Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Medion PC MT 7 - No Bios Display

This is a discussion on Medion PC MT 7 - No Bios Display within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone I'm trying to fix a friend's computer. She managed to ruin the VGA port on her medion pc


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2011, 05:08 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 88
OS: -



Hi everyone

I'm trying to fix a friend's computer. She managed to ruin the VGA port on her medion pc mt 7.

So I installed a new video card. It worked but wouldn't display anything on the monitor until windows almost fully loaded.

It was terribly slow, so I tried to reinstall Xp from the desktop. Once it restarted, the display wouldnt show anything. So i assume that windows is stuck mid installation.

Kinda stupid of me, as now nothing comes on the display at all. So i've lost the os and can't boot from a disc or enter the bios or anything.

Any suggestions on how to fix? I just need to get the os reinstalled obviously, but with no option to boot from disc, or enter bios, I'm not sure if it's possible.

Thanks in advance for your help...
i.t.girl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2011, 05:19 AM   #2
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Try clearing the CMOS.
Brand & Model of the added GPU and the PSU?



Tyree is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 07:19 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 88
OS: -



How do I clear the CMOS? Is it just a case of removing it & replacing?

Brand of video card is Matrox MGA G2+ G200 PCI Graphics Video card VGA Compaq on eBay (end time 04-Feb-11 19:18:53 GMT)

PSU is as attached pic....

Thanks for your help so far Tyree
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	1060
Size:	225.6 KB
ID:	86727  
i.t.girl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-11-2011, 12:18 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 88
OS: -


Bump

Any suggestions?
i.t.girl is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 06:38 PM   #5
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


Remove the motherboard battery with the computer unpluged for a few minutes the reinstall and see if you have video
Doby is offline  
Old 02-12-2011, 08:05 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 88
OS: -


Tried this and nothing. I think it's just stuck mid installation but without video, I can't move forward. Any suggestions?
i.t.girl is offline  
Old 02-13-2011, 07:50 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 88
OS: -


Any ideas anyone? Surely something can be done...
i.t.girl is offline  
Old 02-13-2011, 08:31 AM   #8
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,516
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Just to reiterate, you cannot see any posting at all? This is some old hardware are you certain the monitor is good? That is an old video card and could easily have died also.
You could take the hard drive and repartition and format it on your pc so you are certain the install process is gone and then try again to install Windows the proper way. It's also possible the hard drive died trying to install XP on top of XP which is also a "no no". If that filas then you are back to a video problem and it could be the motherboard you know.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 02-13-2011, 01:25 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 88
OS: -


Yeah no display. It had no display previously too until windows loaded (with this video card) but then it'd come on so I know that the video card was ok. I know the monitor is ok because it works on my pc and worked previously until I tried to reinstall Xp. Would wiping the hard drive do anything? Is that my only remaining option now? I'm assuming the motherboard is ok as it worked previously and displayed this behaviour pre-installation.
i.t.girl is offline  
Old 02-13-2011, 01:48 PM   #10
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


Thats a pci video card correct? If so try another pci slot
Doby is offline  
Old 02-13-2011, 02:05 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 88
OS: -


Tried that too. Same result...
i.t.girl is offline  
Old 02-13-2011, 04:20 PM   #12
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


Whats the brand and model of the computer?
Is there a case speaker connected?

Sounds to me like something failed during all of this possibly the psu or motherboard
Doby is offline  
Old 02-13-2011, 11:55 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 88
OS: -


As in the title it's a Medion PC MT 7. This issue happened before the install but because I need to interact with the installation, it doesn't go any further as I'm unable to see the display.

There is power going to the pc, the hard drive makes noises so I'm not sure how to solve this one.
i.t.girl is offline  
Old 02-14-2011, 09:25 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 88
OS: -


Wiped the hard drive, still nothing :-(
i.t.girl is offline  
Old 02-14-2011, 12:29 PM   #15
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,516
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Sounds like coincidentally, you blew out the board with the overclocking settings sorry to say.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 02-14-2011, 01:53 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 88
OS: -


What overclocking settings? I've never set up overclocking on this machine. And it was working the other day.
i.t.girl is offline  
Old 02-14-2011, 02:55 PM   #17
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,516
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by i.t.girl View Post
What overclocking settings? I've never set up overclocking on this machine. And it was working the other day.
Sorry that belonged in another thread!
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 02-14-2011, 08:07 PM   #18
TSF Team Emeritus
 
Doby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central PA (USA)
Posts: 9,471
OS: XP sp3/ Vista sp2/windows7

My System


Sorry I should have noted the brand and model, still the system should show video, I would try another psu in it to rule that out
Doby is offline  
Old 06-14-2011, 06:02 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
OS: xp



Hey mate!

Enter BIOS by pressing 'del' while loading

Integrated Peipherals

Primary Graphics Adapter

Set it to PCI instead of AGP

There you go
ptuy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Dead BIOS, replace BIOS chip or new motherboard?
I recently tried to fix an old laptop (Toshiba) and to do so, I needed to do a BIOS upgrade. I downloaded the new BIOS flash files on another laptop, my new laptop (Acer Aspire 7520G with Vista Home Premium, 32-bit). The problem started when I tried to burn the files to a cd to transfer them to the...
deleted11022011 Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 3 02-06-2011 08:57 AM
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 06:47 AM
Where I can get updates for bios and motherboard ?
Where I can get updates for bios and motherboard ? For BIOS System Bios Version : Nvidia - 42302e31 System Bios Date : 02/23/06 Manufacturer : Phoenix Technologies, LTD SMBIOS Version : 6.00 PG
zhong Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 6 01-20-2011 03:06 PM
At my wits end with fan noise - BIOS question
My old (5 years) HP is excessively noisy (I clean it out regularly - it's not that). It was getting on my nerves today and I tried once again to figure out what, precisely, is going on. Got some weird results. I installed speedfan, which showed me that 1 fan was running at 4400 RPM, and...
clashradio Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 1 01-12-2011 05:13 PM
Duplicate display adapter keeps reinstalling itself.
Firstly, THANK YOU in advance for reading this and being willing to help out!!! I truly appreciate it! I have scoured the internet for help, but I have found nothing at all, only many "almost" similar cases that offered no help. I have a simple netbook - Dell Inspiron 910, with Windows XP Home...
Tophat_Nate Laptop Support 0 01-02-2011 09:50 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts