Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

new mb will boot wont except any hd

This is a discussion on new mb will boot wont except any hd within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a new msi p4m900 igp chipset mb, every thing seems to be working correctly but it gives a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2008, 02:45 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
OS:



I have a new msi p4m900 igp chipset mb, every thing seems to be working correctly but it gives a blue screen when booting to hd, using the xp disk, or turns off and then back on when booting from safemode or anyother of those settings. I have disabled the system bios cache as the screen suggested, and unplugged everything but the cdrom and the hd. also I have tryed three different hd's with the same result, one of the hd's was new.

Im at a loss, any help would be greatly appr. thank you Micki
micki83539 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-18-2008, 09:53 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
steelman2202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 382
OS: Windows 7 x64

My System


Is the hard disk visible in BIOS?

Seems like a hardware problem to me.

Can you try to go into BIOS and see what the temperatures and voltages that are posted there state? And then post those there?

Also, can you try booting with just one stick of memory if you have 2?
steelman2202 is offline  
Old 01-18-2008, 10:39 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 9,639
OS: Win XP SP3 / Windows 7 Beta / Open Suse

My System


Hi Micki,
Are you trying to just hook up HD's that have XP installed on them already? Or are you trying to do a clean install of XP? I am thinking a clean install.
Thanks,
Bill
BCCOMP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-19-2008, 12:54 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
OS:



I did the one memory thing, and on the msi tech page it tells me to enable raid and sata, I have a ata hd, does this sound right? also, I have tryed three hds one new, I know or think this problem is in the bio's

the temps are= 31c 87 f fan 2343rpm vcore 1.312
micki83539 is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 02:09 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
OS:



i have tryed both, on a new hd with nothing on it, the same thing happens. Thank you for responding.
micki83539 is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 02:28 AM   #6
Troubled
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,394
OS: Windows 7 Enterprise 64 bit

My System


Ok. Lets start from the beginning. Please download PC Wizard from the sig below and run it. Please then click FILE, SAVE AS (text) and name it and save it on the desktop. The copy the text out of that file into this thread.

Please also post what Power SUpply unit you are using. You are trying to install Windows XP Professional (32 bit or 64 bit?).

Please post that info and we can start from the beginning.
FreoHeaveho is offline  
Old 01-19-2008, 04:22 PM   #7
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
OS:



I cannot put the pcwizard on the new pc, it will not let me to the hd, and the power supply is masscool 8w501B1M3G.

to recap, the system boots to post, then to safe mode screen, no matter what way I go it will go to blue screen.

if I use xp it will go as far as to download the drivers then go to blue screen. if I try and boot it normally it returns to the post screen . this is with any drive I have installed.

the home page for the mb, faq suggests that all raid and sata be enabled, this does not make since to me as i have none of these.

thank you .
micki83539 is offline  
Old 01-20-2008, 06:51 AM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 30
OS:



ok a mistake, when booting without cd pc goes to safemode or normal screen, then when you click on one it reboots back to the same screen, the only time it goes to the blue error screen is when booting from cdrom. sorry, I dont know if this is important, but I do try to be right about my statements as I see them, thanks for any help. micki
micki83539 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts