Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Keepin' the scene alive

This is a discussion on Keepin' the scene alive within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey folks, Newbie here, I woud like to thank the forum for keeping me from frying the mobo last night.

Closed Thread

Old 04-20-2008, 09:57 AM   #1

Hey folks,

Newbie here, I woud like to thank the forum for keeping me from frying the mobo last night. After trying to use the original BIOS upgrade from the Intel site and having the comp crash once, I saw from one of the threads mentioning that the best way to upgrade is via the original manufacturer's support site (In my case, Gateway). The update went smoothly and was via a Win-based program! Thanks again for the help

My recent issue is one that was addressed in a thread a cople of years ago, but I was wondering if anyone has any new info on this.

I have a Gateway 500S plus that I purchased in 2003. I have recently
been making a number of upgrades in an effort to keep up with some of
the current games and have been doing fairly well while learning a bunch about upgrades and how these new components interact. The main issue now is that after a large number of hours of research, I purchased a processor upgrade (from P4 2.4 to 3.06 with HT), installed it and upgraded the BIOS in an effort to enable the HT technology on the chip. I understand that this is primarily a motherboard issue and I throroughly researched this on the Intel site prior to purchasing the chip (although the site says that this particular motherboard and chipset does and does NOT support HT, contradicting itself in a number of pages). The Gateway site even mentions that my mobo supports HT. The comp has been working great with no overheating problems since the install and a couple of games (COD4, Titan Quest) have been running much better than before.