Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Intel Core i7 4790k Temps During IntelBurnTest? 100c...

This is a discussion on Intel Core i7 4790k Temps During IntelBurnTest? 100c... within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Intel Core i7 4790k with a Hyper 212 evo cooler on it in a new system I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-23-2014, 03:34 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 HP


EEK!

I have a Intel Core i7 4790k with a Hyper 212 evo cooler on it in a new system I just built.

I don't know much about temperatures but thought I would test my temps to make sure I got the cooler on correctly with enough thermal paste to do the job.

When I run IntelBurnTest v2.54 and use Core Temp 1.0 RC6 my temps shoot up to ~100c and Core Temp starts warning me...

I am guessing this is a problem...

At idle the temps sit around ~33c

Did I do something wrong? Should the system be able to stress test and stay at lower temps?

**Update**

I believe that I had applied too much thermal paste when I installed the Hyper 212 cooler, also the fan was plugged into a case fan mb connector not the CPU fan mb connector.

I removed the Hyper 212 and cleaned off all the thermalpaste with ArctiClean.

I was having a hard time with the Hyper 212 mounting so I installed the stock Intel cooler which already had thermalpaste strips factory placed.

The stock Intel Cooler/fan is not correctly plugged into the CPU fan mb connector and I can hear the fan speed up when temps go up.

HOWEVER...

@ Idle my temps are hovering around 40c but when I initiate the stress test my temps shoot right back up to 100c

><

Nothing changed...



Reason is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-23-2014, 04:17 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,494
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Core Temp has never provided accurate temperatures.

Check the BIOS, what do they report?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 07-23-2014, 05:00 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 HP


Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Core Temp has never provided accurate temperatures.

Check the BIOS, what do they report?
Thanks for responding! I am at a loss here...

In the BIOS the CPU temp shows 58c

Is this helpful though if there is no stress test going on while I see that temp?
Reason is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-23-2014, 05:02 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 HP



Just updated my BIOS to the latest version, seems to have had no impact on the issue at hand.
Reason is offline  
Old 07-23-2014, 05:09 PM   #5
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,494
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


How long has the PC been running when it showed 58C?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 07-23-2014, 05:14 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 HP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
How long has the PC been running when it showed 58C?
It's been 95% on (with lots of restarts) all day today while I have been trying to figure out what the deal is.
Reason is offline  
Old 07-23-2014, 05:22 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 HP



Just used Prime 95 and "Real Temp 3.0" and "Core Temp" at the same time:

Real Temp showed temps of ~90c

Core Temp showed temps of ~100c
Reason is offline  
Old 07-23-2014, 05:51 PM   #8
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,494
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Remember those results are most likely incorrect.

Let the PC sit off overnight. Then when you turn it on let me know the temps in the BIOS afterwards.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 07-24-2014, 12:47 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 HP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Remember those results are most likely incorrect.

Let the PC sit off overnight. Then when you turn it on let me know the temps in the BIOS afterwards.
UPDATE:

So I returned and repurchased the CPU and the cooler, now using a thermaltake cooler that's essentially the same as the previous (sold out of the 212)

I installed the new processor and the new cooler and I am getting

~20c idle according to "Real Temp"
~30c idle according to "Core Temp"

~90c During IntelBurn Test according to "Real Temp"
~100c During IntelBurn Test according to "Core Temp"

*I also updated my BIOS earlier to the latest version of which seems to have had no impact.
Reason is offline  
Old 07-24-2014, 01:21 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,779
OS: W7 Home Premium 64 Bit

My System


I would try HWMonitor, as the CPU frequencies look out to in Core Temp 1.0, to me.
Just under 4.0GHz during a stress test, which may be throttled back due to heat, but at idle it shows just under 800MHz, which might be explained by running only a single core.
Panther063 is offline  
Old 07-24-2014, 04:03 PM   #11
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,494
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Reason View Post
UPDATE:

So I returned and repurchased the CPU and the cooler, now using a thermaltake cooler that's essentially the same as the previous (sold out of the 212)

I installed the new processor and the new cooler and I am getting

~20c idle according to "Real Temp"
~30c idle according to "Core Temp"

~90c During IntelBurn Test according to "Real Temp"
~100c During IntelBurn Test according to "Core Temp"

*I also updated my BIOS earlier to the latest version of which seems to have had no impact.

Well 100C is the maximum temp for that CPU.

I still don't agree with those programs for the readings. Try HWMonitor like suggested.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 07-24-2014, 04:09 PM   #12
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


Are you applying the correct amount of thermal paste.

With the stock cooler 58 degrees c in the BIOS is too high, it should be around mid 40's. With a decent cooler like the hyper 212 it should be mid 30's to early 40's.

At full load on intel burn test with the stock cooler 100 degrees c is possible as intel burn test is extremely intensive but with the hyper 212 you should be getting around 70-80 if you have overclocked it. At stock speed you should be expecting around 60 - 70 with the hyper 212 at full load.

Also bare in mind some people with the 4790k do get very high temps but those were supposed to be the earlier ones. The newer ones are supposed to run a bit cooler.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 07-25-2014, 11:31 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 HP



Updating the BIOS version decreased the default voltage, I then adjusted it even lower to 1.200v

Here are my results now...

The temps still spike up high as hell at the start of each of the individual 10 tests that are done by IntelBurnTest but now it's only for a half a second that the temps spike like that and then they even out around 70c for the majority of each test.

Motherboard Page Link
GIGABYTE - Motherboard - Socket 1150 - GA-Z97X-Gaming 7 (rev. 1.0)
GIGABYTE TECHNOLOGY Socket 1150 - Intel Z97 - GA-Z97X-Gaming 7 (rev. 1.0)

1.200v Idle after reboot


1.200v During 9/10 IntelBurnTest
Reason is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 09:43 AM   #14
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


thats better.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 10:11 AM   #15
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,494
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


HWMonitor is reporting correct temps to me.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 01:48 PM   #16
MPR
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 5,232
OS: Win 8.1



Either your voltages are way out of spec or they are not being reported correctly. Check your voltages in the BIOS.
MPR is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 02:48 PM   #17
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


yeah never noticed that. As for the temps Reak temp is usually pretty spot on.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Old 07-26-2014, 04:14 PM   #18
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,494
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


HWMonitor almost never gets the voltages right.
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 08:42 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
OS: win7 x64 sp1



this is from me:
1st i tried the BOX fan.
the box fan was 40c on idle _ and 100c when converting MKV to AVI (110c in seconds)
i removed the box fan and installed it again and test.-> i did that three times.
on all three times i got 100-110C from the BOX fan!

when i installed the Noctua NH-C12P SE14 i got this:
on idle 33C
on LOAD (prime95 and some conversation works) 71c MAX!

my conclusion is this:
you need to use a good custom fan!
the idle fan would be somthing that came to the market when ivy-B was released (or atleast Sandy-B)

some technicians in a few computer shops i know told me "NO WAY! _ the BOX Cooler should be anough"
Today i TELL them: "WRONG"! Its not enough!

thread opener:
you and me are not the only ones who got it,
iv seen at least 10 threads with same temps.

cheers
1stcowgirl is offline  
Old 08-06-2014, 08:57 AM   #20
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16,762
OS: Windows 7

My System


Some people have had better temp results by updating their BIOS to the latest version, I suggest you may need to do this because the retail cooler should be doing a better job that that.

You either have a dodgy chip, need to update the BIOS or you need to re try the thermal paste.

Also just to add there are always issues when a new cpu comes out, it's usually a better idea to wait until the 2nd batch of the new cpu comes out before getting it.
greenbrucelee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my graphic card dying? (pic and video)
Hi, hope anyone can help me- symptoms are: 1. First boot of the day and all I can see from my display for 10-20 sec. is blurred lines, then the display goes dark. 2. Second, third etc boots are pretty much the same, until after 5 minutes it boots to desktop but i can still see some diagonal...
jay0064 Video Card Support 8 10-26-2013 09:37 PM
Intel Core i5 Laptop for Professional Video Editing-HP dv4-5213cl or Sony SVE1314RCX?
I need to purchase a laptop for video editing. Our professor required us to at least use Intel Core i5. My FIRST CHOICE is HP DV4-5213cl since it has: *8GB DDR3 SDRAM (2 DIMM) *2.50 GHz 3rd generation Intel Core i5-3210M *Intel HD graphics 4000 with up to 1696MB total graphics memory ...
yoshiko17 Laptop Support 1 07-11-2013 07:10 AM
Suggested Build Sticky - Discussion
The new build sticky is quite a task to keep up-to-date with the average shelf-life of new hardware and pricing changes. If you have any suggestions or notice a hardware item is no longer available please post them in this thread.
GZ Tweakers 335 06-07-2013 12:54 PM
Intel Core i3 540 OC - Safe Temps?
Have just OC'ed my locked i3 540 using bclk and got it from 3.1ghz to 3.6ghz. My case is very well cooled (proper direction of airflow etc.) and its running stable with IntelBurnTest at 60C MAX on full load. Is this safe? Should I turn the multiplier down a notch (was running 54C MAX) or can I...
Luk07 Overclocking 1 11-06-2011 07:38 AM
Selecting RAM for your Laptop
Introduction: The type of RAM a laptop takes can usually be determined by what processor it has. The processor is always easy to tell, to find out, download a free utility called PC Wizard. This utility will tell you your information about your computer, including your CPU and its model number....
TheMatt Laptop Support 1 11-26-2006 11:25 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts