Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Lenovo H30 Series

This is a discussion on Lenovo H30 Series within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Originally Posted by Rich-M The poorest component in a branded desktop is always the psu and this unit is old


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2018, 06:27 PM   #21
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,021
OS: windows 10

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich-M View Post
The poorest component in a branded desktop is always the psu and this unit is old enough, I wouldn't hesitate to simply replace that with a good quality psu and bet that fixes problem.
this desktop uses a power brick like a laptop and he has tried that already. see post 14
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2018, 07:28 PM   #22
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,494
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


OOps I never saw that post...
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 03-20-2018, 07:42 PM   #23
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Texas
Posts: 175
OS: Windows 10



You should be able to get the voltages from the BIOS but I agree with Rich_M that the PSU is probably at fault here.
K9BEG is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2018, 02:40 AM   #24
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 332
OS: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8.1 & 10



Unfortunately this model of PC (Lenovo H30-05) does not have a PSU like the 'old' models. It has what I consider to be a motherboard type of configuration which does not have a separate PSU. More akin to an all-in-one PC with a separate monitor. The computer is about 5 years old and so I am coming round to the view that I should simply buy a new computer as I have exhausted every possibly of fixing the problem other than to replace the motherboard - and that could be a waist of money as it might not fix the PC.
kencoburn is offline  
Old 03-21-2018, 03:09 AM   #25
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,494
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Well if you tried another working power cord then yes I would agree 5 years is usually what we look at as break even point on a desktop so it is a good time to walk away and if not Psu because there is none then most likley has to be the motherboard and even if you can find one that is almost never worth fixing.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 03-21-2018, 04:00 AM   #26
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 332
OS: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8.1 & 10



Not a good outcome but at least, with your support, I was able to narrow it down to the likely cause of the problem (the motherboard) and I agree that it would not be worth the time and money to bet on this fixing the problem. Anyway, many thanks to those who gave support. As far as I am concerned this thread is closed.
kencoburn is offline  
Old 03-21-2018, 04:34 AM   #27
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,021
OS: windows 10

My System


Your welcome
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is online now  
Old 05-23-2018, 06:05 AM   #28
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 332
OS: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8.1 & 10



I have got round the problem temporarily by shutting down the computer in sleep mode - it then resumes desktop almost immediately when awakened. The computer is quite old and so I will replace the computer in due course.
kencoburn is offline  
Old 05-23-2018, 07:05 AM   #29
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,494
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


Well just remember one thing, if the pc never shuts down the memory can't reset
so get ready for wacky error messages!
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Old 05-23-2018, 07:33 AM   #30
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 332
OS: Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8.1 & 10



Thanks, I will shut down the computer regularly when I can afford to wait 30 minutes or so for it to boot up again.
kencoburn is offline  
Old 05-23-2018, 01:54 PM   #31
Team Manager - Hardware
Acting Manager, Security Center
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,494
OS: Windows 10 Professional

My System


That works!
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and more effectively.
Rich-M is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cannot logon onto windows 8.1 password on a lenovo c3/c4/c5 series desktop
i have a lenovo c3/c4/c5 series windows 8.1 desktop that cannot logon onto the password! when you press the letter r, a black dot by itself stays in the password windows 8.1 password logon screen, in the box! i have pressed f1 to enter the bios section after restarting the desktop, but before...
sergios Windows 8, 8.1 Support 1 08-14-2017 01:21 PM
DirectX Features are not available
Hello. Whenever I want to play any games. This Error Pops up "Could not load direct3d" and "D3D_Create: CreateDevice() failed". I checked on my DxDiag and it came out with this: ------------------ System Information ------------------ Time of this report: 10/26/2011, 18:19:38 ...
tenekei Video Card Support 4 10-26-2011 06:31 PM
Published: How to Choose the Right Video Card for Games
The diversity of Video Cards out there could make things hard for some gamers to choose the right video card for them, especially if they are choosing a low price card but that can play the latest games out there even if not on the highest settings. In the following guide, I will explain what...
RockmasteR Dead-Sea Scrolls 5 10-07-2011 12:44 PM
Vista to XP Downgrade Compaq/ HP F700/G6000/DV6900/DV6700/DVx7xx/DV9800 Series Laptop
GUIDELINES Please read the following:. I have compiled a list of drivers for the Compaq Presario/HP F700/G6000,DV6900/DV6700/x7xx and DV9800 series laptops with an AMD Processor ONLY. These drivers have been used "Successfully" to downgrade these laptops from Vista to XP. I must warn you....
BCCOMP Laptop Support 3 11-04-2008 07:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts