User Tag List

New CPU

This is a discussion on New CPU within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello I'm planning on getting a new CPU, and i've been looking at this one: https://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...oduct_id=36651 I've done a little


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-04-2010, 12:37 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
OS:



Hello

I'm planning on getting a new CPU, and i've been looking at this one:
https://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...oduct_id=36651

I've done a little bit of research and discovered that it could be compatible with my motherboard, if i have a BIOS update, my motherboard is an MS-7250 K9N platinum, and apparently my BIOS version is 1.B.

(Rest of specs)
Memory: 2048MB RAM
Hard Drive: 500 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 275
OS XP SP3

Can anyone tell me whether this is compatible or not? I want to make sure before i purchase.

Thank you.
Wpyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2010, 01:04 PM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



I'm not at all good with AMD but from what I can see the CPU you linked to is a Socket AM3 and your Mobo is a Socket AM2.



Tyree is offline  
Old 01-04-2010, 01:13 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
OS:



Yes, but like i said with my research apparantly AM3 CPUS can work with AM2 mobos as long as there is a bios update, i just wanted to make sure that this was true, and that my BIOS is updated enough.
Wpyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2010, 01:08 AM   #4
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


Yes they will physically fit, but the K9N does not support AM2+ or AM3 cpu's. MSI, unlike ASUS and Gigabyte, has never been big on BIOS updates to support new cpu's. For example, the latest version listed on the MSI website is ver 1.A (Oct 2007).

MSI K9N Platinum cpu support list
gcavan is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 09:13 AM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
OS:



Ah right i see, does anyone have any suggestions on what the best CPU i can buy would be that is compatible for my mobo?

Thanks for the help
Wpyne is offline  
Old 01-05-2010, 06:34 PM   #6
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


New AM2 cpu's are starting to get hard to find, but there are some still available. Your best bet will be one of the dual core cpu's (Athlon 64 X2). Of those, the fastest (out of the box) is the 6000+ and 6400+, but they will run kind of hot. I would try to find one of the Windsor or Brisbane 65w cpu's.
The site you posted above shows them sold out of AM2's, but I found a 6000+ at ebuyer.com. That one is a 125w OEM (does not come with factory cooler).
Before you buy, confirm by the AMD model number (looks something like this: ADX6000IAA6CZ) that your choice is supported.
gcavan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts