Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU

User Tag List

Does this mobo sound reliable?

This is a discussion on Does this mobo sound reliable? within the Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I'm making a new system and I have been looking into a lot of different motherboards. I want something good,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-18-2008, 08:49 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 104
OS: xp pro



I'm making a new system and I have been looking into a lot of different motherboards. I want something good, but also not at an outrageous price. I would also like DDR3 with an FSB of 1333mhz. I also want two pci-e x16 slots. I'm going to have two 8600gt. What I have found so far is
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131344
The ASUS P5Q3.
The other things I think I'm going to get, if you guys agree that it would be a good choice, are this PSU
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817341002
And this Processor
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115037
And this RAM
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231176

What do you people think?

ps; Sorry if I posted this in the wrong section.
Jrod15 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-18-2008, 09:57 PM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 656
OS:



I dont think the mods can weight in on this question. But if your going to buy a mobo, Gigabyte and Asus are always a good choice.
Pharaohz is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 04:44 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



That is a very nice motherboard, but it is a "crossfire" motherboard and not an "sli" board, so you need to look at ATI dual video cards instead of the GeForce dual cards.

In addition, I would move up to a 750 watt power supply to make sure you have enough power to pull those two cards if you plan on using them in a "sli" configuration. I recommend the Corsair 750 for this job.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-19-2008, 05:25 AM   #4
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



And I'll add that cheap or cost effective and DDR3 shouldn't be used together in the same sentence.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 09:59 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 104
OS: xp pro



Crap, I didn't even notice that :x. Is that RAM that I selected even good then? Also does anyone have a suggestion for a motherboard that would meet what I would like that isn't too pricey? If I have to go DDR2 1200 then I will if I can't find anything with a smaller price. I have to have an sli configuration, because I already have both of the video cards. I will also look into that 750 watt power supply.
Jrod15 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 11:11 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 25,111
OS: XP Professional



I don't know what your budget is, but the Asus Striker Extreme is a board that would fit your needs. Might take a look at it.
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 11:34 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 104
OS: xp pro



Yeah I think that board would be too much. I wouldn't like to spend over $200 on the motherboard. But thanks for the advice. :D
Jrod15 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 11:54 AM   #8
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



To use SLI you need a Nvidia chipset which is a downside the 780 & 790 are a bear to get set up correctly are buggy and very picky about memory I tried setting one up once with 2 9800gtx's it works now but nowhere near as smooth as a single 9800gtx+ on a Intel setup and that's 3 boards and 8 sticks of memory and 2 or 3 Bios updates later
Not the answer you wanted to hear but look around the forums there are lots of posts on them.
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 09:06 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 104
OS: xp pro



Hmmmmmmmm thanks for the info wrench97. Do you haveh a suggested motherboard that worked okay for you, maybe? I'm willing to spend more at this point. Or maybe I should forget DDR3 and go back to DDR2. What do you guys think?
Jrod15 is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 12:36 AM   #10
Administrator
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 54,065
OS: Win7



Last build I used the the P5Q E , Ive also used the P5Q PRO The E seems to have better audio> https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131296
Also use DDR2 800 on both with 4-4-4-12 timings> https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145194
Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts