Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Is this a motherboard problem?

This is a discussion on Is this a motherboard problem? within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. A couple weeks ago I started having some random crashes which often had a popping sound. It would generally restart


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-12-2010, 04:56 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
OS: xp



A couple weeks ago I started having some random crashes which often had a popping sound. It would generally restart or try to restart. After one crash it wouldn’t restart so I was checking main power plug in and it seemed loose since it restarted after I reseated plug in. Now it won’t boot up. It will get to Windows Starting screen and run this for about 20 seconds before going black. It will stay black till I force a shut down with power switch. Sometimes I see monitor going to sleep message when it goes black. I am assuming this means a loss of signal.

I have three hard drives that can boot up and it acts the same on all three, Two Windows 7 Pro and one XP Pro. It will boot fine into safe mode and seems to run OK with no crashes or shut downs. Memory diagnostic test and Norton virus and spy ware scan done in safe mode revealed nothing. It does same thing whether using onboard video or Radeon 4670 video card.

The motherboard is MSI DKA 790 GX, CPU IS AMD 64 X2 Brisbane 2600 65 watt, PSU is PC power and Cooling 750 watt ATX12V/EPS SLI Certified. RAM is 4 GB G.Skill DDR2 800.

Is there anything I can do to try clarify problem more beside taking it to repair shop.
pegazuz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2010, 05:01 PM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,072
OS: Win7



See if you can get into the Bios and check the voltages on the PC health page 12v, 5v, 3.3v readings.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 05:19 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
See if you can get into the Bios and check the voltages on the PC health page 12v, 5v, 3.3v readings.
Readings are 3.3 = 3.408
5 v = 4.666
12v = 12.144
pegazuz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2010, 12:29 AM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,072
OS: Win7



3.3 is high, 5v is low there is a +/- 5% tolerance the 5v reading ia out of spec.

Time to call PCP&C and RMA the Power Supply.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 01:05 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
3.3 is high, 5v is low there is a +/- 5% tolerance the 5v reading ia out of spec.

Time to call PCP&C and RMA the Power Supply.

PCP&C says the low voltage readings in BIOS can be caused by motherboard or other hardware problem. They sell a tester to help determine if problem lies in PSU or your hardware.

My PC started booting up again and has done so the last four times and ran with no problem. I have no idea why it started working or why it wouldn't work before. I had started it in safe mode several times and had connected and disconnected hard drives and video and other things several times trying to gather more info on source of problem. I am ordering a tester to test power supply to check it out.
pegazuz is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 01:11 PM   #6
Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 51,675
OS: XP Pro-7



Did PCP&P say what kind of tester they are selling you? Most likely it's no more than a Volt/Ohm meter that you can purchase cheaper elsewhere.



Tyree is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 04:05 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyree View Post
Did PCP&P say what kind of tester they are selling you? Most likely it's no more than a Volt/Ohm meter that you can purchase cheaper elsewhere.
It is on their web site and looks like a simple two light model. One light indicates OK, other light a problem with one for PSU and other indicating hardware issue. I decided to get a better quality one that generates digital volt readings as well as alarms for being outside limits. Theirs seemed inexpensive but it didn't generated much info.
pegazuz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts