Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

Installed an SSD, computer doesn't boot

This is a discussion on Installed an SSD, computer doesn't boot within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I installed an SSD to my computer, didn't plug it into the booting SATA port, as I needed to clone


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2019, 08:00 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
OS:



I installed an SSD to my computer, didn't plug it into the booting SATA port, as I needed to clone my HDD onto it etc. etc. before I could boot with it. But when I tried booting with it connected, the lights came on, the fans came on, seems okay, but it doesn't boot. Not even the first screen, the monitor doesn't seem to connect but it was fine before.
I tried disconnecting the SSD to make it as before but same problem. Any ideas?
Matt Hewitt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2019, 09:21 AM   #2
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



So even if the SSD is removed the PC is still unbootable ?
__________________


tristar is offline  
Old 05-29-2019, 01:40 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
OS:


Yeah. If I could just access BIOS it would be fine, but there's nothing. Screen is just idle (tried multiple and different cables), and the tower just sits there humming away.
Matt Hewitt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-29-2019, 03:00 PM   #4
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 13,015
OS: windows 10

My System


check for loose wires as you opened it to install the SSD
__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is offline  
Old 05-30-2019, 12:09 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
OS:


All connected I'm afraid, unplugged and replugged most of them.
Matt Hewitt is offline  
Old 05-30-2019, 12:57 AM   #6
Moderator
Windows Tech Team
Hardware Tech Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: INDIA
Posts: 2,976
OS: Windows 10 | CentOS | Manjaro



Unplug all cables, power and all, once done press the power button and release flea power from the caps, then connect only the essentials (mobo, psu, cpu, ram) together and see what happens.
__________________


tristar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts