Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios & CPU

User Tag List

GODLIKE?????

This is a discussion on GODLIKE????? within the Motherboards, Bios & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Here's my delemma. My new build went very weel..up till it was time for ystem install. I have an MSI


Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Wrench97
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2018, 10:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 186
OS: windows 7



Here's my delemma.
My new build went very weel..up till it was time for ystem install.
I have an MSI Z390 Godlike, I9 9900k, 32Gb Viper 3000Mhz mem, Asus RTS 2080 Ti.
All went well, no debug errors, power to GPU, all well. BUT NO DISPLAY. The system boots as normal.
I have changed Display cables, reseated memory, change to an other GPU, changed the monitor all to no avail. If I had hair I would pull it all out.
Did cmos thing. Just NO display. This is not exactly my fisrt build, Can someone please help?
Vando23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2018, 01:30 AM   #2
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,006
OS: Win7



How id the monitor connected via HDMI DVI etc?

Usually a digital connection like HDMI and DVI-D need software to work you need to use a DVI-A or VGA connection to boot the system.
bassfisher6522 likes this.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 12:21 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 186
OS: windows 7



dp is the only connection I have used. I have also tried the GPU on a different PCIE slot.
Vando23 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2018, 01:35 PM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,006
OS: Win7



What video card do you have and what ports are available to use on it?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 01:37 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 186
OS: windows 7



I have tried Asus RTX 2080 Ti, an MSI RTX 2080 and also my tried and true EVGA 1080 Ti Kingpin. I have tried all 3 in hdmi and DP.
Vando23 is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 01:39 PM   #6
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,006
OS: Win7



Digital ports will not work in the bios you need to use a analog port.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 01:45 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 186
OS: windows 7



what do you mean by that? I have only ever used the DP connection on my Acer Predator.
Vando23 is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 01:48 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 186
OS: windows 7



I have never used an analog cable on a build. Is this an MSI Thing?
Vando23 is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 01:54 PM   #9
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,006
OS: Win7



Nope DVI-I is both digital and analog so you have been unknowingly using analog.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 01:56 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 186
OS: windows 7



I have been using the Display Port only.
Vando23 is offline  
Old 11-10-2018, 02:04 PM   #11
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,006
OS: Win7



Check your monitor to see if it has a analog port and the info on the card to see if one of the ports outputs analog. Digital needs software loaded to run you can't install software if you can't see anything.
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts