Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

No post or beep with new build

This is a discussion on No post or beep with new build within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Thank you in advance... Asus Z370 A mb Intel I7 9700 K (9nth gen) cpu G Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-32GTZR


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-22-2018, 10:00 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
OS: win 10 64 bit



Thank you in advance...

Asus Z370 A mb
Intel I7 9700 K (9nth gen) cpu
G Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-32GTZR (Four dimms = 64 gigs)
EVEA Supernova power supply 850 watt
CoolerMaster Trooper SE case

No drive installed yet. New M.2. coming soon.

I'm just trying to post to update bios, turn off integrated video, etc.

I have checked connections
Checked voltage to MB and CPU
I've pulled all but one dimm of Ram (No MB ram light comes on so I assume the ram is good).

Things power on and light up (including the Ram) but no beep and no post.
I've tried using various cables on both the integrated card and on a new Quadro P4000 card. Nothing!

I've triple checked connections. I don't know what to do next. Do I have a conflict with this cpu, board and ram?

Please advise. Thank you! Stu
Stu4567228 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2018, 07:08 PM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Your board is not compatible with Gen 9 cpus as far as I can see.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 11-23-2018, 05:34 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
OS: win 10 64 bit



According to the Asus website, the newest bios update makes the Z370A compatible with the new CPU. Here is a dumb question... Can I update the bios without a processor or am I stuck buying a new motherboard?
Stu4567228 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2018, 05:56 AM   #4
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Yeah these guys should know better as there is no way you can update the board with cpu that is not recognized, you would need to use a cpu recognized to flash the bios up and it could be any Gen 8 i.e. Pentium would do so if you can find someone with a suitable Gen 8 cpu to do that for you or you have to buy another board. And there is the "rub" as only 1 series will work which would be Gen 8 and there aren't that many out there as it is so new itself. A decent shop that stocks cpus might be able to do that for you.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 11-23-2018, 06:04 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 20
OS: win 10 64 bit



I emailed Asus. Do you think they will send me a boot kit to update my bios?
Stu4567228 is offline  
Old 11-23-2018, 07:23 AM   #6
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


AMD appears to have a bootkit that provides a throwaway cpu and hsf that will update a bios without a cpu but to the best of my knowledge that does not exist for Intel boards however I have read that some Intel boards will allow a bios flash without a cpu but you have to ask Asus if theirs is one of them. Other than that I believe the only way that can happen is if you send board back to Asus so they can do it. Maybe they will do that for you heaven knows they should!
How do you update bios without CPU? - [Solved] - Motherboards

__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 11-26-2018, 10:11 AM   #7
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Rich, where I'm at, the vendor updates the BIOS for free as part of support for such incompatible devices even if it's not under warranty... But carry-in... no kit..

But with the standard disclaimer, that if something breaks or if the board is bricked, they're not liable..

ASUS would probably oblige...
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 11-26-2018, 11:15 AM   #8
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Interesting tristar.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No beep at POST
Hello all, I have HP P7-1534 with Windows 8-64 bit. It starts super fast and everything seems to be working fine. One concern I have is I don't hear one single beep at the POST stage. I am not sure if this is normal or may be the speaker is loose or what else can it be... Has anyone...
RomanTECH Motherboards, Bios & CPU 13 03-29-2013 01:59 PM
New system build: system not achieving POST with GPU in PCIEx16 slot
Hello, I am new to the forums and would really appreciate some help with a new system I am building. For some reason the system won't POST with the GPU inserted. Nothing is displayed on my monitor, connected via an HDMI to DVI. Converter cable, and no beeps are heard on the system speaker. All...
PDaddy Video Card Support 1 02-03-2013 11:49 AM
New build cycles on and off, before POST
I just put together a new build for the end of the year game releases. I had some troubles at first (very easy mistakes: forgot cpu power, had to boot with 1 stick of memory). But I was able to get in and set up the BIOS so the SSD would be recognized, and then install Windows 7 on the SSD. Went...
Dinky2012 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 23 07-01-2011 07:42 AM
No monitor signal, no POST beep
Hi all I've just reassembled some old computer parts into a new case for someone, and initially everything was working fine. A day later, however, and the PC wouldn't turn on properly - it'd power up, and after a few seconds of fans whirring, turn straight off. Turns out the PSU was dead...
nexen Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 02-10-2011 06:49 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts