Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

HP Compaq 8200 Elite All-in-One PC switches on, no display... Possibly Motherboard??

This is a discussion on HP Compaq 8200 Elite All-in-One PC switches on, no display... Possibly Motherboard?? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Everyone, I hope someone is able to help with my issue... I have a HP Compaq 8200 Elite All-in-One


Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By joeten
  • 1 Post By joeten
  • 1 Post By joeten
  • 1 Post By joeten
  • 1 Post By Stancestans
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2018, 08:19 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Hi Everyone,

I hope someone is able to help with my issue...

I have a HP Compaq 8200 Elite All-in-One PC, it switches on (power light, mobo light, no POST beeps) but there's no display on the screen. I've carried out the following in order to try and rectify the problem but to no avail.

- Power reset
- Removed RAM (gives continous, single beep) and reseated
- Removed & reseated PW jumper
- Reset CMOS

This model does not have a HDMI port so I am unable to check if it's the display, but when I tried an external USB keyboard there were no power lights on the keyboard itself. I'm assuming it's the motherboard that's the culprit but wanted to get a second opinion.

Thank you in advance!

LesleyP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-11-2018, 08:51 AM   #2
Elite Commander
 
VividProfessional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Merseyside Uk
Posts: 1,406
OS: Windows 10

My System

Send a message via MSN to VividProfessional

any sequence to the power lights?
are the fans running?
__________________
Boeing 787 Dreamliner Register
The worlds premier Dreamliner site
www.b787register.co.uk
VividProfessional is offline  
Old 09-11-2018, 09:02 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Cummings View Post
any sequence to the power lights?
are the fans running?
Thank you very much for your reply. Yes the fans are running - although after about 40 seconds or so they get very loud.

No sequence to the power lights, behaving as normal as far as I'm aware (it's not my PC, I'm working on it for someone else). Anything in particular I should be looking out for?

Lesley
LesleyP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-11-2018, 09:09 AM   #4
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,117
OS: Windows 10



A little background information about the onset of this problem will give us an idea of what could be happening, for example, was there a lightning strike or thunderstorm and power loss, after which the PC no longer POSTS, or, is the pc being powered up for the first time after a long time in storage, etc.
Stancestans is offline  
Old 09-11-2018, 09:31 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
A little background information about the onset of this problem will give us an idea of what could be happening, for example, was there a lightning strike or thunderstorm and power loss, after which the PC no longer POSTS, or, is the pc being powered up for the first time after a long time in storage, etc.
As far as I know the PC was working as normal just a few days ago - nothing out of the ordinary happened - it just didn't want to play ball one day.

Hope that helps!

Lesley
LesleyP is offline  
Old 09-11-2018, 11:17 AM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,177
OS: win 10 Home



Is this it as it seems to have a vga port and display port https://support.hp.com/us-en/product...ment/c02781693
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 09-11-2018, 11:31 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Is this it as it seems to have a vga port and display port https://support.hp.com/us-en/product...ment/c02781693
No, it's this one: https://support.hp.com/au-en/product/hp-compaq-8200-elite-all-in-one-pc/5078590

I got that one on my first search too lol.

Lesley
LesleyP is offline  
Old 09-11-2018, 11:47 AM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,177
OS: win 10 Home



I realized my mistake I missed out all in one, the info here around page 96 might be worth checking https://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c03745665 I know you feel nothing is going on with the led's but a careful check might give some clue.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 09-11-2018, 12:17 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
I realized my mistake I missed out all in one, the info here around page 96 might be worth checking https://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c03745665 I know you feel nothing is going on with the led's but a careful check might give some clue.
Getting a 'page not found' error from the link, is it working your end?

Lesley
LesleyP is offline  
Old 09-11-2018, 12:28 PM   #10
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,117
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by LesleyP View Post
Getting a 'page not found' error from the link, is it working your end?

Lesley
Use https://bit.ly/2Oaf9wz
Stancestans is offline  
Old 09-11-2018, 01:18 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
Still no luck accessing the page...

In the meantime I will take a closer look at the LEDs and report back.

Thank you for the replies!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	4
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	321618  
LesleyP is offline  
Old 09-11-2018, 01:33 PM   #12
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,177
OS: win 10 Home



Ok go back to your original link in post 7 then on the HP page choose trouble shooting and scroll down to the link for the maintenance manual and around page 96 (it was for me) there is info on the led's etc.
LesleyP likes this.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 09-11-2018, 01:40 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Ok go back to your original link in post 7 then on the HP page choose trouble shooting and scroll down to the link for the maintenance manual and around page 96 (it was for me) there is info on the led's etc.
You're a star, thank you. Will have a read and report back.
LesleyP is offline  
Old 09-12-2018, 05:05 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Hi all

Took another look at the PC this morning after reading through the troubleshooting manual.

When I switch the machine on the white Power LED stays on continuously (as normal) and no red flashing light as mentioned in the HP troubleshooting steps.

However... when I remove the RAM and switch the PC on, I get beeps and the power LED flashes orange.

There is no HDMI port on the PC so I am currently unable to hook it up to an external display (to rule out screen issues)

Think it's time for a new mobo?

Thanks

Lesley
LesleyP is offline  
Old 09-12-2018, 05:15 AM   #15
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,177
OS: win 10 Home



Hi, the beeps when no ram is installed is as it should be, my guess at this point would be your graphics may have failed obviously this is not a definite merely my thoughts, all in ones are as you have found out difficult to troubleshoot so if your not comfortable taking things apart or it is still under warranty then getting it repaired either under the warranty or by a tech you trust would be the way to go.
LesleyP likes this.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 09-12-2018, 05:27 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Hi, the beeps when no ram is installed is as it should be, my guess at this point would be your graphics may have failed obviously this is not a definite merely my thoughts, all in ones are as you have found out difficult to troubleshoot so if your not comfortable taking things apart or it is still under warranty then getting it repaired either under the warranty or by a tech you trust would be the way to go.
I've only had to deal with one other AiO and it wasn't a pleasant experience...

The PC is no longer under warranty, and I'm confident enough to replace the motherboard myself - I just wanted a second opinion in regards to whether that was actually the faulty part or not. Last thing I want to do is replace a part that is perfectly fine

Lesley
LesleyP is offline  
Old 09-12-2018, 05:40 AM   #17
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,177
OS: win 10 Home



We have 2 other contributors to the thread lets see if they have any other thoughts.
LesleyP likes this.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 09-12-2018, 05:52 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
LesleyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Derby, UK
Posts: 51
OS: Windows 10



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
We have 2 other contributors to the thread lets see if they have any other thoughts.
Of course! I didn't mean to exclude anyone, my apologies.

Lesley
LesleyP is offline  
Old 09-12-2018, 05:54 AM   #19
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 68,177
OS: win 10 Home



I did not think you were so no apology required.
LesleyP likes this.
__________________






Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 09-12-2018, 12:34 PM   #20
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,117
OS: Windows 10



Defective memory also causes similar issues, and since its easier to test/replace them compared to the mobo, I would take them out and test each stick individually. IF the system won't POST with either stick, I would test them on another computer to make sure they are indeed functional.
LesleyP likes this.
Stancestans is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard blown possibly capacitors? not sure.
Hello guys, I have a problem with my desktop motherboard, I cannot be able to switch it on after I have smells the smokes in my room. I have looked on the motherboard which it have went off itself and I was worried what it have happened to them. I have switched back on as it was working fine for...
chris0147 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 10 10-27-2015 01:45 AM
Compaq Presario 2100 Sound Issue After Motherboard Work
Windows XP. Had to remove motherboard to solder new power jack (novice). Afterwards there was no sound from speaker or headphones. Disassembled partially to see if any cables loose, but still same issue. Opened sound settings in control panel and chose always display sound in notification and...
montero1421 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 05-15-2014 04:11 PM
no audio after installing XP Pro SP3 to IBM T60
Sound worked fine before installing XP Pro SP3......after instal, no audio. No audio after installing XP Pro SP3 (from disc) on an IBM/Lenovo T60 ThinkPad. IBM/Lenovo drivers from Lenovo Support site for "Audio Device on High Definition Audio Bus" are not recognized when trying to install...
Ray G Windows XP Support 19 11-20-2012 07:15 AM
Please help me diagnose why my laptop keeps powering off
Hi all! First post here! For a few months now my laptop (Dell Inspiron 6400) keeps doing this on occasion: Screen goes black, Sound goes off, Hard drive light goes off, CD drive light goes ON(?) ....I guess power to the CD drive means the computer isn't fully off, just severely disabled? ...
Sam_ Laptop Support 45 10-16-2012 10:18 AM
HP Compaq NC6230 chipset problem
hello, i have a problem with my HP compaq NC6230 notebook. i`m trying to fix it since a week, i`m going to describe what i actually did: 1 it did`nt want to work with the HDD (i think its got a very picky motherboard) and its always showed an error message "1782-disk controller failure" and...
Zs0lt Motherboards, Bios & CPU 7 07-18-2011 02:02 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts