User Tag List

No power up

This is a discussion on No power up within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My son's PC has an Abit NF7 v2.0 motherboard with an Athlon xp2200 cpu, which suffered a failed psu, which


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-28-2007, 04:35 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
OS:


Confused

My son's PC has an Abit NF7 v2.0 motherboard with an Athlon xp2200 cpu,
which suffered a failed psu, which was replaced. Now the PC will still not power up with the case 'on' button.
Although the new power supply will start up when the pwr-on pin in the ATX motherboard connector is grounded.
I have also checked that the ON button is working by checking for continuity at the motherboard connector.
The only sympton he noticed prior to complete failure was that the USB ports stopped functioning.
Any ideas guys?
blodwyn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-28-2007, 09:09 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 319
OS:



Usually when a power supply goes out something else goes out with it. Power supplies are known not to go down alone. I would think that if the computers USB ports dont work then something might have been hurt as well. As for the power on button I would wait for someone else to respond on that.
themisiek1 is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 11:46 AM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



take the button wires from the 2 pins on the m/board and touch the 2 pins for a fraction of a second with a small screwdriver
can you test your ram in another computer
uplug usb plugs and see if it makes a difference
what psu was in it and what did you replace it with



dai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2007, 11:49 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3
OS:



Thanks for the responses. I checked the power on switch lead for continuity with a meter, but tried shorting the pins anyway but no response. I tried with no usb devices plugged in as well with no response.
The psu came with the case (ebuyer) model LC-300ATX, no make, it has been happily running for a couple of years. I replaced it with a Sumvision 450w psu. Unfortunately I don't have another system to try the ram as I only have a laptop.
It is beginning to look like a motherboard fatality!
blodwyn is offline  
Old 09-29-2007, 11:58 AM   #5
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



yes it looks like the m/board unplug your drives reset the cmos and try it
https://www.techsupportforum.com/showthread.php?t=107466



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts