Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

K8V SE Deluxe freezes after normal operation

This is a discussion on K8V SE Deluxe freezes after normal operation within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Whoever solves this receives my undying respect. I'll start off with my stats: K8V SE Deluxe (duh) AMD 64 3200


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2005, 08:27 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 83
OS: WinXP Pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to VolvoNut

Whoever solves this receives my undying respect. I'll start off with my stats:

K8V SE Deluxe (duh)
AMD 64 3200
1 GB OCZ Dual-Channel DDR400
2 80 GB Seagate SATA in RAID 0
ASUS Radeon 9200 128 MB
420W Thermaltake PSU
Audigy 2 ZS Gamer

So, it runs fine for a while, then completely and randomly freezes, so I have to reboot. It can happen from less than 30 mins to over an hour from boot up, but it happens. There's no warning, the temps are all fine, no funny noises - everything just freezes, but the computer is still running. I've run check disk, memtest and seagate's seatools for the hds - nothing. It doesn't matter if I'm gaming or sitting on the destop, it freezes. I've run antivirus to no avail. I haven't changed any hardware, BIOS settings or any drivers since it started. I don't believe any of the software I've installed recently would do it, but I'll list them anyway.

Epson printer software
Battlefield 2 (full version)
Dungeon Siege 2 (full version)
Gamespy arcade (reinstall)
Arcsoft software suite (came w/printer software)

Oh yeah, I also tried each stick of ram individually - same problem, so I'm betting it's not the ram (I also ran memtest with each stick as well). Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

P.S. If it turns out I need to replace my mobo, would my RAID array be destroyed by putting in a new one or does the info stay on the drives themselves?


Cheers,
Al
VolvoNut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-12-2005, 04:18 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
Wink

Welcome to TSF:

I doubt it's your mobo !!

Usually either overheating CPU or weak PSU causes your problems ???

run this utility (free) and post back here your
system tempsCPU tempsSystem Voltages

before you start playing a game and alos post the same info after gaming for about half an hour

https://www.download.com/3000-2086-10018691.html


regards / joe
linderman is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 07:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 83
OS: WinXP Pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to VolvoNut
First, let it just be said that I normally have the [email protected] client running (i.e. CPU running at 100% 24/7), but this was NOT running during either test. This doesn't seem to make a big diff because the thing froze during the second test anyway.

Before playing a game:

Temperature Sensor(s):
Board Temperature: 30.0C / 86.0F
CPU Temperature: 50.0C / 122.0F

Voltage Sensor(s):
CPU Voltage: 1.57V
+3.3V Voltage: 3.41V
+5V Voltage: 5.11V
+12V Voltage: 11.43V
Standby Voltage: 5.07V
Battery Voltage: 0.51V

After playing a game (likely inaccurate as the test had to be started again after a freeze, but let's hear it for posterity, folks):

Temperature Sensor(s):
Board Temperature: 28.0C / 82.4F
CPU Temperature: 51.5C / 124.7F

Voltage Sensor(s):
CPU Voltage: 1.55V
+3.3V Voltage: 3.41V
+5V Voltage: 5.13V
+12V Voltage: 11.31V
Standby Voltage: 5.07V
Battery Voltage: 0.51V

I don't pretend to be an expert, but I can guarantee you this thing has been way hotter before and it's run like a champ. Unless the PSU has deteriorated or something, I can't see it being a heat problem, but that's just my opinion. Again, thanks for the help.


Cheers,
Al

Edit: Thanks for the welcome, by the way.
VolvoNut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-12-2005, 07:51 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Barry_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 906
OS: Win 7

My System

Well I dont see a severe droop in the CPU core voltage but the +12 is a bit low if we can believe it

The PSU does come to mind since there are no thermal issues especially at idle.

Most of the software you installed is not running at idle and unless it runs something in the background like a service we can probably eliminate it. This is true for everything but that Epson printer, its drivers and maybe that software that came with it.

Anything new in services or the systray? Try booting to the desktop with all that stuff disabled.
Barry_R is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 10:27 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 83
OS: WinXP Pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to VolvoNut
So I tried booting it with minimal services and processes running (memory is 73% free) - still died after 1:20. I had played a game for about 30 minutes, then exited the game and left it for a while. The highest temp on my fan controllers is 43 C (CPU). Sounding like a PSU problem, but it seems odd that it wouldn't be able to recover itself, yet everything is still running (the screen is still on, for example). What do you guys think?


Cheers,
Al
VolvoNut is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 12:17 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Barry_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 906
OS: Win 7

My System

What about the printer, did you disconnect it and remove the drivers?
Barry_R is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 12:41 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
@ Volvo

I strongly advise you replace your PSU / your 12V specs are running erratic for sure / coupled with my personal experiences of Thermal Take PSU's and we have a prime suspect without a doubt / although the thermal take is not in the generic class you wont find any PC review dudes singing its praise either !!

I suggest you go with an Enermax or about 500 or 550 watt << even better
or Antec TRU Power 2- 550 you can check them on ebay to get a baseline figure My brother picked up an Antec Tru power 550 used the other day on ebay for $57.00 !!!!! runs like a champ ????? youre call from here Volvo

I am willing to bet your CPU temps drop a touch too / although they are not bad ~~ I'm willing to bet they get even better !!??

God darn !!!! I am just foaming at the mouth waiting for one of my freelance cusotmers to ask me to build the ultimate gamer / I want to test drive one of those new OCZ gamer PSU's so bad I can taste it >>> but being the cheap nerd I am I just cant let go of the $250.00 they want for one ??? LOL


regards / joe


ATX Power Supplies - Brands from A to Z

*** RATED BY QUALITY ***

Key
H = High Quality (Good Solid Reliable Brand)
L = Low Quality (Cheap Generic)
M = Medium Quality (In-between)
U = Unknown


A-Power................L
A-Top..................L
A+GPB..................L
AcBel..................L
AC Ryan (Ryanpower)....L
Aerocool...............U
AG.....................L
Ahanix.................L
Akasa..................L
Allied.................L
Antec..................M/H
AOpen..................L
APC....................L
Apex Allied............L
Aspire.................L/M
Astec..................L
Athena.................L
BFG....................L
Broadway Gaming........U
Channel Well...........L
CHAS...................L
Chenbro................U
Chieftec...............L
Coba...................L
Codegen................L
Conrad.................M
CoolerMaster...........H
CoolMax................M
Crystal................L
Dell...................L
Delta..................L
Diablo.................L
Eagle..................L
Echo Star..............L
Enermax................H
Engleking..............M
Enlight................M
Epson..................L
FDK....................L
Fortron (FSP)..........H
Gateway................L
Gazelle Multimedia.....L
Global Marketing.......L
GPower.................L
Guardian...............L
Herolchi...............M
Hipro..................L
HP/Compaq..............L
HPC International......L
Huntkey................L
I-Star.................L
IBM Redundant..........U (expensive)
Intel Redundant........U (expensive)
In Win.................L
Jaguar.................U
Kensington.............L
Kingwin................L
L&C....................L
Leadman................L
Levicom................L
LiteOn.................U
Logisys................U
Mad Dog................L/M
Maxtron................L
MGE....................L
MGE Vortec.............M
MorningStar............L
NEC....................L
Newton.................L
Nexus..................L
Noise Magic............L
NorthQ.................M
Nspire.................L
OCZ....................H
Omega..................L
Packard Bell...........L
PC Power & Cooling.....H
PC-World (PCW).........L
PCMCIS.................U
Power..................L
PowerStream............L
PowerTek...............L
PowerUp................L
PowMax.................L
PowMax XPower..........L
Premium................L
Pyramid................L
Q-Tec..................L
Q-Technology...........L
RaidMax................U
Real Power.............L
Rosewill...............L
SCS....................L
SeaSonic...............H
Shuttle................L
Silent Purepower.......U
SilenX.................L
Silverstone............H
Sky Hawk (Eagle Tech)..L
Sparkle................H
Star Micronics.........L
StarTech...............L
Sun....................L
SuperFlower............L
Supermicro.............L
Tagan..................H
Task...................L
ThermalTake............M
Topower................L
Tri-Mag................L
TSP....................L
Tyan Tiger.............L
TTGI...................L
Ultra-Power Computer...L
Ultra..................M
Ultra X-Connect........L
Vantec.................H
Verax..................H
Vigor..................U
Xion...................L
xPCgear................L
Zalman.................H
Zippy..................L


Thanks Whodat / for the link !!
linderman is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 05:41 PM   #8
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5
OS:


I have seen this sort of thing before. Belive it or not it is quite likely to be your graphics card. When the chips aren't properly cooled on them they can crash without any sign and just leave the system hanging. If you are fairly certain that they are being kept cool it might be worth testing the computer with a different graphics card if you can as the chips on your current graphics card may not be working correctly.

If a different graphics card doesn't work I'm afraid I don't know what to suggest.

Good luck
high_fidelity is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 06:52 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 83
OS: WinXP Pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to VolvoNut
Actually, I read in MaximumPC (an awesome mag, by the way) that the OCZ PSUs are kinda 7/10 (if I remember correctly), but they tend to have high standards so it's probably still pretty decent. On the other hand, they love PC Power & Cooling stuff (can you say 10/10?), so I'll probably get me one of those puppies. But thanks so much for the suggestions, guys - I'll try them and let you know how they go.


Cheers,
Al

P.S. I have a Radeon 9200 (I may have mentioned this, if so, forgive me), so I have doubts that it's being a major heat source (it doesn't even have a fan on it), but I'll certainly try switching it. Thank god for university residence.
VolvoNut is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 07:40 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 83
OS: WinXP Pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to VolvoNut
Latest development: I switched my VPU for a Radeon 9700 Pro and it ran fine for ~5 hours. Then, when I tried running Far Cry with all settings up, it ran fine for about 10 minutes, then crashed, giving me a message saying VPU recover had to reset the card and I had to force close the game back to the desktop, but it didn't freeze. Not sure what that means, but hopefully someone can shed some light.


Cheers,
Al

Edit: This particular card I had borrowed from a neighbour and had to give back, so unfortunately I can't do any further tests.
VolvoNut is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:03 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Barry_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 906
OS: Win 7

My System

VPU recovery is a way to reset the video card GPU when the GPU no longer responds to graphics commands. Instead of getting a BSOD you get a VPU recovery message and can sometimes continue without a problem. Other times the software has to shut down but the GPU recovers and windows does not have to be restarted.

You may want to try turning things down a bit, maybe try turning fast writes off etc. Also if you are running dual displays you might try turning VPU recovery off because ATI admits that this is a problem on WinXP machines.

This is not a new issue look here.

ATI has a bunch of info on this on their website
Just search for VPU recover.
Barry_R is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 03:55 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
Wink

With a voltage drop down to 11.3 volts when gaming you cant expect to have a stable system / try gaming for 30 minutes and watch what your 12V errodes to ????? as an electrical device gets hotter (resistance accumulation) it produces less !!!!


regards

joe
linderman is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 08:02 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 83
OS: WinXP Pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to VolvoNut
So I guess it's time for a new PSU, then. And if that doesn't solve my problem, I'll finally have a good excuse to get a new graphics card.


Cheers,
Al
VolvoNut is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 11:32 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
Wink

AL :

good way to approach the situtation !! keep us posted on your progress


regards

joe
linderman is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 12:50 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 83
OS: WinXP Pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to VolvoNut
So, I just ordered a PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470 and shipping will prob take about a week or so. I'll post the results when it's here. Thanks again for all the advice.


Cheers,
Al
VolvoNut is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 09:07 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Xp Sp2


I have been having the same problems Volvo has, I alerdy be through the Amd Fourms and googled my problem and I am here. I also get static Noise when it freezes.


Amd Althon 64 3000+ Model Newcastle at 2.0 gigs
Asus N6600GT Video Card
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Value PCI
Antec 450w Power Supply
Netgear GA311 Gigabit Adapter 10/100/1000 Desktop Adapter
Sasmung 120gb x2 Sata Hard Drives
Asus K8V Se Deluxe Motherboard
MCWelch64 is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 10:31 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Xp Sp2


Here a log of my voltage activity playing Lineage II. I put the MBM log into html file.

https://members.aol.com/MCWelch64/MBMLOG.HTML
MCWelch64 is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 07:39 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 83
OS: WinXP Pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to VolvoNut
Update: As promised, here's what's been happening now that the new PSU is in (as of today). So, it starts up fine, except that the fan controllers are acting weird. One's screen is blank and the other's backlight is on, but nothing's on the screen. All fans seem to be operating normally, however. It crashed again after a while and when attempting to run Battlefield 2, just before it gets to the main menu screen, I get a VPU recover. Which has never happened before with this machine (minus the time when using my friend's VPU). Very odd. I ran the SiS thing again and I got almost exactly the same voltages (11.31 on the 12V rail). This, right after installing my brand new PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470W. Ah well. Now I know I have 2 working PSUs. I'm not really sure what to think now. I'm going to assume it's either my VPU or my mobo. Everything otherwise is working fine (well, my games often minimize every few minutes, but that's a story for another night). God damn.


Cheers,
Al
VolvoNut is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 04:27 AM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25,116
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
Wink

AL;

there is a possibility damage has already been done. What is the VPU ?????

try running memtest86 (free) memtest86.com

let it run for hours on your memory / one stick at a time in the machine

please explain the fan contollers are acting weird ???? how so ????

is your video card a dual output / therefore two monitors ????????


regards

joe
linderman is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 05:13 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 83
OS: WinXP Pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to VolvoNut
It's an ASUS Radeon 9200 with one monitor. I've already run memtest just as your described and nothing came up. Like I said, with the fan controllers, one's screen is completely off and the other's backlight is on, but nothing is on the screen, although all the fans are running fine. Strangely enough, after having fiddled a little with the mess of fan power connectors, it's been running for over 10 hours so far. I also ran dungeon siege II last night for a couple of hours - no probems. I'll let you guys know if it messes up again, but it might just have fixed itself, who knows (knock on wood). I'm still curious about those 12V readings, though.


Cheers,
Al
VolvoNut is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts