more.
bpetruzzo is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 02:42 PM   #11
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
OS:



Jumpers were to no avail. There was no improvement using it as the manual suggested and as was just suggested here.
bpetruzzo is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 06:39 PM   #12
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



if when you try to start with the ram or video card removed you receive no bios error beeps suspect the m/b



dai is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 06:41 PM   #13
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
OS:



That is my suspicion. I'm going to order a new motherboard. Hopefully that'll resolve the problem.

Thanks for all the help, everyone!
bpetruzzo is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 06:42 PM   #14
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



let us know how you go with it



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts