Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

P4C800-E Deluxe??????

This is a discussion on P4C800-E Deluxe?????? within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. This is my first time playing with SATA HD and so far it hasn't been very fun. I currently have


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-04-2005, 10:47 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
OS:



This is my first time playing with SATA HD and so far it hasn't been very fun.

I currently have no problem with my IDE drives. They work perfect.

I bought a new Maxtor 300GB 16MB Cache HD SATA hd.

I installed in on SATA 0(Not Raid side) and the BIOS doesn't see it at all.

I've checked out the forum and checked and double checked my BIOS settings and all is good there. I've also disconnected the IDE drives with no luck either.

I don't have a clue what could be going on. The drive has power too because it's spinning.

Any help would be great..

Thanks.



SLider916 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2005, 10:55 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
blackduck30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wollongong/Australia
Posts: 4,267
OS: XP pro SP3/Vista Ultimate

My System

first just check that it is actually on SATA 1 or 2 as these are the intel controller and do not need drivers, the others are for the promise controller and require a non raid driver
then check to make sure you have your bios raid disabled and on sata/pata
blackduck30 is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 05:14 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
OS:


I have it setup on SATA 1(Intel Controller).
No Raid.

BIOS raid disabled, set on SATA.

How can I tell if I need Intel drivers?
There are no Intel drivers on the mb cd.

Thanks.
SLider916 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-06-2005, 01:02 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
blackduck30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wollongong/Australia
Posts: 4,267
OS: XP pro SP3/Vista Ultimate

My System

the intel controller only uses a driver for the raid setup and none for just sata, the file for raid is the IAAR and will be on the cd somewhere but as I said you won't need it unnless you are setting up raid and then this should have been put in on the O/S install ( for raid 0 )
The next thing I would do was to try another cable, I tossed the ASUS ones and bought some good aftermarket ones as I was not happy with the way the asus ones sat in the H/D ( not tight enough for me )
also check ,Onboard IDE Operate Mode= Enhanced
blackduck30 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 09:53 AM   #5
I helped the forums.
 
twajetmech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LGA, NYC
Posts: 2,430
OS: XP-Pro Sp2 & XP-Pro Sp2 Tablet Edition, Vista Ultimate, Win 7

My System

You need to boot the computer with the maxblast cd that the HD came with....windows cannot recognize the HD until it is formatted and partitioned. If you bought the HD as an OEM then you can download the maxblast software from Maxtor's website and put it on a bootable CD or 3.5" Floppy.
twajetmech is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 07:25 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 207
OS: XP/Win 7 64 bit


What I don't understand is why the Bios is not recognizing the drive. When I connected my unformatted and unpartitioned Seagate 200gb drive to my P4C800-E Deluxe. The Bios was able to recognize the hard drive. I am leaning towards a data wire problem than anything else. It was stated that the drive was spinning so it must be getting power. I would switch the data cable and make sure that the cable is connected properly then try again.

Maxtor SATA 300GB with 16MB Cache... are you kidding me, 16MB Cache??!? Wow, I wouldn't mind seeing some test data on that drive. Just to see how much of a speed bump that is.
Javora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts