Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

Installed a new cpu, computer wont boot.

This is a discussion on Installed a new cpu, computer wont boot. within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok, basically today my new cpu arrived and i'd tried installing it, after putting it in, checking everything was done


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-28-2011, 09:24 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
OS: windows7



Ok, basically today my new cpu arrived and i'd tried installing it, after putting it in, checking everything was done right I went to boot up and all i would get is the power supply turning on and the cpu fan running and thats it.

I've tried literally everything, ive done the bench test, i thought it may have been a psu problem so went out and bought a new one, nothing.

I'm using an MSI motherboard with 4gb ram, nvidia 9500 gt, the new cpu i had tried installing is a AMD Athlon II X4 640 Socket AM3 3GHz.

Also, after it failing to boot with this cpu in, i'd tried using my old cpu and have exactly the same problem, yet it was working perfectly fine before i tried to install the newest cpu.

Any help would be great.
profash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2011, 09:55 AM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,813
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Perform the bench test again with the old cpu installed: https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...em-262998.html

Aside from that, as the most basic test is motherboard/cpu and power supply, it is most likely a faulty motherboard.
__________________
Jim

JimE is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 10:29 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
OS: windows7



Just bench tested with the previous motherboard, same problem.
Would that mean it is a motherboard fault?
I'm quite new to buying motherboards, is there anyway to check before i buy one, that its definatly compatible with the new cpu etc?
Cheers.
profash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2011, 11:20 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



Are you certain you have the Heatsink snapped clear down in? If one of the legs is up and not clear down tight, it could cause what you are seeing. I am also assuming that you cleaned off the old thermal paste and reapplied new paste when you changed the CPU.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 01-28-2011, 11:22 AM   #5
TSF - Enthusiast
 
gcavan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 7,670
OS: Vista x64 SP2

My System


You can find CPU support lists on the manufacturers spec page for the respective board. It will also name the BIOS version required.
__________________
Defending freedom of expression in the face of oppression is noble.
Insisting on the right to be obnoxious and offensive just because you can is infantile.
gcavan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lag in Dragon Age: Origins
I have Dragon Age: Origins Ultimate Edition for the PC. My PC surpasses the minimum requirements for the game and it runs really well for about an hour until it begins to get really sluggish. Around this point the loading times will increase and the frame rate will drop. What would cause that? ...
AndyJP PC Gaming Support 9 01-30-2011 06:47 AM
Arg! no computer boot!!! need help plz
Ok so first of all a while back my computer wouldn't boot up, i mean nothing... i push the button and no beeps, no turning on + off.. nothing - But the green light on the motherboard is on when the powersupply is on though (for what ever its worth). Anyways i knew it was probably ethier a PSU or a...
ibpc123 RAM and Power Supply Support 2 01-08-2011 04:37 PM
Extern hard drive installed internally not in My Computer
Hi guys, sorry if this general idea has been posted before but I think my situation is a little different. I have an Acomdata external hard drive ( IDE Western Digital WD WDC ROM Model- MAMMOTH is actually whats inside the enclosure) that's power cord broke. I installed it internally to my PC to...
eco23 Hard Drive Support 3 01-04-2011 04:41 AM
[SOLVED] CPU overheats and computer shutdowns
Hi everyone I built a computer (4 months ago) Recently when I turned on the computer the CPU fan makes a lot of noise (by the way the CPU I am using is a intel i5 3.33ghz) and the computer automatically shutdown itself, I checked the core temperature using a software program *the software states...
lakasaan Motherboards, Bios & CPU 11 01-03-2011 03:38 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts