Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Issue with New Motherboard - won't boot with 2 sticks of RAM, just 1

This is a discussion on Issue with New Motherboard - won't boot with 2 sticks of RAM, just 1 within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everyone! I could use a little help with this nagging issue I have with my computer that I built


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-06-2011, 03:28 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



Hi everyone!
I could use a little help with this nagging issue I have with my computer that I built myself.

Everything has been fine for years until the PCI-E slot of my last mobo died and I replaced it with an MSI G41TM-E43 with my Core 2 Duo 1.8 processor. I have 2 sticks of RAM - Corsair, 1 gig each.

It worked fine for a bit but lately the CPU has been in dangerous territory temp-wise and I realized I may have neglected to reapply thermal paste - so I went back in and did that today. However, upon rebooting - had the same issue as before I had the mobo - no signal to the video card - so after testing a million things, went back to Fry's and got another motherboard.

So everything is fine - everything was put back in perfectly... however now - my computer will only boot up with one stick of RAM in. I've tried both sticks - in either slot and it will power up everything - but when I put both in - the computer starts up, shuts down, starts, shuts down, etc..

Could I maybe have something off with my power supply? something not connected right? I've made sure everything is exactly how it should be. I am using a 650w Cooler Master power supply that I purchased about 3 years ago. Also, the only thing plugged into a PCI slot is my Wireless-N card. I'm using onboard audio and video.

Any help or ideas as to what it may be will be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

-Linda
weedandbombs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-06-2011, 04:02 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,055
OS: Win7



Try pulling it out and doing a bench test> Bench Test
If it still won't run in dual channel either the ram is not compatible(unlikely if ran in dual channel on the old board) or you have another defective board.

You can check the voltages and temps in the bios on the PC health page, but this doesn't sound like a power issue.
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd laptop motherboard/RAM issue
Hello all, I'm a new member here looking for some assistance with an HP laptop that I have. I posted my issues in another forum, so please forgive me for copying and pasting my problem. ORIGINAL ISSUE: Alright, well I've got a really strange laptop problem that I'm looking for some...
bobbylx Laptop Support 1 03-06-2011 10:18 PM
Motherboard does not accept 8GB RAM
I recently purchased GA-G41M-ES2L motherboards and ADATA DDR2 800MHz (2 x 4GB) 8GB memory sticks from Newegg. Here are the links for the product details: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211486 https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128388 ...
drkabir Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 3 01-29-2011 05:29 AM
Abit AA8XE - 3rd Eye - Intermittent Cold Boot - Post Code 9.0
Hi, Hope that somebody can assist me with this frustrating issue which continues to perplex my limited computer system knowledge :xolconfus To offer brief background this system was my primary PC until Jan 2010 prior to replacement with a custom built i7 system. Prior to this new setup I was...
pcpilot Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 14 01-26-2011 02:44 AM
No boot after replacing mobo
A couple of weeks back, I concluded (with your help) that my motherboard needed to be replaced. I have a Dell Optiplex GX270 - the model whose proprietary Dell motherboard had capacitor issues and was known to fail. I bought the PC in 2004, and it the mobo began to fail towards the end of 2010...
hivemind Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 5 01-05-2011 06:28 PM
Very odd issue concerning dual boot, mbr and swapped drives.
This is kind of convoluted and I'm at a loss for what to do. Short summary: I have 3 drives, let's call them A:, B: and C: My laptop has 2 hard drive bays, I used to have A: installed plus another drive for random storage. Windows 7 was installed on A:. I swapped out the random storage...
sqbsbear Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 4 01-05-2011 12:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts