Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

no signal to monitor

This is a discussion on no signal to monitor within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi when I turn on my computer, i can see the boot up screen for several seconds and then monitor


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2008, 03:14 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
OS: windows XP Pro, SP3

My System


Hi
when I turn on my computer, i can see the boot up screen for several seconds and then monitor is turning off.
After i keep the PC running (monitor is still off) for like 10-20 minutes, and then restart the PC, it sometimes load up normally and everything's working fine. It looks like the PC needs to "warp up" before the monitor starts working fine.
The problem isn't with monitor itself, i tried another one, it's the same problem.
Every day it's getting worse and it's harder to start the system so I can see the view in monitor. Today it took me an hour of restarting, plugging off the power supply, taking off and on RAM, cards, and different stuff to finally start the PC normally. I'm afraid to turn off the PC now.

I suspect Motherboard or Video card or Power supply...
I did not have this problem before.
everskelly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2008, 05:09 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Thething's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 221
OS: Windows 7 64 Bit Home Premium



Hello

What is your PSU Brand, name and wattage? it should be written on the side of your PSU.

Also what is your video card?

It could be that your PSU is having problems delivering enough wattage because of age if you have had it for a while.
Thething is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 05:40 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
OS: windows XP Pro, SP3

My System


I have this PC for about 2 years, the PSU is COLORSit and it has 520w and 30A on one 12v rail.
The video card is 8800GTX, so it takes alot of power, i even disconnected my second DVD rom to make the system more stable, and it was all good untill now.
I didn't know PSUs are aging and can cause problems because of "old age" :)
However, that might be it...
everskelly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2008, 09:37 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



colorsit are low quality you need a quality 650w in there
https://www.techsupportforum.com/f210...on-192217.html



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts