Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

New mobo/cpu... Smart failure or select boot device.

This is a discussion on New mobo/cpu... Smart failure or select boot device. within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I've got a new cpu/motherboard/ram from amazon, company builds and tests the components and ships them out. I have


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-08-2019, 04:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
OS:



Hi, I've got a new cpu/motherboard/ram from amazon, company builds and tests the components and ships them out. I have two hard drives, one ssd with Windows on it, one hdd as storage. Installed the new stuff and turned it on and I get "smart failure predicted on Samsung hd105si" which is the storage hdd, with "press f1 to run setup". Pressing f1 does nothing - monitor goes to no signal and seemingly remains that way for good, though the pc remains on.

If I unplug the storage hdd I got to "please insert and select proper boot device" which I take to mean the new hardware can't read the ssd and requires a Windows setup. I have bootable usbs thy have worked in the past, and bth are recognised as USB drives when plugged in, but neither satisfies that proper boot device message.

I thought it might be bios load order but I cannot for the life of me get to the bios. No combination or pressing or any key at any point has gotten to it. Removing the cmos battery for 5 mins and replacing it seemingly did nothing either.

Booting up with just the ssd and the USB plugged in prevents either of the above options and it boots, goes to no signal and stays there and the keyboard lights go out. Booting with just the ssd and no ush results in select proper boot device.

Feels like an endless loop here. I think booting into bios is the key but it seems impossible.

Can anyone help?

Thanks.
MikeBrown141 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2019, 07:25 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Hi and Welcome to TSF!

Seeing that you got all of the hardware recently and new, I would recommend you contact the supplier for support or for replacement parts.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 02-08-2019, 07:29 PM   #3
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,015
OS: windows 10

My System


Hi first off you need to give make and model of motherboard and other hardware. Second when you put new motherboard you can't just put hard drive with windows on it all ready that was installed on another computer. You will need to reinstall windows. Until you give make and model of the hardware we can't tell you what key to press to get to bios
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-09-2019, 02:33 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
OS:


Hi, thanks for the responses. It's a ryzen 7 2700x on a b450m-a motherboard.

Suppliers don't work weekends so I thought I'd look elsewhere. They test the components before sending them out - I doubt they're the problem since it does actually boot, just can't seem to get to bios.

Ive tried del and f2 repeatedly many times, but they both seem to stop the pc doing anything.

Thanks again.
MikeBrown141 is offline  
Old 02-09-2019, 02:46 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
OS:


Worth adding that I've got two monitors, a vga connection converted to display port and a hdmi monitor. Both are plugged in through the graphics card because the motherboard has a hdmi and a vga and I can't seem to get a signal on either monitor through them, even when the graphics card is removed.

Wondering if this is a problem? Shouldn't on board graphics kick in at that point and show something?
MikeBrown141 is offline  
Old 02-09-2019, 04:23 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
OS:


Progress! I have reached the bios with the graphics card in. Bios only has one boot device, the ssd, and doesn't recognise botable USB sticks. Think if I can get a USB recognised I can reinstall Windows and things should be going ahead.

Any reason a USB wouldn't be picked up? They were created using Windows boot utility and have been used successfully to repair windows installations in the past.

Thanks.
MikeBrown141 is offline  
Old 02-09-2019, 06:58 PM   #7
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,015
OS: windows 10

My System


Go in bios and look for maybe integrated peripheral or something like that
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 02-13-2019, 12:50 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
cold iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 24
OS: XP Pro sp3, Win7, win8, win8.1



Try taping the F12 key after the post beeb.
cold iron is offline  
Old 02-13-2019, 09:26 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 24
OS: Win98/2000/XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeBrown141 View Post
Hi, I've got a new cpu/motherboard/ram from amazon, company builds and tests the components and ships them out. I have two hard drives, one ssd with Windows on it, one hdd as storage. Installed the new stuff and turned it on and I get "smart failure predicted on Samsung hd105si" which is the storage hdd, with "press f1 to run setup". Pressing f1 does nothing - monitor goes to no signal and seemingly remains that way for good, though the pc remains on.

If I unplug the storage hdd I got to "please insert and select proper boot device" which I take to mean the new hardware can't read the ssd and requires a Windows setup. I have bootable usbs thy have worked in the past, and bth are recognised as USB drives when plugged in, but neither satisfies that proper boot device message.

I thought it might be bios load order but I cannot for the life of me get to the bios. No combination or pressing or any key at any point has gotten to it. Removing the cmos battery for 5 mins and replacing it seemingly did nothing either.

Booting up with just the ssd and the USB plugged in prevents either of the above options and it boots, goes to no signal and stays there and the keyboard lights go out. Booting with just the ssd and no ush results in select proper boot device.

Feels like an endless loop here. I think booting into bios is the key but it seems impossible.

Can anyone help?

Thanks.
Just because it is a new motherboard that does not mean that it is a perfect running unit. I bought two duplicate motherboards from Frys Electronics and both of them were bad. I had Frys check it out. I could not believe it and got a third one that was a little different and it worked fine. Can you believe a new mobo could be bad? Yes I can.
jonnyb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows 7 BSOD Page Fault in Non Paged area
Hi I have a computer runing windows 7 Today I started the computer and it started just fine - I logged into my user and then after about 1 minute I got the blue screen that read Page fault in no pages area .
adam110 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 6 12-29-2018 10:41 AM
Trouble Getting ISO To Thumb Drive
Acer Aspire M1641 Vista Premium SP2 32 bit I have been trying to put Windows10_TechnicalPreview_x32_EN-US_9926.iso on a thumb drive, using the latest version of Rufus. I got an error message while using two perfectly good drives. After getting the error message when trying with a third drive,...
likekinds Removable Media Drives 79 02-19-2015 03:05 PM
Help!
Im unable to complete the gmer scan. It wont allow me to copy the results of the scan to submit to you guys. What do I do now?
REDLEG Resolved HJT Threads 49 12-15-2013 02:15 PM
BSOD Help
Computer is giving bsod, i have attached a bsod zip file of the 3 bsod mini dumps. thanks Summary Operating System MS Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1 CPU
dunz BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 2 03-12-2012 07:03 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts