Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

New motherboard boot problems

This is a discussion on New motherboard boot problems within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys thank you in advance for your input. I swapped out motherboards today with a new processor and new


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-04-2020, 11:43 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: California
Posts: 25
OS: XP



Hey guys thank you in advance for your input.
I swapped out motherboards today with a new processor and new RAM.

I can boot to windows but I can't use keyboard or mouse.
I can't reinstall windows because I can't get it to boot to the CD/DVD drive even though it can see it and I've placed it first in the boot order.

I'm stuck, here are my specs:

Windows 7 64 bit
MSI MPG X570 Motherboard
Asus very basic CD/DVD ROM drive
All SATA connections

Also when in windows I can put a disk in and the launcher pops up but I can't click or type because of USB drivers failing to install.

Please help I have to work from home on it tomorrow lol.
Rainwater87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2020, 03:06 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: California
Posts: 25
OS: XP


I tried for hours and have to go to bed now. I tried:

Going down to one HDD and the CDROM
Switching off legacy USB
Switching to CSM (and trying all boot configs)
Swapped SATA cables and locations of everything.
Used different power cabling and reseated all connections in the whole damn computer.
In CSM it actually asks for a disc to be put in but when I do it doesn't spin the disc to read only partial spinning.
When I go back to UEFI it just boots right back to BIOS. I've tried so many things and it doesn't help that there's 2-4 boots devices for every device depending on if I'm in UEFI or CSM which makes for so many combinations (which I tried by process of elimination).

I don't have another CDROM or i would try that and I might pick one up tomorrow but I feel that I shouldn't have to.
Rainwater87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 06:15 AM   #3
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,308
OS: Windows 10 Pro



Can you get into your BIOS?

When you make a major change of mobo/cpu or both....you have to do a clean install of windows. It's imperative.

So what's needed to do before hand is; have a usb thumb drive with the latest windows ISO on it. Then when you boot up new system.....go into UEFI/BIOS and change boot order to USB device and install windows. Then install all your drivers then update windows.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-05-2020, 07:42 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: California
Posts: 25
OS: XP


Yes I can get into BIOS that's how I know I have the correct option selected. I would have tried to boot from a flash drive if I had one with windows on it but all I have is windows on a CD unfortunately.
Rainwater87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 07:52 AM   #5
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,974
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 08:14 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: California
Posts: 25
OS: XP


I can't download windows if I can't use my computer. I know I can go do it on another computer but I don't know anyone that would let me do it.
Rainwater87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 08:24 AM   #7
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,974
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


My idea was that you could get to another computer and using the Media Creation Tool, create an ISO. Perhaps a local dealer would do it for you at a minimum cost.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 09:19 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: California
Posts: 25
OS: XP


I am aware of all the alternatives but none are available to me. There's no reason this shouldn't boot to disk. This post was mainly because I needed to have it today and there is no reason it shouldn't work.
Rainwater87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 09:46 AM   #9
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,117
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Rainwater87 View Post
I am aware of all the alternatives but none are available to me. There's no reason this shouldn't boot to disk. This post was mainly because I needed to have it today and there is no reason it shouldn't work.
There are all kinds of reasons why it wouldn't work.
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2020, 11:01 AM   #10
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,974
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
There are all kinds of reasons why it wouldn't work.
What makes matters worse, it doesn't have to be a Windows or bios problem, Basically you built a new computer. Just as you don't seem to have access to another computer, we don't have access to bench test all your new and existent components as well as check on proper installation. If it's an emergency, you might go to a library unless your area is on lockdown. BTW, we've all bought defective parts. Hopefully we haven't bought incompatible ones because there are good ways to avoid this.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2020, 02:39 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: California
Posts: 25
OS: XP


Problem was solved, the motherboard wasn't compatible with windows 7 so it caused some weird problems I guess.
Rainwater87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2020, 09:08 AM   #12
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,117
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Rainwater87 View Post
Problem was solved, the motherboard wasn't compatible with windows 7 so it caused some weird problems I guess.
Good to know. Kindly mark this thread as solved then. Click on Thread Tools above and you'll see the option to do so.
Stancestans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts