Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

MY PC Wont Boot!

This is a discussion on MY PC Wont Boot! within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. PC Info MotherBoard: GIGABYTE GA-Z87-HD3 (1.x) BIOS Ver: F8 CPU: Intel Core i5 4670K S1150 3.40 GHz CPU Part No.:


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-28-2018, 09:12 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 46
OS: Windows 7 Pro



PC Info
MotherBoard: GIGABYTE GA-Z87-HD3 (1.x)
BIOS Ver: F8
CPU: Intel Core i5 4670K S1150 3.40 GHz
CPU Part No.: SR14A
Operating System: Win 10 64-bit
SP: 1?
Power Supply: 500
Memory: Corsair CML16GX3M2A1600C10 / 2 x 8GB

---

I have the following problem:

When I power-on my PC:
I don't hear the usual single POST bleep, and Windows does not open.
Instead, only the fans run, and I can hear a faint intermittent-click, like the click I hear when I press the reset-switch.
Eg: It sounds as if the PC keeps starting and then instantly resetting itself, eg, on/off, every 2/3 seconds

The monitor does not display anything, or even power-on.
The HDD does not appear to be on.

So next:
I shut the PC down.
Disconnected each of the following items,
one item at a time, and then re-booted,
but I've still got the same intermittent-on/off

First I disconnected the:
HDD, CMOS battery, DVD Drive,
The second of my two memory sticks (from slot 2):

Then I swapped over the memory-sticks, eg:
I replaced the memory-stick in slot-1 with the memory-stick that I'd previously removed from slot-2.

Next:
I unplugged my Network Cable & my monitors D-Plug:
And now the PC gives one bleep...
(like the single POST bleep I usually get at power-on, which would normally be closely followed with the display of the gigabyte logo, and the boot options along the bottom of the screen)

But as I've got the monitor disconnected, I cant see what is actually happening.

So I powered-down the PC, then I rebooted,
and now I'm back as before, with the same intermittent-on/off

Next:
I unplugged all remaining external connections, and removed my only PCIE card from its top slot.
But I've still got the same intermittent-on/off

Finally:
I removed the remaining memory-stick in slot-1.
Now I hear continuous rapid bleeps.
So I powered-down the PC, and...

I put the same memory-stick back into slot-1.
And got the same intermittent-on/off

So now:
I've disconnected all of the internal removable devices
and I've unplugged all external connections.
And I still get the same intermittent-on/off

I've checked the voltages on one of the power cables
that would normally plug into a HDD, which are:
Pink: 3 volts
Black: 0 volts
Red: 4.6 volts
Black: 0 volts
Yellow: 11 volts

NB: I connected the negative lead of my analogue meter to the PC case.
NB: Its a cheap meter so the voltages may be showing a bit low?

Q: So what's causing this, and how can I rectify it?
mean_mr_mustard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2018, 09:44 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,009
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Copy your data. It sounds like HD failure.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 12-28-2018, 10:23 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 46
OS: Windows 7 Pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by Corday View Post
Copy your data. It sounds like HD failure.
How can it be the HDD?
Nothing is connected!
mean_mr_mustard is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-28-2018, 11:26 AM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,009
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Possibly PSU?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 12-28-2018, 04:53 PM   #5
Game Team Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: warwickshire, UK
Posts: 932
OS: windows 10 Pro 64bit



make of power supply?

make of hard drive?

what video card are you using or onboard graphics?

also check that the front panel connectors are in the correct order.
__________________
steve32mids is offline  
Old 12-29-2018, 03:13 AM   #6
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
 
bassfisher6522's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2,315
OS: Windows 10 Pro



First thing I'd check is the CPU cooler to make sure it's seated properly. If it's loose it can cause such symptoms. Next would be the PSU, check with a know working PSU. In a worse case scenario, it may be a CPU going bad and/or bad mobo or part of mobo.


You're on the right track with what you've done so far, you will need to check the core components, which are the big 2; cpu/mobo to make sure they're not going bad.
__________________
bassfisher6522 is offline  
Old 12-29-2018, 04:13 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 46
OS: Windows 7 Pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by steve32mids View Post
make of power supply?

make of hard drive?

what video card are you using or onboard graphics?

also check that the front panel connectors are in the correct order.
Thanks everyone so far, for your input.

It's an Antec Case & PS, Samsung & Seagate HDD, on-board graphic.

Q: What are the minimum items that need to be connected to the mobo, to allow the mobo to do the POST?
mean_mr_mustard is offline  
Old 01-01-2019, 11:32 AM   #8
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


If the psu is as old as the cpu and motherboard, it undoubtedly needs replacing as only a very few Antec psu models are of any quality. How about model # of psu which has been asked several times here?
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 01-02-2019, 04:25 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 46
OS: Windows 7 Pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich-M View Post
If the psu is as old as the cpu and motherboard, it undoubtedly needs replacing as only a very few Antec psu models are of any quality. How about model # of psu which has been asked several times here?
Many thanks:
The PSU: Antec Green EarthWatts 500W Continuous Power EA500D

Everything is about 4 years old.
I bought this Case with PSU because a friend has been using them for years with no problems.

If its the MOBO:
Q1: Can the BIOS in a mobo be repaired/reprogrammed?
If so by who?

Q2: Are there any comparable new mobo's still available that will take the same CPU & Memory?

Thanks
mean_mr_mustard is offline  
Old 01-02-2019, 06:21 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
cold iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 24
OS: XP Pro sp3, Win7, win8, win8.1



Quote:
Originally Posted by mean_mr_mustard View Post
PC Info
MotherBoard: GIGABYTE GA-Z87-HD3 (1.x)
BIOS Ver: F8
CPU: Intel Core i5 4670K S1150 3.40 GHz
CPU Part No.: SR14A
Operating System: Win 10 64-bit
SP: 1?
Power Supply: 500
Memory: Corsair CML16GX3M2A1600C10 / 2 x 8GB

---

I have the following problem:

When I power-on my PC:
I don't hear the usual single POST bleep, and Windows does not open.
Instead, only the fans run, and I can hear a faint intermittent-click, like the click I hear when I press the reset-switch.
Eg: It sounds as if the PC keeps starting and then instantly resetting itself, eg, on/off, every 2/3 seconds

The monitor does not display anything, or even power-on.
The HDD does not appear to be on.

So next:
I shut the PC down.
Disconnected each of the following items,
one item at a time, and then re-booted,
but I've still got the same intermittent-on/off

First I disconnected the:
HDD, CMOS battery, DVD Drive,
The second of my two memory sticks (from slot 2):

Then I swapped over the memory-sticks, eg:
I replaced the memory-stick in slot-1 with the memory-stick that I'd previously removed from slot-2.

Next:
I unplugged my Network Cable & my monitors D-Plug:
And now the PC gives one bleep...
(like the single POST bleep I usually get at power-on, which would normally be closely followed with the display of the gigabyte logo, and the boot options along the bottom of the screen)

But as I've got the monitor disconnected, I cant see what is actually happening.

So I powered-down the PC, then I rebooted,
and now I'm back as before, with the same intermittent-on/off

Next:
I unplugged all remaining external connections, and removed my only PCIE card from its top slot.
But I've still got the same intermittent-on/off

Finally:
I removed the remaining memory-stick in slot-1.
Now I hear continuous rapid bleeps.
So I powered-down the PC, and...

I put the same memory-stick back into slot-1.
And got the same intermittent-on/off

So now:
I've disconnected all of the internal removable devices
and I've unplugged all external connections.
And I still get the same intermittent-on/off

I've checked the voltages on one of the power cables
that would normally plug into a HDD, which are:
Pink: 3 volts
Black: 0 volts
Red: 4.6 volts
Black: 0 volts
Yellow: 11 volts

NB: I connected the negative lead of my analogue meter to the PC case.
NB: Its a cheap meter so the voltages may be showing a bit low?

Q: So what's causing this, and how can I rectify it?

Your 3 voltages are all to low. Try another power supply.
cold iron is offline  
Old 01-02-2019, 06:34 AM   #11
TSF Moderator
Hardware Team
Networking Team
 
SpywareDr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 6,600
OS: W10P64 10.0.19041.264; W7U64; W7P64; XPP32; Zorin; Slax; Ubuntu; Kali (BackTrack); Android 6.01



Take it back down to bare bones out on a table. Nothing but motherboard (on a non-conductive surface), CPU (w/heatsink), RAM, PSU, video, keyboard and mouse. Now see if it will boot into the BIOS. If not, try different PSU and/or RAM. Once you do get into the BIOS, reset the BIOS to factory default.

Now try running an Operating System (*nix) from a bootable USB flash drive. Exercise it some (web) and then leave it running overnight. If it's still where you left it the night before, power down, hook up your drive with Windows on it and try the same, (exercise it, web, games, whatever), and leave it running overnight. If it's fine the next morning, power down and reassemble everything back in the case. As you continue beyond the bare minimum, only add one or two pieces of hardware at a time and then test to make sure what was added isn't causing problems. You get the idea ...
SpywareDr is offline  
Old 01-02-2019, 06:38 AM   #12
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


As a general rule never buy a case with psu already installed though Antec does distribute some good quality ones, that should be checked. That model is made by Delta, a low end maker, and carries a 3 year warranty so needs replacing.

You could send the motherboard back to mfgr and they can replace the bios for you. It would probably be less expensive to replace the board so lets see what is available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mean_mr_mustard View Post
Many thanks:
The PSU: Antec Green EarthWatts 500W Continuous Power EA500D

Everything is about 4 years old.
I bought this Case with PSU because a friend has been using them for years with no problems.

If its the MOBO:
Q1: Can the BIOS in a mobo be repaired/reprogrammed?
If so by who?

Q2: Are there any comparable new mobo's still available that will take the same CPU & Memory?

Thanks
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 01-02-2019, 06:44 AM   #13
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


That is a high end board and I don't see much left however this is a really good board and would do it:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9SIAJ8W8MZ8355
or this:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9SIAJ8W8MZ8373



Quote:
Originally Posted by mean_mr_mustard View Post
Many thanks:
The PSU: Antec Green EarthWatts 500W Continuous Power EA500D

Everything is about 4 years old.
I bought this Case with PSU because a friend has been using them for years with no problems.

If its the MOBO:
Q1: Can the BIOS in a mobo be repaired/reprogrammed?
If so by who?

Q2: Are there any comparable new mobo's still available that will take the same CPU & Memory?

Thanks
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 01-04-2019, 05:52 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 46
OS: Windows 7 Pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich-M View Post
That is a high end board and I don't see much left however this is a really good board and would do it:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9SIAJ8W8MZ8355
or this:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9SIAJ8W8MZ8373
Rich-M:
Many thanks for taking the time to look for a suitable board.
But it seems that neither of those mobo's are available now.

Here is more info on my current mobo & CPU:

Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3 Intel Z87 Socket 1150 Motherboard
(this is a: 8 Series motherboards)

Intel Core i5-4670K 3.4GHz CPU,
Socket 1150, Quad Core Haswell, with Heat Sink Fan.
(This is a: Intel's 4th gen processor, that's correct for the above mobo)


BTW: I'm in the UK, so ideally, I'd like to source in the UK if possible, but beggars cant be choosers!

BTW: I found that I can buy a used board from China, but I don't know how reliable they would be, or if they are a trusted supplier?

Does anyone have any feedback on them, take a look here:
1: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Gigabyte-GA-Z87-HD3-LGA-1150-Socket-H3-Intel-Z87-Motherboard-ATX-DDR3-/253325931463?_trksid=p2349526.m4383.l4275.c10

2: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Gigabyte-...5.c10#rpdCntId


Many thanks.
mean_mr_mustard is offline  
Old 01-04-2019, 06:14 AM   #15
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 26,009
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


I wouldn't consider a used MOBO, but if you do, it must have a warranty and the selling firm has to have a reputation of honoring it.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-04-2019, 06:58 AM   #16
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,467
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


I have done that a few times with sellers with high feedback like the one you have there and they have worked out so I would not be afraid of either of those boards.
It's tough with Gen 4 boards so if you have to go used then no choice as the Gen4 cpus are among the best Intel ever made IMHO.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Laptop Ignores request for Boot Menu
I'm not exactly sure where this post should go. My actually problem does not lie within any actual OS but I believe to be in a BIOS issue. Due to the main OS i was messing around in to be Linux (Windows is actually installed on the main HDD), I will post here in Linux forums. I am going to start...
TimeStamp12 Linux Support 2 10-10-2013 01:15 AM
Reboot and select proper Boot System
Hey, I just built my first PC got it to turn on, and it brought me to my mother board bios settings/setup I didn't know what to do there so I just set the date and time and saved it, it then restarted my computer and a message popped up saying ''Reboot and select proper boot system or insert boot...
Galelao Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 09-26-2013 02:14 PM
Win32.downloader.gen found by spybot
Hi there, I just ran my Spybot program and it found Win32.downloader.gen. After it ran I checked fix problems button. It showed that it fixed it, but I want to make sure. I have run the gmer and dds programs and will attach them for you. My computer has been running slow also. Thank you in...
garquillo Resolved HJT Threads 19 08-24-2013 05:40 PM
0X000000F4
Hello- Randomly my HP Pavilion running XP crashes with: 0X000000F4 0X000000003 0X8ACC9298 .... Any Clues- I ran all hardware tests with no issues. Thanks, Jeff
jfuchs10 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 9 08-15-2012 07:52 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts