Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

New build cycles on and off, before POST

This is a discussion on New build cycles on and off, before POST within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just put together a new build for the end of the year game releases. I had some troubles at


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-28-2011, 11:20 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


I just put together a new build for the end of the year game releases. I had some troubles at first (very easy mistakes: forgot cpu power, had to boot with 1 stick of memory). But I was able to get in and set up the BIOS so the SSD would be recognized, and then install Windows 7 on the SSD. Went through the control panel setting up some basic important preferences (no recycle bin, auto login, etc.) Also used a guide with another pc on setting up Windows 7 a little more thoroughly for the SSD. Restarted the pc, and now it just cycles before the POST. I've taken everything out, and layed the mobo (with cpu, cpu fan, 1 stick of ram, video card) and the PSU on a piece of cardboard but still can't find the problem. It shouldn't be the RAM because I can't even get to where i get the beep codes. The psu worked fine last night. I've checked the cpu fan to see if it was on wrong, or too tight, or too loose, and it's fine. I've tried all 4 sticks individually in all 4 dimm slots (i know to keep the 1 in dimm1). So i'm thinking the problem lies somewhere in the mobo or cpu. Is there someway to test this out? Using spare parts isn;t an option. The only other pc here is running completely different cpu and ram.

Azza Hurrican 2000R
MSI P67A-GD65 (B3)
i7-2600k
Zalman CNPS9900MAX-R
(8gb, 4 sticks) G.SKILL F3-12800CL9D-4GBXL
EVGA GTX 570 HD
CRUCIAL CT064M4SSD2
WD WD1502FAEX
Corsair GS800
Dinky2012 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2011, 11:26 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


So just to clarify, you don't get anything on the screen when you turn it on?(No POST screen or error messages?)

May be a silly question but have you tried clearing the CMOS on the mobo?
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 11:34 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


Nothing shows up on screen at all. This is my description of what's happening: *turns the psu on* > *presses power button on mobo* > lights come on, fans turn, cpu phase lights go all the way to SIX > 4 seconds later everything just powers off > then it just repeats from everything turning on, to turning off, until i manually turn off the psu.

And i failed to mention, but yes, i did clear the CMOS. I just dont get why a reboot would cause this. Everything was fine just before. I didn't download anything (wasn't even connected to the internet). And i didn't mess with the parts since long before the installation of Windows 7.
Dinky2012 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2011, 11:43 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


The settings you changed from within windows has nothing to do with the computer POSTing. Those settings only effect settings for your OS which are all on the hard drive. If you just did the jumper trick with the CMOS clearing, I would consider pulling the CMOS battery and leaving it out for 10 mins and discconect the PSU. Then reconnect everything and see if it will power on.

If that doesn't get you anywhere....
Do you happen to have a friend you can borrow a spare power supply from? I would start with that since you aren't getting any beep error codes.
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 11:46 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


Quote:
Using spare parts isn;t an option. The only other pc here is running completely different cpu and ram.
It doesn't matter what cpu and ram the other pc is running as long as the other power supply is at least 550w and a quality unit.
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 12:02 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


Well, the battery removal for 10 minutes with psu disconnected didn't work. I guess i'll pull the psu out of this one of see where that gets me.
Dinky2012 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 12:04 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


Yeah try that. Let us know if there are any changes.

Good Luck
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 12:45 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


Swapping out the power supplies changed nothing at all. Still the same on/off cycling. It was a Corsair 750w. Anymore suggestions? I really don't wanna have to take this to a shop or get parts RMA'd
Dinky2012 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 12:51 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


I just read about some compatiablity problems with my mobo and g.skill ram. COuld this be the problem? DOesn't really explain how i was able to fully install windows and what not, but it does seem interesting
Dinky2012 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 12:52 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


If it fails to POST with the bare minimum parts during a bench test, you definately have a defective part im afraid. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but your probably looking at a motherboard or video card replacement. Processors are pretty bullet-proof and I doubt all 4 sticks of your ram are bad since you already mentioned that you tried them individually. Do you have another video card you can try or a computer you can test you video card in?
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 12:56 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


Just saw your post about the ram...G SKill ram is good memory but it is possible that is the problem. Since it worked fine with installation of windows, I have my doubts that is the problem though.
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 12:56 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


I know the video card works because I just pulled it out of the old pc. I was running the gtx 570 with a 9600gt as a physx dedicated card. Ran smooth and cool since march. should i try and RMA the board? or just trach it and go with something that may be a bit more reliable?
Dinky2012 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 01:11 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


It seems like a lot of the owners of this board have the same issue. It arrives and almost immediately starts this power cycle rampage. Maybe i should ditch the msi and get a gigabyte or asus.
Dinky2012 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 01:15 PM   #14
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,063
OS: Win7



I think this is a motherboard problem, but your testing without any drives hooked up(Optical, SSD or conventional hard drive), 1 stick of ram, and jumping the pins on the front panel header(no case wiring hooked up)?

What CPU cooler are you running?
If you have removed the cooler to check did you clean off the old and install new thermal paste?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 01:31 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


Replaced thermal paste. Ran with stock cpu fan. Ran with dvd drive, hdd, and ssd. Tried the jumpers. I think i'll just trash this mobo and go with a different brand that doesnt have this issue with 1/30 customers.
Dinky2012 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 01:53 PM   #16
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,063
OS: Win7



Did you run it without the drives hooked up?

Here's the 3 I've used the Sabertooth is my favorite of the 3.
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more!
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 04:30 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


Yes, I did run it without drives hooked up. Went from full system in case, to full system out of case, to just mobo, cpu/fan, psu, 1 stick of ram.

Looked into my case a little more and found tons of others with the exact same problem. And just on this model. So i've decided to go with a different brand and possibly save some hatred for MSI.
Dinky2012 is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 04:35 PM   #18
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,063
OS: Win7



MSI's quality goes back and forth, as soon as it appears they have it straightened out and under control along comes anther dud :)
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-29-2011, 04:44 AM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 666
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit SP1

My System


Yeah, if that many people are having the same issue then you probably are right. I always read tons of reviews before I buy anything electronic. I have had a few MSI boards before and they have been great. (I've also had one that was DOA.) Same goes for gigabyte im afraid. I had one of their boards that was horrible. My advice is to pick a board thats been out for a while and has alot of solid reviews. That way you have at least a slightly better chance of not having any issues with it.

Good Luck
cl0udedth0ught is offline  
Old 06-30-2011, 02:59 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: TN
Posts: 74
OS: Windows 7 64-bit

My System


Apparently one small issue is that mobo developers are still trying to figure out how to best utilise the Sandy Bridge, so things are a tad iffy. I found one mobo I'm interested in: GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3. I think it's fairly new, so it still has it's little issues, but it's mainly in the optional software that comes with it, I believe. Then there is this one: ASRock P67 EXTREME4 (B3). Seems to be tons more stable, thus probably making this the winner for my build. I guess stability trumps most-up-to-date. What do you guys think? I would like to make the purchase tonight from Newegg, because I usually get shipments from them 2 days after purchase, sometimes 1 day (warehouse 1 1/2 hours away). And thanks for the help so far. So sad looking at my build taken apart and put back in the boxes, when it should have been done this week. Oh well. That's part of it all, I guess.
Dinky2012 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts