Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Help! Cannot enter BIOS setup

This is a discussion on Help! Cannot enter BIOS setup within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I just bought and put together all the parts for a new gaming pc, and the first time i


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-17-2004, 05:34 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
OS:



Hi, I just bought and put together all the parts for a new gaming pc, and the first time i booted it i got to the BIOS setup then quit to take a break after configuring only the date and time... now when i boot up, i cannot push delete or f10 or f8 or anything to get to the BIOS setup, I just eventually get a message that the system is scanning my IDE drives, and then "no device attached to the fastrack, BIOS is not installed", followed promply by a black screen with a flashing cursor-line where i still cannot type anything (to reboot i must shut off the power).

I have seen that my error message is common, but i cannot even get to the BIOS setup menu to begin to troubleshoot. Any suggestions? Here are my system specs:

AMD Athlon64 3500+ sckt 939 1mb L2 cache
Asus A8V Deluxe K8T800PRO mobo SATA
Western Digital 74mb 10,000rpm Raptor HDD SATA
logisys case with 480 power watt supply included
2x Kingston DDR400 PC3200 1gb (2gb total) RAM sticks
eVGA 6800GT 256mb
DVD RW drive, floppy drive

thanks in advance, i really appreciate it

p.s. the HDD is connected through the SATA port, not the IDE belt
Jwinslow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2004, 06:46 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wellingborough, Northamponshire, England
Posts: 348
OS: Windows 7 x86

My System

Send a message via MSN to jamie_Ridler
You should be able to reset the BIOS to default through a motherboard jumper, you will have to check your manual to see what jumper on the board that is. Usually that will fix most BIOS trouble, though it will be set back to factory settings and you will have to change things on it again :P
jamie_Ridler is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 09:08 AM   #3
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


I could be wrong but I think ASUS boards use the Delete button to enter Bios?
Although F8 should get you to windows safe boot menu. 2 cents
George Safford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2004, 10:23 AM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 4
OS:


I get that same "Fastrack" message but I am able to enter the BIOS.

Anyone know what the "Fastrack" message means?

After it displays it just asks for to insert a boot cd or floppy so should I even worry about it?

*EDIT*
n/m I found the answer. *whew*

"The Fasttrack is the oldstyle parallel ATA connectors. There's no hard
drive on there, so the Fastrack says "no need to add BIOS support for
bootable drives, then". This is also fine."
Zoran is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts