Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

New APU system dead in the water

This is a discussion on New APU system dead in the water within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have the following components: Asus F1A75-V Pro Motherboard AMD A8 3870 APU Kingston HyperX Ram 16GB- KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX and an


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-17-2012, 12:18 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



I have the following components:

Asus F1A75-V Pro Motherboard
AMD A8 3870 APU
Kingston HyperX Ram 16GB- KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX
and an OLDER power supply: Thermaltake TR2-430W (W0070RU) - which was working on an older build until I took it out 2 hours ago and dropped it in my new case.

I (foolishly) installed everything in my case, and connected a brand new Corsair SSD (Force3), and connected in all the stuff (USB2 ports, audio in/out, power and reset switches and LEDs). With everything connected I plugged in the power supply and flipped the switch on the PSU. The Standby Light on the Motherboard came on. I pressed power button on the front of the case, but nothing happened (nothing changed that I could discern, no noises, no fans, no additional lights, no flicker in the standby light, nothing...) .


I have since disconnected everything, and pulled out all but one stick of ram (I've rotated which stick, and which slot I'm using), but I still get the exact same results. The Standby light on the
MOBO turns on, but nothing else happens when I hit the power (or reset) buttons. I've also tried unplugging the leads to the power switch and manually bridging the gap with a screwdriver, but with no different results.

All that is connected now is: APU is on motherboard, with provided heat-sink/fan installed and plugged in.
One 4-gig stick of ram
The Power supply 24-pin connector is plugged in securely, the 4-pin 12V connector is plugged into the rightmost half of the 8-pin plug on the board (the only way in which it will physically go in, and also the only way it would cover the pin labelled "Pin 1" on the motherboard).


OK- so probably way too much info, but here are my theories, hopefully you can invalidate them or provide others.

1. The quad core APU can't run on only a 4-pin power supply- if so, would a simple 4 to 8 pin converter fix my problem?
2. The ram is incompatible with the board (this exact set isn't listed as being compatible, but the 12-gig set with essentially the same number is on the list: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- Memory/Device Support (F1A75-V PRO) F1A75-V PRO )
3. The Motherboard is DOA.


Am I missing something obvious? Is there anyway to test the above without buying anything additional? Is there another problem that I could be having? Any thoughts are appreciated!
spacehelmet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2012, 08:28 AM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


At this point, I have to recommend you back up a little. Pull the board out of the case and proceed with a benchtest using only minimum components.

https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...em-171424.html

PS:
1) Not an issue
2) Should not be an issue
3) Possible, but we won't go there yet.
gcavan is offline  
Old 02-17-2012, 09:00 AM   #3
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



put a quality 550w 80+ psu in it

TR2-430W low quality bin material is not going to run it

Power Supply Information and Selection - Tech Support Forum



dai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-17-2012, 10:33 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
OS: Windows 7



So I have basically done the bench test as described in the link above, except that my motherboard is in the case. Could this be the issue? is it really worth pulling the MoBo out of the case to do the same thing (try to start it with only 1 stick of ram, and the processor installed) outside the case? If this could tell me something, I'll do it, but it seems like each time I'm putting my hands on the board and and maneuvering it in and out of the case I am risking damage... could a short explain my issues? Is there some other issue that removing everything from the case might solve?

Thanks so much for the quick replies!
spacehelmet is offline  
Old 02-17-2012, 10:54 AM   #5
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



A bench test should be dome precisely as described.
If the system does not boot after this process, then you most likely have a faulty component. You'll need to swap parts, start with the power supply, until you determine what is defective



Tyree is offline  
Old 02-17-2012, 11:22 AM   #6
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


The idea behind the benchtest is to eliminate as many components from the equation as possible. Think of the case as just another component which itself may have 'failed'. Something as mundane as an out of place motherboard standoff or a wire with chafed insulation can and often will cause the system to fail to boot.

If the system boots with the minimum components but fails once another is added, you know where you should be looking for the fault. If it won't POST with the absolute minimum necessary, you also know where you should be looking.
gcavan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The New New TSF Surgery - Home of Dr. Glas.
Continued from https://www.techsupportforum.com/f289/the-new-tsf-surgery-home-of-dr-glas-393888.html
Jason Forum Games and Jokes 5072 10-05-2016 08:36 PM
not sure of the problem
Yesterday I went to a site that was sent to me, stupid I know, but I did. Now my computer hasn't been running the same. At first it was Firefox just locking up along with files on my computer like windows/system32. Now the entire thing is going slow and locking up. I did what others told me on...
shsanford Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 3 02-17-2012 12:43 PM
use cell value before and after modification in excel 2007
i have huge data in excel.i have two cells a1 and b1. a1 value is 50 and b1 value is 100. i want if i change in a1 then b1 automatic change according a1 without effect of other data. if a1 is 30 after change then b1 should be 80(-20). if a2 is 70 after change then b1 should be 120(+20).
lavbhushan Microsoft Office support 0 02-16-2012 10:50 PM
[SOLVED] Problem running shogun with HD RADEON 6770 on 24inch samsung new hd monitor
Hey guys recently installed HD Radeon 6770, and a new monitor samsung 24inch with 1920 x 1080 res.. i ran shogun in full graphics with 1920 x 1080 res....it worked fine ran smooth , looked great... and now it doesnt it stutters and doesnt run well at all.. I think when i reset bios to...
Reece12sky PC Gaming Support 5 02-16-2012 09:37 PM
i need some really great in excel to crack a pro rated formula
Hello i am going to do my best to explain it how i may require your help building a formula. on the attached document, you will see a very simple calculation for accrual formula that add and withdraw amount from a month output (colomn c)at each of every three months (march, june, sept, dec)...
darkphoenixx Microsoft Office support 1 02-16-2012 09:17 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts