Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

NO boot, and 3 beeps, please help

This is a discussion on NO boot, and 3 beeps, please help within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just got a new motherboard, got 4 CPUs, and 8gb memory RAm. I tried all the CPCs but not


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-23-2008, 04:50 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
OS:


Angry

I just got a new motherboard, got 4 CPUs, and 8gb memory RAm. I tried all the CPCs but not boot with ether one. but with one I hear 3 beeps, and nothing on the monitor. and with the other 3, all I get is a orange light. U think there are fried??? and y with the one that works I hear the 3 beeps????
miguellabra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2008, 04:57 PM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


We need your full system specs and what each cpu is, are you sure the ram is compatible?
Doby is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 05:34 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
OS:


Arrow

The CPUs,

pentium 4, socket 478.
3.00 ghz/1m/800
2.80 ghz/1m/800
Celero D, socket 478
2.53ghz/256/533
2.70ghz/128/400
The Only one that beeps when its on is the Celero D 2.70 Ghz. all the others i get a orange light. the Ram I looked at before buying it. but im not sure if its compatible. are my other CPUs fried, i would hate that cuz the 3.00 ghz one is a Hyper Threading. I had windows Xp home
miguellabra is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2008, 07:06 PM   #4
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


OK but we need to know what ram, motherboard and psu. Please be as detailed as possible and include brand and model number for all parts.

I doubt all or if any of your cpu's are fried it could be a bad motherboard but we need to know exactly what parts we are working with so we can check for compatibilty first
Doby is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 08:21 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
OS:


Mistake

Intel® Desktop Board D845PT, thats the mother board.

and Ram now im using a 1GB PC-2100 DDR 1 (12) 266 MHZ 081126, i think is samsung

PSU im not sure, it says Newton Power Ltd.
Model: NPS-160CB-1 A, and its a 160w min.

and one more thing, my computer was working fine, but it was really dusty, so i took some of the parts out( including the CPU) so i cleaned it, and put it back. but i didn't notice that where i had place the cpu was wet. so i got it in like that. i plugged my Pc, and pressed the power button, but all i got was the fans on and hard drive, then I got a orange light. i opened the PC and took the cpu off, the Socket had melted. so i went to ebay an got a new motherboard, the ram socket was different from the ram i was using so went to the mobo manual and look for what kin to buy. but when I got it together, it did the same thing, first i used the 3Ghz CPu (PSU was the same all the time), but when I put the celeron 2.70 Ghz, it does the beeps, and i get a green light.
miguellabra is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 09:55 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...0corsair%20psu



dai is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 11:38 AM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
OS:



so u think its the cpu??
miguellabra is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 11:38 AM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
OS:



psu sorry
miguellabra is offline  
Old 11-24-2008, 05:21 PM   #9
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


Get the psu dai linked to you can't hardly beat it or its price, you have to start with a decent psu and move on from there.

The cpu you used when the socket got wet/melted on the old board is most likely toast, don't try and use it.

https://support.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/d845pt/sb/CS-013220.htm

The new motherboard only supports up to a P4 2.6 so the only processor you have that will work is the celeron
Doby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts