Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Monitor Turns Black

This is a discussion on Monitor Turns Black within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been facing this problem since the very first day i made my computer. I have a old CRT


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2009, 03:02 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 42
OS: Win 7



I have been facing this problem since the very first day i made my computer.
I have a old CRT Monitor and a brand new CPU.
When i plug in the VGA cable and thighten the screws my mouse stops working even the light in the mouse turns off.
So i have to just push the VGA cable in the socket a bit(just that much that it gets the power and signal) and my mouse starts working and everything is fine.
Yesterday when i tried to switch on my system, my CPU turned on , the CPU light is on and fan is running, but the monitor is black.
if i unplug the VGA cable it turns on and i just see light blue light on the screen which i belive is due to no data being provided to the monitor.
I'm very much confused what is causing this and frustrated because i have some urgent work to do but my monitor is black.
Please help.
Babanash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2009, 04:37 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: texas
Posts: 1,250
OS: xp



If you motherboard is still new enuf to be under warranty take it back and get a replacement motherboard...sounds likes it bad to be..
louge1953 is offline  
Old 07-03-2009, 04:43 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 42
OS: Win 7



hey louge1953,

Thanx for your reply, yes my MOBO is still under warranty and i can get it replaced but how can i ensure it's a problem related to motherboard?
Is there a way to check it out or any other way to confirm what exactly is wrong?
Babanash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-03-2009, 11:46 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,246
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



Hi,

Is your video card built into your motherboard? If so - I would think the motherboard is going bad.

How does your mouse plug in? USB or PS/2? If PS/2 - this also would point to the motherboard. Try a USB mouse - I'm betting it'll work fine.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 06:16 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 42
OS: Win 7



Hi Coolfreak,

I have a Gigabyte motherboard with AMD7750(black edition) processor.
I have Geforce 6150se mounted on the motherboard.
I'm using a PS2 mouse.
I will try a USB Mouse today itself, Just wanted to ask is it not possible that the SMPS(Power supply box), in which we plug in the power cord has gone bad??
Also is there any way i can check what exactly is the problem rather than going to the motherboard manufaturer?
Babanash is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 06:25 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Midlands, UK
Posts: 2
OS: Windows XP Home Edition



Will it boot into safe mode? Regardless of the mouse - is it not booting at all?

Sounds like a display driver currupted!

Try boot into Safe mode to allow system rollback or reinstal display driver.
Giga095 is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:28 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 42
OS: Win 7



It doesn't even turns on so no sapce for safe mode.
The fan on motherboard and even the lights outside the CPU doesn't turns on.
Babanash is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 09:45 AM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



check the main power plug to the m/b is in ok the same with the aux power plug

what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts